Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic return to form!
Being an old school idlewild fan I am absolutely thrilled by this new offering from roddy and co. Although warning/promises had its moments it struggled to deliver the passion and raw enegy that its predecessors remote part and 100 broken windows did.

This album sees idlewild ditch the folk tinged MOR sound that was theme of the last album and turn up the amps...
Published on 6 Mar 2007 by Rubens

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the comeback i'd hoped for....
The majority of Idlewild fans probably hold '100 Broken Windows' as the pinnacle of their career....the band had really cleaned up their sound but had lost none of the edge of their earlier material. 'The Remote Part' was the album that followed, which was a more commercial-sounding album, but once again the quality of the songwriting never faltered. 'Warnings/Promises'...
Published on 15 Mar 2007 by Mr. A. D. J. Mcculloch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic return to form!, 6 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Make Another World (Audio CD)
Being an old school idlewild fan I am absolutely thrilled by this new offering from roddy and co. Although warning/promises had its moments it struggled to deliver the passion and raw enegy that its predecessors remote part and 100 broken windows did.

This album sees idlewild ditch the folk tinged MOR sound that was theme of the last album and turn up the amps and get back to the energetic rock sound that orginally made me a huge fan. Roddys melodic voice and mature and intelligent lyrics compliment the cruching guitars brilliantly.

Get roddys fantastic debut album if you are a fan of the slower idlewild stuff

Immediate highlights for me include the album opener in competition for the worst time, Everthing, If it takes you home and Ghost in the arcade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt and raucous, 9 May 2007
This review is from: Make Another World (Audio CD)
For some reason, this music touches me in a place where other music doesn't.

You know the story... you catch a riff or hear a melody and suddenly the hairs on your neck and arms suddenly stand to attention. Worldy, poetic and meaningful, I am already hungering for the next album.

Scottish rockers Idlewild have done woders with their last few albums (see what others bought) and this is no different. Challenging and yet accessable, this music is a melange of traditional celtic essence, thrash rock and poetry.

I honestly feel sorry for people who don't like this music. This is class; this is real and this i s more than your average, McFly, Coldplay, U2 -- or just about anything else on the market.

I cannot rate this highly enough. A supreme experience from masters of everything.

Mr Woomble and the boys, if you read this, keep it going, lads. You're onto a winner.

MORE!

P.S When are you playing Ireland again.

MORE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! I read this was 'mediocre'!!!??, 9 Mar 2007
This review is from: Make Another World (Audio CD)
I had heard some mediocre reviews about Idlewilds new album before it came out and all I can say is that they were clearly listening to a different one from the one I have just bought! There is a little more rock vs Scottish folk going on in some places (particularly 'You And I Are Both Away') which adds to the atmosphere. The guitars seem grittier than usual too! It is not quite '100 Broken Windows' but not far off it. I love it when you get surprised by a band you really like! Stand out tracks are the opener 'In Competition for the First Time', 'A Ghost in the Arcade' and 'Once In Your Life'. Idlewild are a quality product with soul! If you have never heard them before this would be a great start off point! It's worth every single penny you will pay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I can't deny, 5 April 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Make Another World (Audio CD)
Making guitar pop is easy. Making good, complex guitar pop that evolves over the course of five albums... now that's a challenge.

And "Make Another World" shows that Scottish rockers Idlewild are still up to that challenge, wound with tight melodies and spiked with steel-edged riffs. It's a nice mingling of their prior albums' styles, with most of the strong points and few of the flaws.

It opens with a ringing, cycling electric riff, joined in by some rapid-fire drums and more riffs and basslines. Roddy Woomble sings rather sadly through the fast-paced rocker: "I know my name but I can't deny/I talk in silence like I'm used to/Graduation fits the worst time I could use/Confidence for the first time!"

The album zooms through a series of uptempo guitar-based rockers -- tightly-wound electric-guitar pop, rapid skittering rockers, and smashing hard-rock that just creeps over the line of catchiness. But they have a few slower songs as well -- ballads played with electric guitar, some slow-burning rockers that build up on a bed of roiling riffs, and more.

"Make Another World" seems to be striking a balance between their last two albums, one of which was hard-driving rock, and one which was mellow and melodic. So Idlewild gets the best of both worlds, creating rapid rock tunes and sprinkling them with melodic moments and some midtempo pop. If there's anything to complain about, it's that "If I Take You Home" seems too simplistic for the rest of the album.

But most of the time, their instrumentation is astoundingly good -- lots of ringing riffs and steely basslines, which are melded together into flexible, muscular melodies. Even when they play softer pop tunes like the title track, the instrumentation is smooth and strong. And they throw in a few scraping chords here and there, smashing drums and a little ripple of keyboard organ here and there.

And Woomble's slightly rough voice fits the music quite well, especially since his vocals can rise above the loudest rocker. And the songs he sings are nicely polished as well, poignant and a bit poetic: "And I curse the sun/As the moon outdarkens the sky/Your heart is beating in your palm... And if my brothers, and my sisters

Are in the air where the moonlight twists/I'll board this ship/But only a ship that sails to no destination..."

Idlewild stick to their strengths in "Make Another World," fusing their solid hard-rock with the more melodic edge of their previous album. Definitely a worthy album for this Scotrock band, and definitely worth hearing more of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Another World - Best Idlewild album since 100 Broken Windows, 5 Mar 2007
By 
Brian Lelas "laerfan" (Chapelizod, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make Another World (Audio CD)
Idlewild return with a fresh and energetic new sound that is reminisent of a cleaner sounding "Hope Is Important" mixed with the more heavily daring tracks from "The Remote Part."

Album opener "In Competition For The Worst Time" brings the band back to your speakers with a cherished pace and sound that fans of older Idlewild will adore. It's also a trendsetter for nearly the whole album, with the immediate following track, "Everything (As it Moves)" even more jump-worthy and bound to be a live classic.

Roddy Woomble's completely unmistakable vocals are still as mature with such great presence as ever, even more so than his recent solo record, "My Secret Is My Silence." Idlewild fans may or may not be pleased to hear that this album sounds nothing like the solo project, which is probably one of the resulting factors in Woomble's need to pursue his quieter songwriting spirit.

"Make Another World" is a return to genius for Scotland's best band. Singles "If It Takes You Home" and the infectiously catchy "No Emotion" are stunning grabs but it's the entire album that keeps you listening, never skipping a song. Songs like "Future Works" and "Once In Your Life" instantly seem like experimental tracks but they are so fitting and a mark of absolute clarity from a band that have been fighting with their sound since "Warnings / Promises" received mixed reviews. Both of the above mentioned tracks are rare gems in music, brave and different, yet extremely familiar and in tune with what Idlewild do best.

The album's greatest moment is in "Everything (As It Moves)" which gets my vote as the best rock song of the last two years and hopefully the next single.

Simply put, "Make Another World" is Idlewild back at their best. It's a close contender for their best album yet, perhaps just behind "100 Broken Windows" but only ever so slightly, and it is bound to get better with age. A wonderful album, released the same day as the eagerly anticipated Arcade Fire album "Neon Bible" but twice as good and ensuring that the Canadians don't grace the CD player for a long time yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a return to form, as they'd never "lost" it in the first place..., 16 Mar 2007
By 
Ben (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Make Another World (Audio CD)
Now 5 albums old, Idlewild are still unfashionable to a music press long since passed the point of attempting cartwheels upon the release of their albums. Added to which, the band themselves have happily slipped off a 'major' label to the "yes, our audience is more selective" home of Sequel.

Still, listening to "Make Another World" you get the sense that these issues don't trouble the band. Infact, rather than trying to consciously move in a new direction, or revert back to their earlier punkish roots, the band have instead cut another melodic, well crafted album that plays to their strengths and sits comfortably with the rest of their canon.

However, as opener "In Competition For The Worst Time" proves rather pointedly, on this album the band's spirit is clearly a bit more energised. The guitars are frequently notched up to create a sound and perspective they've been edging away from in recent releases. To underline that things are now more focused the record finishes at a snappy 35 minutes. It's a record with a dynamic built much like a live set, and so not a moment feels wasted. Songs range from thrashy noise-pop of "If It Takes You Home", to the slightly New Order-ish current single "No Emotion".

That Idlewild have never had mainstream success is not an issue, as they don't appear to have courted it either. It's hard to assess whether "Make Another World" will win them many new fans, but it's a great record and so ensures that Idlewild deserve not to lose any old ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soft vocals of late/Loud guitars of old, 22 Mar 2007
This review is from: Make Another World (Audio CD)
I must admit that when I bought this album I approached it with a mix of great anticipation as well as caution....a lot of follow-up albums of recent bands seem to be such a disappointment and I thought Warnings/Promises was a bit hit and miss (although 'Love Steals Us From Loneliness' gives me goosebumps!).It didn't disappoint.....

The whole album has pace!The opening track 'In Competition For The Worst Time' could be on any of the earlier albums with its thundering drums and slightly distorted vocals, as could 'Everything (As It Moves) with its blinding angular lyrics and thrashy guitars and drums.'No Emotion' with its dancey hook and catchy chorus is an absolute classic-(it's moshpit heaven live!)How could this single not have been in the top 10?!!

The pleasant (even mature) vocals Roddy has of late are still correct and present (vs the youthful yelps/shouts of old-still miss a bit of this though!) but the crunchy guitars and pounding drums are welcome back, particularly heard on the superb 'A Ghost In The Arcade'(with its furious riff) and 'If It Takes You Home'.'Future Works' with its jangly guitars are complimented by the driven closer 'Finished It Remains'.I especially like the way that I had to increase the volume of the start of 'You and I Are Both Away' only to be blown away by a gust of guitars and drums!!I still listen to this song the same way!

Idlewild's first 3 albums (including 'Captain'), particularly '100 Broken Windows' are among my all-time favourites and would be difficult to top. I'm fairly confident this one will have the longevity of others.

I cannot believe that this band, with this album and staggering back-catalogue, always lyrically surreal and absolutely blinding live, are so under-rated and are now kept off the music radar, not helped by Sequel's abysmal promotional duties. It's sacrilege, I tell thee! Buy this album!!Buy the old ones!! Your life will be better for it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In competition for the worst first line I could use..., 8 April 2007
By 
C. Cook "Monkey-man" (Where in the world am I? HEAVEN!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make Another World (Audio CD)
Idlewilds first two albums, '100 Broken Windows' and 'Hope Is Important' were original, post-modern Scottish punk-rock, with glaring riffs and shouting lyrics. Yet both had an undercurrent of alternative, mellow music; with a lead singer who certainly had something to say that was worth hearing. There next two studio albums, 'The Remote Part' and 'Warnings/Promises' were masterpieces of Indie-Rock, bringing out the subtleties of their early work and leaving a lot of their punk roots behind them. This fantastic progression created beautiful songs with lyrics you couldn't refuse to feel for. Then last year, when the band were taking a year out, the lead singer, the brilliantly named Roddy Woomble, released a wonderful solo album with colaborations from some of the worlds leading folk singer-songwriters. His ability to adapt to new styles with his meaningful lyrics has proved triumphant in 'Make Another World', Idlewilds fifth studio album.

The album opens with a rocky, stadium-suited guitar and the blaze of screaming lyrics. The first three, catchy and memorable tracks suffice to show Idlewild can still get you nodding your head in no time; but by the fourth, title-track, the album shifts and we hear some of the beautiful sounds and lyrics that made the later albums so memorable, but with this punky echo in between. Then straight away, you're plunged back to head-banging, arms-waving rock music that screams with the sound of a live band. On first listen, the album doesn't appear to have any of the thumping classics glaring out from the crowd, that were familiar on previous albums. But this record merely takes a few listens, soon your ears are graced with wondorous sounds and like all good albums, it gets better and you find new things the more you listen to it.

Although, the band appears to have slightly reverted to their old rocking, punky sound, there is certainly something to be heard in this epic album. Special attention has to be paid to the brilliant, eclectic sounds of 'A Ghost In The Arcade' that just can't be listened to quietly and the beautiful title-track, 'Make Another World'. And, as in the past, Idlewild hasn't lost their excellence of ending albums: Unlike so many other bands, Idlewild have never petered their albums out, always ending with something to say; and 'Make Another World' is no different.

Idlewild have successfuly done as before and kept listeners guessing, with another new spin on their Scottish, punk-rock-folk-indie sound, creating an album that certainly doesn't fail to entertain, pleasing old fans and drawing in new listeners alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give It Time . . . ., 21 Jan 2008
By 
V. Miller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Make Another World (Audio CD)
I must agree with another reviewer on this album, it is Idlewild's best since 100 Broken Windows. At first I didn't think so, I wasn't particularly impressed, but after 2 or 3 listens all the way through, my mind changed completely.

Opener "In Competition For The Worst Time" is probably not the best song on the album to open with, it promises much but doesn't really deliver.

"Everything As It Moves" is a brilliant anthem that really kicks the album off, great lyrics and quite a bouncy chorus.

"No Emotion", the first single has a sort of disco beat to it (the band have said so themselves) with a great lead riff that makes it one of the best songs on the album.

"Make Another World" is another one of the tracks that I'm not really sure of, I like it, but I think there are many more great songs on the album.

"If It Takes You Home" is a beast. With a really ferocious guitar riff that is reminiscent of "A Modern Way Of Letting Go" that jumps out of the speakers. Roddy takes a back seat on this one while the rest of the band thrash this one out, top notch.

"Future Works" is a song that I really can't get on with , lyrically it's brilliant. I just don't like the music to it, sorry.

"You & I Are Both Away" starts off with Roddy singing softly before it thunders into a sing-along anthem. Definitely one of the best.

"A Ghost In The Arcade" is another sing-along song, with an addictive chorus, not one of my favourites but still bloody good.

"Once In Your Life" is quite a moody song really, which isn't a bad thing. To me this song would sound more in line with what they recorded on Warnings/Promises.

"Finished It Remains" is easily my favourite song on the album. The lyrics on this song and Roddy's voice are perfect. Rod also has a great guitar solo thrown in as well.

All in all, I'd say this album is slightly above The Remote Part and not quite as good as 100 Broken Windows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Belter, 7 Dec 2009
This review is from: Make Another World (Audio CD)
I'll keep this short. I have always "liked" Idlewild a lot, but never quite got wildly enthusiastic. UNTIL NOW. This album made me revisit them. THIS album is quite simply one of the best indie rock albums of the last few years. Most importantly for so many albums over the last decade, it bears repeated listening. In fact it seems to have been crafted (yes crafted) as an album like albums used to be built, with a bit of thought. Not a couple of singles with a bunch of fillers. But an ALBUM. No not just a CD. An ALBUM. I'm writing this review having bought the album when it first came out, and I am still listening to it, again and again - in Dec 2009. How often do you say that you do that? Honestly? And at this price you should buy several, cause you might well wear one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make Another World
Make Another World by Idlewild (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews