Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Although , it really is a ten star film!
Cant believe I completely missed the release date on this classic film on Blu-ray and only just received it nearly two weeks after it was available.
This was the film that kick started Cameron's career , and with the huge success with this and all his other films (where he and he alone can only outgross himself at the box office) he's been firmly placed with the big...
Published on 12 Oct 2012 by Julian

versus
22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Terminator BLU-RAY edition
This review refers to the BLU-RAY edition ONLY and NOT to the DVD edition.

Well having The Terminitor series on DVD and loving them and having recently upgraded to a blu-ray player I decided to take the plunge and upgrade my collection to high definition blu-ray format.

Boy, what a mistake that was.

Picture quality is AWFUL - well awful...
Published on 29 Nov 2008 by Blackjack Davy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some films just aren't hi-def compatible, 25 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This isn't a review of the movie (which I really like), just of the Blu-Ray presentation. Facts are that this movie was filmed on a budget the best part of 25 years ago. As such, the cracks show. It's like listening to an analogue recording on CD. For a start, the box says that it's a 1.85:1 ratio picture, but on a 1.77:1 TV it's full screen. Not a big deal, but not an encouraging start. Secondly, the picture simply isn't hi-def. Anyone who's seen what hi-def really looks like will see the difference immediately. I don't know whether it's a bad transfer or just that the original master wasn't that good (see the budget comment above), but on a big screen it really shows. Don't get me wrong, the picture isn't "bad", there's just nothing here that standard DVD can't deliver at least as well.

In summary, if you can get this movie on DVD for a lower price, then go for it as you won't be missing anything. Maybe in a few years they'll remaster the original and replace some of the creakier effects with CGI and it'll warrant a purchase on Blu-Ray, but as it stands this is sadly just another attempt by a studio to wring a little more cash out of consumers by re-releasing an old movie on a new format unnecessarily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Infuriating DRM, 19 May 2014
By 
S. Duncan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, I've just discovered that this will not run on a computer unless you buy some overly expensive 3rd party video player. Secondly, I've just read that this particular version has been cut.

I wanted the definitive version of this movie, and not only can't I play it on my computer, I can't watch the whole movie as it was originally meant to be seen.

Of course I still couldn't bring myself to rate this with only 1 star because I know the Terminator is an awesome film. But this as a product is pretty disgraceful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thankfully he came back!, 22 July 2014
By 
Mr. David Titley (Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spoiled by watching T2 beforehand. This has a low budget 1970s feel to it - with all the horrid hairdoes of the 80s, and a very pathetic female. Lots of plot holes and no real sense of clear dramatic direction. It is very much a training movie, surpassed in every way by the second one the director wrote & designed & made. All credit to the guy for steering Sci-fi away from Battlestar Galactica! That said, T2 wouldn't have been there without the first one, and it's great to have the storyline set up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All time classic! We all know it! J Counsell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Hi-Def, 5 April 2008
By 
J. Myerscough (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great movie but it is not in HD. The audio is horrible :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its terminator need I say more its epic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of the best movies of all time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TERMINATOR BLU, 16 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. Barry Ratcliffe (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE ORIGINAL ON BLU RAY BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant item, great service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 27 Nov 2014
A very good film. Lots of very good acting. I like the difference between Sarah in this one, how innocent she is and then how such a hard-nut she is in the second one. It's so clever. I enjoyed it tremendously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Terminator - Definitive Edition [DVD]
The Terminator - Definitive Edition [DVD] by James Cameron (DVD - 2007)
£9.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews