Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pencils
These coloured pencils from Derwent are very soft. I'd say they are about a 7B or 8B in terms of softness. For those who remember the discontinued brand "Karisma" (or Prismacolor in North America) they are similar to those, but a little softer and not so brittle, and they don't burnish in the same way as Prisma/Karismas.
However, because of the softness of the lead,...
Published on 18 Nov 2010 by LD

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very soft & 2 colours very pale
Sadly I was a bit disappointed. The pencils are not as soft as I was expecting after reading about these Coloursoft pencils on the Derwent web site. They are ok but they are not 4/5B softness, they are less waxy than the other colour ranges however. The other thing with this particular assortment is that 2 of the colours are well nigh invisible on white paper (the Ivory...
Published 14 months ago by Happy Spotty


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pencils, 18 Nov 2010
These coloured pencils from Derwent are very soft. I'd say they are about a 7B or 8B in terms of softness. For those who remember the discontinued brand "Karisma" (or Prismacolor in North America) they are similar to those, but a little softer and not so brittle, and they don't burnish in the same way as Prisma/Karismas.
However, because of the softness of the lead, they too can suffer from internal breakages (though not on the scale of Karisma/Prismas) and they need to be treated with care. They're not fragile and are definitely sturdy pencils, but if they are sharpened with a bad quality pencil sharpener, or dropped on a hard floor, the lead inside can shatter. Therefore, if they are treated with kindness, they will last a long time and will be useable down the last stub. They are also quite crumbly when the lead is sharp, due to their softness, so this can cause smearing if care isn't taken.
The best paper for these pencils is, in my opinion, something toothy (the grain/surface of the paper that is slightly rough) I have used these pencils with smooth bristol board and they don't perform so well. Rougher paper takes better advantage of their soft leads and results in rich, deep colours. I think it's best to blend them slowly and carefully. They're not suited to fast, hard, burnishing techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good enough to replace Berol Karismas., 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Derwent Coloursoft Tin Soft Blendable Colouring Pencils (Set of 24) (Office Product)
The softness, richness, blendability, and opacity of these pencils means that I can now continue using my Berol Karismas without fear of finishing them too soon. These Coloursoft pencils were first developed to replace the Karismas, which won the hearts of most people who used them, and they've done the job. I'm sorry I didn't take the plunge with them earlier. I bought the 24 colour tin as a tester while toying with the idea of buying Prismacolors from the US but now I can go for the 72 colour tin of these and avoid the US postage.

As usual with the Derwent range, even in small 12 pencil tins, the range of colours is carefully chosen and suitable for mixing a fairly full colour wheel. These pencils also work very well other brands and other Derwent pencils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep colours, 6 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derwent Coloursoft Tin Soft Blendable Colouring Pencils (Set of 24) (Office Product)
These pencils are soft and capable of achieving bold, deep colours. Excellent blending qualities. Not to be compared in any way with cheap colouring pencils bought from the stationers or supermarket. For carrying around I also bought the roll-up case Derwent Pencil Wrap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant pencils, 11 July 2011
The selection of colours in this range is wonderful - very well thought out.
The box is a delight. Keeps the pencils protected and looks good too.

Now to the pencils themselves:

- the diameter of the pencil is very comfortable, I can find some narrower pencils a bit too slim, but these sit very well in the hand.

- the wood the pencils are made of is solid but sharpens easily.

- the all important core gives the smoothest and most solid line I have ever had from a pencil - rich intense colour at a stroke.

- the colours are soft enough to blend easily and you can build up layers to generate transitions between colours or new colours all together.

- I've had no problems with lead breakages with these pencils.

I would recommend adding the Derwent Blister Pack Containing Two Blenders, Two Burnishers, Sharpener AND Eraser to your basket too - because the blender works brilliantly with the Coloursoft and the Burnisher allows you to add depth and shine to your drawings. I'm very happy with these pencils and look forward to using them again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Derwent Coloursoft - not a Toy!!, 1 Jun 2012
By 
Mrs W Foden (Beaford - Devon) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, these pencils are not a toy! Secondly, they're absolutely brilliant. Gorgeous colours, perfect for different skin tones, from European, to Asian, and African etc: Really extend the use of your other Coloursoft pencils. Any shade, from very light, to bright and vibrant, easy to blend, what more can I say? Can achieve beautiful results with these, one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant investment, 26 Aug 2010
If you're thinking 'well they're a bit expensive for a pack of colours' these really are worth it. The box is really nice, very protective, and the range of colours you get is fantastic. i've never found myself wishing for a slightly different colour, as i have with most other packs i've had. the quality is amazing, you really get almost solid colour with these as opposed to quite grainy coverage. they really are a joy to colour with, and bring whatever your drawing right off the page :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning quality, 6 Nov 2012
By 
Beki "beki166" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had used standard wax pencils before, but these are so much nicer that having used them you won't want to go back. I produced a portrait from a photo in a little under 6 hours, and the colours went on so smoothly, burnished and blended, layered and finished that I really didn't want to stop drawing. The basic flesh tones given here are enough to give you a start in portraits, but really as soon as you've used them once you're going to want the full tin of 72 colours. I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coloursoft skintone, 1 Jan 2012
Attempting to create a lifelike skin tone colour is often hit and miss, but with these colours and a bit of practice

I find that reasonable tones can be achieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars derwent coloursoft pencils, 1 Feb 2011
By 
Mike H (Manchester) - See all my reviews
Excellent product, very easy to use and presented in a high quality polished wooden box with pull out trays which protect the pencils and keep them well organised. Create very good artwork both for detail and also for shading and blending. I must recommend them to anyone interested in drawing or creating good quality artwork. The 48 box of pencils is about the right size any smaller and some colours are difficult to achieve whereas the 72 box , although presenting a bigger range and equally well presented, may be a bit over the top expensewise, unless of course you are a professional artist - which I am not.When bought thro Amazon they are particularly good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars derwent coloursoft pencils, 23 Feb 2009
By 
Jayne Lewis "jayne-the -weed" (torfaen, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
these pencils are excellent professional quality and from this particular seller are fantastic value. they are very soft, easily blended pencils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews