Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful weave of fairy tale fantasy
"Now this child had a strange and wonderful birthmark, in that her eyelids and the flesh around her eyes was stained a deep indigo-black, like china pots filled with ink."

Catherynne M Valente's latest novel begins in the vast garden of a Sultan's palace and with a girl who has been banished from the palace into the garden because of a peculiar marking: her...
Published on 8 Dec 2006 by A. D. MacFarlane

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Arty and also ... well, you know
I do believe that we have here a whole new genre: art house fantasy. Never mind the content, see how clever we are!

No, I didn't like it very much, what makes you say that?

In a universe apparently inspired by an old Fry's Turkish Delight advert, a young orphan girl afflicted by a dark birthmark around her eyes haunts the gardens of the Palace (it...
Published 22 months ago by phoebes_mum


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful weave of fairy tale fantasy, 8 Dec 2006
By 
A. D. MacFarlane (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Now this child had a strange and wonderful birthmark, in that her eyelids and the flesh around her eyes was stained a deep indigo-black, like china pots filled with ink."

Catherynne M Valente's latest novel begins in the vast garden of a Sultan's palace and with a girl who has been banished from the palace into the garden because of a peculiar marking: her eyelids and the skin around her eyes are stained black. When a plucky boy approaches her, she tells him that the markings are stories written in tiny handwriting; and at his request she begins to tell him the first story, from the crease of her left eyelid. These stories are the focus of the book, although there is an important subplot of the boy getting in trouble for his growing association with the girl.

The stories she tells have a fairytale, mythical quality about them; there are stories within stories within stories, weaving in and out of each other; and it is all told in Valente's flowing, beautiful prose. She takes some basic archetypes - the prince, the maiden and the witch, for instance - and turns them on their head in an oft-peculiar way, sometimes subtly and sometimes not, with ideas drawn from a wide spread of cultures and a fair few from the imagination-rich world inside her own head.

This is a dazzling, original, interesting book, and I recommend it to everyone who wants a taste of something fresh and fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most original, fantastic fantasy book in years; a must-read, 9 Sep 2010
A young girl spends her days alone in a garden. She is outcast and ostracized from the people around her, because of strange black markings on her eyelids and around her eyes, believing her to be a demon-child. One day, a young prince wanders into her garden and befriends her; in return, she tells him the stories she has read from the inside of her eyelids.

Although I have never read The Arabian Nights, I hear The Orphan's Tales duology is of a similar structure; each volume is comprised of two main stories, each of which consists of a net of connecting stories. I had never read a book with this stories-within-stories structure -- at first I was left a little confused as to who was telling the story and whether each story connected to each other, but a couple of pages in and I came to love this structure. This book is full of amazing depth because of it; almost every character the reader is introduced to has their own story to tell and so you come to know each character on a personal level, which is rare among fantasy fiction. It is often the case for me that even in the best books, there are characters that bore me to death and I would happily skip through parts that focus on them; In The Night Garden is very different. I cared about most of these characters, I actually felt a sense of loss when some stories ended because I felt I needed to read more, I needed to know more about this well-written character.

It is a testament to Catherynne M. Valente's utterly amazing writing ability that there are almost no two-dimensional characters, they hardly ever fall into tropes of typical fantasy and almost all of them has an interesting characteristic or feature that conflicts with what you'd expect. Not only are these characters interesting and well-written, they are downright weird. From a surly barman who was formerly a white bear, to the sea captain with a fox's head only seen in water, to the dog-headed monks that refrain from eating meat... it's all weird. Shapeshifting princesses, a race that can live forever by inhabiting other bodies, young girls with three breasts; you name it and it's likely there. I am a newcomer to the new weird genre and I was never overwhelmed. The strangeness of the stories or the characters never fazes you, you are only left more and more interested.

Even more fantastic than the characterisation and plots... Valente's writing. Each line is like poetry. The novel is rich in vivid and wonderful descriptions, but never ever purple, never pointless and always adding something to each story. I am a quick reader but I spent a particularly long time on this book, just to appreciate every well-placed and beautiful phrase. It's a joy to read lines which may add nothing more than descriptions to the wonderful settings. I can easily say that Valente is my new favourite writer even if judged only on technique and her use of language, let alone what's actually involved in the novels, because her grasp of language is unmatched by any writers who belong to the new weird/fantasy/fairy tale genres.

Another point that must be mentioned... In The Night Garden involves a lot of female characters. Again, they never fall into stereotypes... as explained, even the most beautiful and kind characters has something you'd never expect, something that most writers would never dare to write, like the princess trapped into a tower hideously deformed by a wizard's experiments. And yet, they seem like real women. They are simply women who do their own things. Valente is one of the few writers I've seen who isn't afraid to twist stereotypes and break traditions. It's very refreshing.

It's dark, it's weird, it's imaginative, it's fantastic. If you like fantasy at all, read this book. If you like well-written weird stories, read this book. If you're dying for well-written female characters, read this book. If you like fairy tales, read this book. It's, quite simply, that good. This book is a hidden gem and Catherynne M. Valente is an underrated, talented addtion to the fantasy genre.

Buy it, read it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars incredible, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orphan's Tales: In the Night Garden: 1 (Kindle Edition)
The most beautiful story filled with even more beautiful stories. My new favourite book, this story is really something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 24 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: The Orphan's Tales: In the Night Garden: 1 (Kindle Edition)
In a far off garden, cloistered away from the Sultan's harem lives a girl with exotic tales tattooed on her eyelids. No one is supposed to speak to her, but the young prince loves sneak away and listen to her stories. In the Night Garden is a compilation of those very same stories, as well as that of the lost girl and enraptured prince. I absolutely love this book (books really). I can't say that enough. If I hadn't wanted to be an author before reading it, I sure would have after. It grabbed my attention, held it, and then shook it for all it was worth. I wanted it to go on forever, to find one more amazing character or vivid local. This book is full of them. It's like literary velvet. The prose is beautiful, the stories engaging, and (though some have complained about the complexity) I loved the way they all interlock. It is simply fabulous, and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves mythology, folk stories, and/or high fantasy. Approach it with patience, it is convoluted, but so worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tales that twine like ivy, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In years of reading being a fantasy reader; I can firmly say I've never found a book quite like this before. The Orphan's Tales: In the Night Garden is a remarkable piece of storytelling.

Undoubtedly influenced by the fantasy, horror and satirical stories in One Thousand And One Nights; the book's opening thread is of a supposed demonically possessed young girl living in a palace garden. Shunned and feared by nearly all around her, the nameless girl tells stories to an equally unnamed boy of the royal court. This allows a linear flow into tales that are vivid, elaborate depictions of magic, blood vengeance, quests, fabulous cities and an incredible range of mythical beings as well as princes, kings, witches, deities and more. There is a touch of a reminder of Italo Calvino's Invisible Cities, as well as Jorge Luis Borges' The Book of Imaginary Beings, for me.

What I love are the twists to the characters' stories as they appear, disappear and then are encountered again (akin to music where the refrain is heard once, vanishes, then returns to be touched on again, growing resonant with added details). Also, as another reviewer notes: there are wonderfully depicted female characters and, delightfully, they are all different with none being decoratively simplistic.

However, for all the wondrous prose, I do find some elements less satisfying. I like flashes of wit and humour in fantasy writing to add dimension to themes that can, sometimes, become portentous. There are a couple of moments where I smiled or had a quiet laugh (a questing Prince obsessed with formulas and theorems and Grog the Magyr lambasting the uselessness of mermaids), but for many of the stories it seemed absent or it was lost in my reading of it.

The structure of the storytelling can be discouraging at times. With so many characters across near fifty stories; it can be difficult to find an emotional connection instead of an intellectual one. It's easy to view some as just another link in a chain, where the fabulously outlandish becomes the everyday, rather than memorable individuals. The stand-out characters are in the stories of The Net-weaver, The Pale Girl and St. Sigrid. The characters' relationships to each other seemed to be far more understandable, and sympathetic, in terms of their motivations and actions. These later tales remain my favourites of the entire sequence.

The interior ink drawings by Michael Kaluta (an established and talented comic book artist and illustrator) may have been commissioned to play a similar role as in The Grimm Brothers' Illustrated Tales. It is unfortunate that some of the odd, repetitive, positioning and sizing in the text does not always enhance or complement.

For readers looking for a book that is a different take on classical stories, or as adult fantastic fiction, I'd recommend The Night Garden as more than worth the time to become absorbed in. I wouldn't strongly recommend it for people who want a more traditional, epic fantasy novel though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wow, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orphan's Tales: In the Night Garden: 1 (Kindle Edition)
this author is almost unbearably good. the depth of her imagination leaves me spinning. though i loved this book, i didn't find it a real page turner, as the story-within-a-story-within-a-story structure doesn't allow you to really get attached to any particular character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 4 Oct 2012
One of the most amazing books I have read for a long time. I could not put it down. Valente's prose is poetic and lyrical and never strays into cliche or flowery territory. The stories unfold from within each other like a set of intricate chinese boxes, each section yielding a new treasure. The denser stories occasionally get a little confusing, but nothing that should put off the attentive reader. I would recommend this gorgeous fantasy to anybody. I was heartbroken when it ended, I never wanted to turn the last page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A tapestry of stories, 20 May 2011
By 
Stories within stories like matryoshka dolls, intertwined within a complex tapestry. The tales of the titular orphan will bring you into a world of fantasy and wonders, perils and mysteries, witches and wizards, monsters and princes, heroes and sailors, saints and stars. Cat Valente at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 16 Jan 2008
By 
This book was good it is hard to describe how good it was. The many stories the girl with the tatooed eyes tells weave together expertly and sometimes so subtly you don't realise initially how they connect.It is, as the blurb describes it, a new arabian nights.
I really enjoyed this book and I'm already planning to order the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Arty and also ... well, you know, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do believe that we have here a whole new genre: art house fantasy. Never mind the content, see how clever we are!

No, I didn't like it very much, what makes you say that?

In a universe apparently inspired by an old Fry's Turkish Delight advert, a young orphan girl afflicted by a dark birthmark around her eyes haunts the gardens of the Palace (it doesn't say what Palace), feared and shunned by all, until one day a young boy dares to speak to her. She tells him that her birthmark is, in fact, a long, magical tale, one that she is reading (it also doesn't say how she learned to read) slowly, in a backwards mirror, one eye at a time. The boys asks her to tell him her stories, and so she begins.

The conceit here is that the stories in question, as in 'The Thousand and One Nights' on which this is so clearly based, unfold from character to character: we begin, and occasionally return to, the orphan and the boy; she begins to tell him the Prince's story; the Prince meets a Witch, and we move on to her story; then the Witch's grandmother gets in on the action ... and so on. It's an entertaining enough novelty to begin with, but very soon gets tedious. Aside from all else, the stories themselves are thin and insubstantial, and being broken up in this way does nothing to improve them.

The book itself is beautifully produced, in a large format, on heavy quality paper, a glossy cover, illustrations - rather bad ones, but I expect the artist was proud of them - and rough-cut page edges. (Actually, I'm not sure what the term is for the page edges; I think they're cut to different widths according to alternate chapters, but I really can't be bothered to check.) Lots of style; very little substance. Still, if you pretend you're clever and arty enough, there's every possibility that you'll manage to fool a few people at least into agreeing with you.

To Oxfam with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Orphan's Tales: In the Night Garden: 1
5.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews