Customer Reviews


205 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Although , it really is a ten star film!
Cant believe I completely missed the release date on this classic film on Blu-ray and only just received it nearly two weeks after it was available.
This was the film that kick started Cameron's career , and with the huge success with this and all his other films (where he and he alone can only outgross himself at the box office) he's been firmly placed with the big...
Published 21 months ago by Julian

versus
22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Terminator BLU-RAY edition
This review refers to the BLU-RAY edition ONLY and NOT to the DVD edition.

Well having The Terminitor series on DVD and loving them and having recently upgraded to a blu-ray player I decided to take the plunge and upgrade my collection to high definition blu-ray format.

Boy, what a mistake that was.

Picture quality is AWFUL - well awful...
Published on 29 Nov 2008 by Blackjack Davy


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Although , it really is a ten star film!, 12 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cant believe I completely missed the release date on this classic film on Blu-ray and only just received it nearly two weeks after it was available.
This was the film that kick started Cameron's career , and with the huge success with this and all his other films (where he and he alone can only outgross himself at the box office) he's been firmly placed with the big players in Hollywood...and rightly so!
This film has always been a firm favourite of mine and its still just as popular after nearly 30 years and have bought many versions throughout the decades.

Although this film already had a Blu-ray release for a while now (US import only) , I never bought it , as I find US imports to be tricky at best when playing them in the UK... Sometimes they work , sometimes they don't , but this newer UK version is a vast improvement from previous released formats and I can quite honestly say that the picture quality is now just how it should be.
Though the film was mostly shot at night (..mostly) , the daytime scenes are the ones that impress the most with the overall quality.
Detail has to be seen to be believed and you'd be forgiven into thinking that this was filmed on anything other than a state of the art HD camera as facial closeups are just astounding ! Being able to see the pours in peoples skin and count the individual hairs on their heads is pretty amazing , especially when you think just how low a budget this film was , it impresses me even more and can now hold its head up very highly indeed in the quality stakes.

When it came to the old Remastered DVD , for whatever reason , and I really can't get my head around as to who thought this was a good idea , the Future War prologues original text had been replaced with cheap nasty subtitles (the kind you'd find on Ceefax) , but thankfully , this has now been replaced back to its original text on this Blu-ray... Not even George "Because I can" Lucas would have tampered with that , but you do get the feeling that this had nothing to do with any choices Cameron had made , and any input in the last two format releases had been left in the hands of corporate owners who think they know better !

The sound... Hmmm , tricky one this. Although its presented in 5.1 DTS master audio there are some good points and some bad.
The good points are that the sound is better than its ever been and the surround effects of ricocheting bullets , screams and explosions are fantastically transferred with a rich crisp clarity... However!
The bad points are that certain sounds (not all , but mainly gunshots) have been replaced with different gunfire sound FX from its original theatrical and VHS release.
Although this alteration was done a couple of years back on the Remastered DVD to accommodate for the newly improved sound format of the time , it still sticks out like a sore thumb from someone who has watched this film over a tragazillion times and was kind of hoping with the new technology of today , it would have been possible to simply enhance the original sound and put it back.
Brad Fiedel's score (although brilliant) almost suffers with the new clarity. Apart from the iconic main theme , the new and improved clarity with the sound makes other parts of the music score just sound that more... "electronically 80's" if that makes any sense to you as you can quite literally hear the datedness of the keyboard that he's using.

Although , I really must stress that these "bad points" really are just my own personal discrepancies that I have with the sound , and in no way am I slating the excellent quality of the transfer , so this really shouldn't put you off upgrading this film at all.

Extras are a bit of a let down by getting slightly less than the Remastered DVD. Most of the extras are here , but the "Other Voices" documentary has been omitted on this Blu-ray release and can't for the life of me think why they have done this , so don't get rid of your Remastered DVD version just yet !
Its always a pet hate of mine when features are skimped on with Blu-ray as there really is NO EXCUSE for companies to do this... Its not like there isn't enough room on a Blu-ray (50GB) to fit it all in , and its a shame that Cameron hasn't done a commentary or even add the old half hour "making of" that you got on VHS , along with everything else instead of giving you less when making a transfer... Again , feels like corporate muppets interfering.

The film itself really is worth a ten star rating , MINIMUM ! And the new picture and sound are a huge improvement over previous releases and despite what some reviewers are saying , this film is NOT CUT in anyway shape or form no matter what running time is advertised !
All in all , this is a very worthy upgrade , but have dropped one star purely for skimping on the documentaries and the lack of anything new on the extras , as I'll only ever review the product and not the film itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic, 23 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: The Terminator - Definitive Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Made on a budget of around 6.5 million dollars its a real marvel a film like this was made, quite simply its edge of your seat thrills and non-stop suspense at its finest, but with great heart and tremendous story. A lot of work has clearly gone into this wonderful movie and its evident on screen. With Cameron's masterful story telling, an underrated cast with some chilling effects for the Terminator cortesty of the legend himself Stan Winston and an amazing story which maintains realism despite time travel and the sci Fi elements i honestly cannot find one significant flaw in this movie.If you like action or sci Fi or thrills or intricate story or even a bit of horror or even a love story then you will like/love this film because it somehow SUCCESSFULLY combines them all seamlessly.

As for the DVD it has been re-released on several versions but the Definitive edition is just that, it has all the documentaries and features the other versions had but with a few extras. Disc one contains the film itself in its best picture and remastered sound, basically the typical DVD improvements that you get as opposed to VHS. Disc Two contains about half a dozen deleted scenes some more relevant than others (one which contains a very good twist which sets up part of the story for The sequel T2) and several documentaries. The legacy of the terminator and closer to the real thing are OKAY its "Other voices" which contains the real gold, fantastic look into the films making cast,crew, effects and a number of brilliant anecdotes regarding effects,filming,casting(given budgetary constraints things like the last Scenes were made involving a good few VERY interesting stories) this two disc set comes in a metal slip book and is almost certainly the best edition you will get for the first Terminator movie.

A great Film presented in a premium DVD package it is a movie you need to see at least once in your lifetime. Top notch entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic and in Crisp HD onto Blu-Ray need i say more?, 26 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. S. G. Blake (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this on import for my playstation 3 as i read it wasn't region coded, i received it within 3 days from a uk supplier who distributes imported blu ray dvds and needless to say i wasn't disappointed. The picture is amazing, the main menu well designed and the packaging was superb too, a nice 3D hologram cover, the special features are in standard definition but that dosen't really bother me. The question is why hasn't this film been released in the U.K. yet? sometimes i don't understand these marketing decisions made by 20th century fox etc. Oh well all i can say is BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT, a classic not to be missed and fully uncut, the film has never looked better, especially the technoir club scene in all it's retro glory :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just As the Box States, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Henry Spencer "Lynch me." (In the world between dreams and heaven) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Terminator [DVD] (DVD)
I'm making this review as a way of differentiating the various DVD releases and informing people this "Ultimate Edition" is the must have. This review is not of the movie, since we all know this film is ground-breaking. This review is purely for fellow fans, like myself, struggling to find the best DVD edition to own. This really is the definitive DVD edition of The Terminator. As a massive fan of the first two movies, I own all of the DVD releases. This is easily the best release of the first film on DVD ever. Here is why:

#It has collectively, the same amount of extras as those found on the previous release, although, there are a couple of new clips added in one of the documentaries, as well as a whole new documentary for this release. There's also deleted scenes, interviews, photo galleries the list goes on. Those of you looking for the extras, you will not be disappointed, I sure as hell was not.

#In terms of picture quality, sound quality and everything else in between, this is the best of the lot. I'd advise you watch the film with headphones on a HD TV for the full impact!

#There is a lengthy booklet that goes deep into what the film has achieved, a few snippets of comments from those who worked on the film.

#The packaging is excellent, and definitely the best looking of the various editions.

I hope this helps anybody who were trying to figure out which was the best release. Lucky you, you've found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films of the 80's., 27 May 2007
This is a groundbreaking science fiction film that won the first prize in the Festival of Avoriaz that specializes in this genre. It is also a defining moment for Arnie in the first film whee he really does make an impression. The Conan films easily become forgotten entities once the film enters the interval stage. Arnie is impressive as the cyborg who makes Steve Austin appear as a friendly teletubby. His chilling portrayal as a herald of doom and his constant albeit obsessive search for the mother of the future saviour John Connor; played by Linda Hamilton is memorable. The climax is a frequently rewound experience. Even when limbless, the relentless obsession to kill Sarah Connor knows no bounds. One of the best films of the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for the Definitive Edition DVD, 23 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terminator - Definitive Edition [DVD] (DVD)
When I went to buy this movie I was anxious to get the uncut version. I was confused by a couple of things. Firstly, the original VHS release was rated at 18 and the DVD releases are rated at 15. Secondly, the VHS release has something like 6 minutes extra run time over the DVD's. This is all academic really as a) the original video transfer is so horrifically bad and b) the soundtrack is at the wrong pitch, so you couldn't enjoy watching it anyway.
To date I have not been able to reconcile either of these issues, but I did buy this version of the movie and I can confirm that all the usual scenes that are cut when the movie is aired on TV (multiple gunshots to the first Sarah Connors back, cutting out the eye etc...) are intact and uncensored. The video transfer is also excellent (37 inch plasma, component video input, 580p) and the sound is as good as its going to get from a movie of this age.
One small irritation for me, you cannot watch the extended scenes found in the extras as part of the movie.
I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, very good DVD and not censored at all!, 22 Feb 2003
By A Customer
To start with, Terminator is much better than Terminator 2. I enjoyed T2 a lot, and own it on DVD too, but it just can't compare as a film. I think the 1st film plugged into the Eighties' zeitgeist of fear at developing technology, growing hedonism, and the potentially dangerous atmosphere of Regan and Thatcherism. Cameron had no studio pressure to produce a blockbuster, and it shows. T2 is commercial-yes, it's funny, has great stunts and revolutionary special effects, but the darkness of Terminator is replaced by audience-pulling sentimentality and too much didacticism. Terminator is dark, edgy, and genuinely chilling.
Arnie is perfectly cast as the Terminator, creating a malevolent, completely relentless and really frightening villain. T2 never left you in any doubt that the T1000 would be defeated, but in Terminator, it really does seem as if Sarah may not make it. Watch the infamous 'I'll be back' scene when Arnie searches the police station for Sarah. He really pulls off a remarkable performance-as he strides down the corridors, scanning left to right, you can believe he is a machine. Linda Hamilton and Michael Biehn pull off their roles with aplomb, too, avoiding fluffy, romantic stereotypes. Hamilton makes Sarah a heroine you can truly feel for, and the love story is moving.
Enough about the film...what is the actual DVD like? Several reviewers commented on their versions being cut but as far as I can tell, the special edition is the full, uncut version. My old copy that I taped off TV actually had a few cuts, but this DVD version includes the full scenes. One reviewer mentioned that his DVD lacked the scenes where the Terminator repairs his damaged arm and face but the special edition DVD has both these. The eye-removing scene is included in every second of its glory (I still can't watch it without squirming!) This reviewer also mentioned that part of the early scene with the punks was cut, but the special edition DVD has the full version of that, too. However, I do agree with another common complaint-the titles of the future sequence are appallingly naff, and they really should have left the original, which suited the film.
The extras don't compare with the ultimate edition T2 disc, but I suppose with such a low-budget movie from the 80s, they didn't have much content to include. The deleted scenes are interesting, the trailers and storyboards are just trailers and storyboards, the production photos and publicity are quite interesting, but the documentaries are extremely good. I think it's the 'Other Voices' one which I especially enjoyed, as it describes the guerrilla film shooting needed to complete the movie, and the effects used. Obviously it has dated-the stop motion metal skeleton is laughable, but the full size model and robotic parts are fine. I also like the future scenes-they are suitably surreal, and fit the noir-ish feel of the movie. Sometimes miniatures and models are more convincing than CGI . Sadly, no commentary--I would have enjoyed an Arnie/Jim one!
Overall, anyone who has a special interest in sci-fi, noir, or 80s movies should rush out and buy this, but I reckon that anyone who likes film at all should also own it! I love old black and white movies, foreign subtitled movies and 'arthouse' movies, but Terminator is also up there on my list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come with me if you want to live., 17 Dec 2003
One of my favourite films. Two warriors travel from the future to the year 1984. The first, a Terminator machine wrapped in human tissue to avoid detection. The other a human soldier ordered to defend the Terminators' target, a young woman who has huge future significance.
Like many I have seen this film more than a few times on video. It is a wonderfully exciting face paced action packed movie. The Terminator is a much more fun character than Freddy Kruger or its other contemporary Micheal Myers. Why wait to use the phone when you can throw some one off? The Terminator is like the ultimate rude person and you're never sure what he's going to do next. This homicidal Terminator is much more appealing than the soppy "I know now why you cry." father figure of the second film.
The first movie also has an advantage in that the protector is a human soldier played wonderfully by Michael Biehn. The first shoot out between Reese and the Terminator one of my favourite scenes of all time. Many critics (pacifically in the BFI Terminator Modern Classics book) refer to how Reese makes unsupportable hero and I must disagree. His all too human fears are much more convincing that the Humanising of the Terminator in the second film. And besides it isn't Arnie in the love scene.
As the film progresses the story movies away from its comic book beginning and introduces a brilliant romantic element that sees the film through to the end.
The DVD version of the film has a different sound and image quality. Different but not necessarily better. The film on VHS has a wonderfully cheap nightmarish quality that the clean print diminishes. The shotguns and rifles do not sound the same, big deal I hear you say. But, for me, this ruins one of my favourite moments when Sarah squeezes her eyes shut after hearing the roaring gunfire. It just isn't the same.
I'm just thankful that any of the deleted scenes weren't cut into the movie as they are just laughably bad. The DVD also features interview with everyone even if it is to give themselves a pat on the back for making such a wonderful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Cameron's ground-breaking sci-fi thriller!, 28 Feb 2001
By A Customer
The most terrifying robot in cinema history has to go to Arnold Schwarzenegger's Terminator. In this thrilling action movie from James Cameron, Schwarzenegger is a relentless killing machine hell-bent on carrying out his 'programmed' mission. Linda Hamilton stars as Sarah Connor, a woman targeted by the android for termination since she will later give birth to the saviour of mankind. This saviour is the only hope against battling an onslaught of robotic terrors, in the near future. Because of this, the machines send an assassin back through time in order to wipe Connor out (in the form of Arnie). But the humans have sent someone as well. Connor is protected by a military soldier, played wonderfully by Micheal Biehn. The action that follows is excellent, as the Terminator tries franticly to kill his target. Although low-budget, Cameron's mid-80's sci-fi epic is a highly entertaining affair. Crammed full of violence and memorable scenes - including Schwarzenegger's attack on a police precinct - the film is a landmark in Cameron's career, and sci-fi movies alike. It grabs your attention from beginning to end, and the climax is particulary riveting. Cameron's direction is practically fautless, and the tension is great. A cinema gem, that was suprisingly eclipsed by it's sequel 'Terminator 2: Judgement Day', which Cameron also helmed.
David James Nock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Upgrade, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This blu-ray is without a doubt a perfect upgrade in terms of picture and sound quality, of one of the best action/sci-fi movies of all time. It looks and sounds better than ever, so if you're a fan of this classic, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Terminator - Definitive Edition [DVD]
The Terminator - Definitive Edition [DVD] by James Cameron (DVD - 2007)
8.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews