Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (240)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open all hours
I've always loved Open All Hours and the box set pulls all the episodes together. Ronnie Barker is perfect as Arkwright the tight-fisted corner grocer and he has perfect foils in David Jason as his nephew Granville and Linda Baron as his object of desire, Nurse Gladys Emmanuel. The writing is tight and focussed and gives all the cast plenty of time to shine. There has...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by gerry1

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
very dated
Published 1 month ago by mikebeckett1010


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open all hours, 11 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Complete Open All Hours - Series One-Four [1976] (DVD)
I've always loved Open All Hours and the box set pulls all the episodes together. Ronnie Barker is perfect as Arkwright the tight-fisted corner grocer and he has perfect foils in David Jason as his nephew Granville and Linda Baron as his object of desire, Nurse Gladys Emmanuel. The writing is tight and focussed and gives all the cast plenty of time to shine. There has been criticism of Ronnie Barker using his stammer to get cheap laughs in it's being insulting to genuine sufferers - I don't know how they feel but to me the stammer is very much in character and does not come over as intentionally insulting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb comedy classic, 20 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: The Complete Open All Hours - Series One-Four [1976] (DVD)
This was the BBC doing comedy at its best in the 1970's. Written by the marvellous Roy Clarke (80 next year) and with superb performances from Ronnie Barker as Arkwright the stammering shopkeeper, David Jason (pre Only Fools & Horses) as his naive nephew Granville, Lynda Barron as the shapely nurse Gladys Emanuel and a stellar supporting cast, this was as close as situation comedy can get to perfection. Over 4 series this brilliantly comic and well observed show explored every human foible and weakness known to man - and a few that weren't (before viagra there was ginger cake!) and developed cult status. If you missed it the first time, do yourself a favour and see it now. If you already know how good it is, enjoy it again. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 3 Nov 2010
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Open All Hours - Series One-Four [1976] (DVD)
Ronnie Barker was at the height of his powers when he took on the role of Arkwright in Open All Hours. Plenty has been said about the high watermark of British comedy which this series represents so, if gentle, knowing, and mildly suggestive banter is your thing, then this will suit you well. The scripts are wonderful, written almost as a stage play, and are character-driven like nothing is these days.

The set includes the pilot episode. It is well worth watching this first, as it fills in Granville's back-story, which is mostly absent from the four series. It also features an Irish nurse Gladys, a character that is the very opposite of the grasping materialist Arkwright. The lofty stuffiness made her come across as remote and unattainable in my view. Presumably the production team thought so too, as her character was switched to that of a local lass, retaining the conservatism but losing the religious sensibilities. Lynda Baron's nurse is friendly, witty, and even motherly at times. Many of the opposites thus pass to Granville's character.

The stories are domestic and often ostensibly trivial, but familiar too. This is, I suppose, what makes it such comfortably engaging material. The stories generally have three themes: Arkwright's ill-starred bids to win Gladys's affection; Arkwright's money-making schemes; and Granville's failing lovelife. These themes often interplay, giving each half-hour episode several plot threads. Always they end with Arkwright's thoughts as he shuts the shop at night.

The only thing missing from the set is the 1982 special at the end of series 3, called "The Funny Side Of Christmas", which I don't think was ever available on any Open All Hours DVD.

It is tightly scripted, never missing an opportunity to squeeze in a quip or exchange of looks. There is generally a veneer of seaside postcard naughtiness about it, but scarcely a foul word anywhere. There are so many hundreds of one-liners and story twists, that it stands replaying very well.

The set is presented on four DVDs, each in a proper plastic box (not the nasty slimline or cardboard ones). The pilot episode is on the series 1 DVD. The DVD menus are in ghastly shades of orange and brown, and look like they were designed in five minutes. A little more attention to package design would have helped.

It's great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy a clean laugh., 20 Nov 2013
By 
Trevor W. Edmonds (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Open All Hours - Series One-Four [1976] (DVD)
This DVD brings back happy memories from the past. Although slightly dated it is all good CLEAN fun. I didn't realise how David Jason has aged since these were made. Oh my gosh so have I !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted comedy, 13 Nov 2009
By 
CJ Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Open All Hours - Series One-Four [1976] (DVD)
I don't remember Open All Hours when it was first on TV. My first memory of it is watching it on a Saturday or Sunday evening at my Nan and Grandads. My dad purchased Series 4 last year and when I received an email from Amazon showing the release date for the box set, I had to have it. Also the fatastic price of £20 was not to grumble about!

The series is fantastic with every episode as funny and easy to watch as the next. If you only learn one thing from the tight-fisted stuttering Arkwright its never to hang your trousers out of a car window!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Ronnie Barker, 10 Mar 2007
By 
M. Wood (Midlands,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Open All Hours - Series One-Four [1976] (DVD)
I dont remember this when it was originally on tv, but like the other reviewer i saw it on Uk Gold and had to have the box set. Classic british comedy with Ronnie Barker as the stuttering shopkeeper Arkwright and David Jason as his long suffering errand boy. Very funny, a must for your comedy collection, includes all 4 series and the pilot episode. 5 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the complete open all hours, 12 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Open All Hours - Series One-Four [1976] (DVD)
good, sound british comedy that has moved with the times.
arkright, granville, nurse gladys and the till with a will of it's own.
I'm having a good laugh, just thinking about it while writing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BRITISH COMEDY, 14 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: The Complete Open All Hours - Series One-Four [1976] (DVD)
As im only 23yrs old i don't remember this series when it was on tv. But after watching repeat episodes on BBc 1 & UK GOLD.

I just just had to see if it was on dvd as it star two of the greatest british actors Ronnie Barker (RIP) & Sir David Jason.

Every episode is a laugh a minuet as Arkwright who owns the shop and this nephew granville get upto mischef every time

besides its much better then todays modern comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars open all hours, 18 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Complete Open All Hours - Series One-Four [1976] (DVD)
Oh yes.Very good indeed.Ronnie Barker and David Jason make a fantastic team.It was just as i remembered it the first time round.Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A CLASSIC COMEDY IS ALL I CAN SAY REALLY., 10 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: The Complete Open All Hours - Series One-Four [1976] (DVD)
being 28yrs old i dont actually remember the originally run first tv appearance of this great classic comedy series,even tho they still show it on tv today,the re-shows still make me laugh and smile lots everytime i see it on,so if you have a gsoh and love classic comedys BUY IT NOW. david jason plays his character superbly,FANTASTIC, ronnie barker very funny much missed comedy guy who also plays his character superbly.
SUPERB CLASSIC TV COMEDY AT ITS BEST. THEY DONT MAKE ORIGINAL VERY FUNNY COMEDYS LIKE THIS ANYMORE,OOOOO NOW I DO SOUND OLD,HEHE,LOL.
I PURCHASED MY SERIES 1-4 AS SINGLE DVDS NOT BOXSET FORM.
REALLY HOPE THIS HELPS YOU MAKE UP YOUR MIND WETHER YES OR NO TO BUYING IT NOW,BUT REALLY DO HIGHLY ADVISE YOU DO. ;)
EVERY SINGLE EPISODE A LAUGH A MINUTE WITH CLASSIC GAGS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Open All Hours - Series One-Four [1976]
£12.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews