Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best new music in years
I had heard a couple of their tracks previously - namely "Ali in the jungle" and "back when you were good" - both really original, back when you were good reminded me a little of The Adventures (late 80's but still worth buying - if you can find their tunes).

I pre-ordered the narcissus rd album and I'm not disappointed. "I miss you" is as touching as music...
Published on 7 Feb 2007 by Rob Stoppable

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stupid journalese
I bought this largely off the back of the glowing tributes here and from the Times and...er, was pretty underwhelmed actually.

First things first, this isn't by any stretch a bad album. It's OK - one or two tracks are very, very good, one or two are pretty awful (the lyrics on track four - oh dear lord!), most are middling. Classic first album syndrome from a...
Published on 26 Feb 2007 by Crimbs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best new music in years, 7 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Narcissus Road (Audio CD)
I had heard a couple of their tracks previously - namely "Ali in the jungle" and "back when you were good" - both really original, back when you were good reminded me a little of The Adventures (late 80's but still worth buying - if you can find their tunes).

I pre-ordered the narcissus rd album and I'm not disappointed. "I miss you" is as touching as music gets. There's some tracks on this album that don't immediately hit me, but taken as a whole, this album is the best new music I've heard in the last 20 years. Beautifully music, great lyrics and the singer has a great emotive voice. It really is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of pleasure., 19 Aug 2007
This review is from: Narcissus Road (Audio CD)
Although Hours are part of a new revival in the use of the piano in songwriting, the sheer confidence on display sets this apart from most albums this year.
One minute of your Hours experience is spent wanting to bounce up and down to the foot stomping rythm on tracks like Ali in the Jungle and Love you More. Then you find yourself in the company of hugely emotional songs like Miss You. All the while the journey is massively enjoyable and never seems forced or un-natural.
Strong, soaring vocals combine with tight arrangements to make an album that I can only describe as a great pop album. Don't be fooled though, this is clever, mature songwriting, it may have pop sensibilities, but you will still be listening to this long after many of the current rash of less talented popstars have gone back to McDonalds.
Funny, touching, joyful, all aspects of life rolled into one. The time of your life is measured in hours, and Hours have got the measure of your life on this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Promising debut, 28 Sep 2007
By 
Allan Gordon "allangordon" (Erskine, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Narcissus Road (Audio CD)
The resurgence of British guitar-based rock groups continues apace with The Hours' debut album, Narcissus Road. The Hours are basically Ant and Martin Slattery, who have both been musically involved with Shaun Ryder, Joe Strummer and Jarvis Cocker. The subject matter of the album is love, death, murder, dreams,....pretty much life itself! The instrumentation is a bit more varied than your average guitar band; there is extensive use of piano, strings and keyboard, with even a glockenspiel thrown into the mix. This means that the album doesn't suffer from a uniform musical landscape, an affliction which ruins many contemporary albums. The standout tracks on the album are Ali in the Jungle, which is the best inspirational track in years, Back When You Were Good, and Icarus. Comparisons have been made with Radiohead but I feel that in terms of sensibility they are more akin to The Editors or Maximo Park. So if you like bold, passionate, dark rock you may find that The Hours are a very welcome addition to your CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Debut, 9 Feb 2007
By 
Brian Yeo "dmyeo66" (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Narcissus Road (Audio CD)
I trawl the web for new bands on a daily basis and came across The Hours. Well what a great find. The Cd arrived today from Amazon and it has to be the Album of the year already in my view. Antony Genn's vocals are fantastic throughout the whole Album. So far the stand out track has to be (in my humble opinion) Back When You Were Good. Superbly atmospheric with a great string section. They have a great sound and no one track is similar to the other. It is broody, powerful and a definate must have for anyone who loves music. It is overall a well produced piece of craftmanship. Good luck guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Originality, 2 July 2007
By 
S. J. MARKS (Wigan, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Narcissus Road (Audio CD)
It is not often that a band comes along and sounds different. Nope they don't sound like Radiohead, thankfully.

They are even better live and the songs actually have meaning and get you thinking. There is not one track I don't like and there is a good mix of music for all moods. All of the guys at work are listening to the album now. Check our myspace if you fancy a listen before you buy.

This band should make it and deserves to. Go see 'em live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understated and excellent, 24 Feb 2007
By 
J. Bloss "jethrox1" (Buckingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Narcissus Road (Audio CD)
The Hours have come up with a high quality debut album. The overall style is hard to pin down but they do bear comparison with bands such as Talk Talk. Most of the tracks are complex featuring a wide range of instruments that require a few listens before you appreciate everything that is going on. Don't expect any hard driven rock - this is thoughtful and passionate music that veers from the catchy trip-hoppy "People Say" to the excellent list song "I love you more". I bought this on a whim and am really pleased I did so - definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hours: Well ahead of its time!, 10 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Narcissus Road (Audio CD)
As early as February we could have a contender for album of the year. This album is beautifully textured with a breathtaking array of musical
difference across the tracks. Clearly the writing team have a rare skill in being able to cross different musical landscapes. The Times have already quoted the albums influences as wide as Radiohead, Scott Walker, Gang of four and the blue nile. This may give some indication of the range of this superb debut.

The opening track "Ali in the jungle" starts with a New Order/Joy Divison "ceremony" like opening riff then offers its own tangent with the vocals high up in the mix with the drums creating the major shape of the song. Track two is the Title Track Narcissus driven by a minimalist piano score allow the vocals a major upfront position: No cloudiness here.

Track three "Back when you were good" is a fine mellow song and it is understandable that the "Times" make reference to the Blue Nile. This song has a somewhat Paul Buchanan flavour to it.

"Love You More" (not the Buzzcocks song!) is a an impressive track carrying an uptempo drum pattern allowing a good flow within the album.

"Murder or Suicide" is in my view the crowning glory of the album which builds up in intensity. A rich mans coldplayesque type of song rising to the A-list of songs.

"I need to know" is somewhat the oddmanout track and not my favourite track has a dull sound that riddles the song to an almost uncomprehensive state. It is in my view the poorest track. But one duffer on an album is bliss in todays state of affairs with all the current dross around. Boy band bands, girl bands, pops idols and all the the other impersonators eat your heart out, great songwriting has risen from the ashes again.

"People Shy" could have been on Talk Talk's brilliant Colour of Spring album. This reminds me of "Give it up" from Hollis and Co. But the singing here gives it, its own sense of perspective. Just great!

Rating? 9/10

Go out and get it and judge for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great! Buy it!, 7 July 2007
This review is from: Narcissus Road (Audio CD)
The best album I have bought this year. Or maybe on a par with Neon Bible? Although not alike. Either way a good all round album with some stand out tracks. If you like Coldplay, when they were good, make them a tad more 'dark' or 'rough' and this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the Album of the Year, 3 Aug 2007
By 
Dizzys "opinions" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Narcissus Road (Audio CD)
Despite buying albums on a constant basis this is my first posted review, that is how much I rate this album. People around the office now are mainly listening to The View, Klaxons, The Feeling, Amy Winehouse and Lily Allen, they were on my mp3 player 6 months ago. In six months time everybody will have this album. It's the clocks that get you first, spread though the album on `Ali in the jungle' `Murder or Suicide' and `I need to know' they provide an unusual but hypnotic beat. Once your hooked it really starts to get you with well crafted lyrics and great piano lines on `Back when you were good', `Dive in' and `I Miss you'. The Clash it ain't, but well crafted, intelligent, alternative pop it most certainly is. If you like Keane, Snow Patrol, Muse or can remember the genius of the sound of `My Life Story' buy this, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stupid journalese, 26 Feb 2007
This review is from: Narcissus Road (Audio CD)
I bought this largely off the back of the glowing tributes here and from the Times and...er, was pretty underwhelmed actually.

First things first, this isn't by any stretch a bad album. It's OK - one or two tracks are very, very good, one or two are pretty awful (the lyrics on track four - oh dear lord!), most are middling. Classic first album syndrome from a band who could be very good in a couple of years but haven't yet got the quality control quite right.

Now, the important bit. The bit from the Times about them "being stalked by Scott Walker and Radiohead". Yes, "Back When You Were Good" sounds quite Walker-ish, but other than that - nada. As for the Radiohead comparison, this is yet another example of lazy, misleading jounalism. There is nothing here that sounds like Radiohead at any stage of their career. But then Coldplay's first album was supposed to sound like Radiohead, wasn't it?!

Ignore the journalese and try to judge Narcissus Road on its own merits. You might like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Narcissus Road
Narcissus Road by The Hours (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews