Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Great Escape (Blu-ray) 50th. Anniversary Edition
Finally released on Blu ray, I was hoping for something good in the transfer department, but felt a slight trepidation concerning some of the reviews already circulating on Amazon regarding the shortcomings of this important films transfer to 1080p. Unfortunately, in my opinion, the other reviews seem to be correct in their observations! The film titles start off looking...
Published 18 months ago by J. A. Bradford

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointed.
I pre-ordered and awaited with great expectation WOW was I disappointed agree with the poor transfer and as for Amazon's description of film being backed up by interesting extras WHAT extras none nothing nada where did they go is this the cheap release is there another better BD version out there?
To say it's a shame is an under-statement this is a classic movie and...
Published 18 months ago by Martyn Down


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Great Escape Blu Ray, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Terence Phillips (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read that the Blu Ray edition was supposed to be restored, however the picture has a lot of grain about it and I can't help but think the transfer could and should have been done far better. When it was shown on SKY HD it looked far better than this Blu Ray. I know the film was made a long time ago but the whole point of Blu Ray is a much improved sharper picture. Personally I would buy the dvd and not this poor quality offering, the showing on Sky HD was much better than this so why the Blu Ray is worse I don't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL BLU RAY TRANSFER,SAVE YA MONEY, 23 Jun 2013
this blu ray is transfer is awful looks washed out,and the quality differs in different parts of the film,some times quite good then back to awful.this is the best escape film ever made and its been treated like a 3rd rate b film for the 50th anniversary blu ray release.if you have the special edition dvd set just upscale it on your blu ray player,it's not perfect buts its a dam site site better then this rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not much better than the DVD release that's all there is to say about it much the pity as its one of my all time favourite films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, but......, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Movie: 5/5
Sound: 1,5/5
Picture: 1,5/5
Extra's: 3,5/5

For bluray This is not a worthy release. Shame on MGM. This needs to be rereleased like they did with the first Terminator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISSAPOINTED., 9 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: The Odyssey (DVD)
Dissappointed not in the film a classic but the steelbook copy I received let me list these,1)only the film no extras not even the same from the DVD nothing just the film,2)it does not have the same inner picture of Steve McQueen as the inner sleeve now listed,but some obscure picture from the film 3)the quality of picture as times was not as expected for BD no real work has been done to upgrade the film wonder if looking at the difference in price between the pre-order and the price now listed if I ended up with the cheaper edition.
Shame as said the film is a classic and deserved better attention to detail then it has received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best film ever, 29 Feb 2012
i must have watched this film 30 or 40 times, it used to be shown every christmas, and to me it remains as fresh as the first time i ever saw it. And even today I sit there hoping hilts (mcqueen) is going to get that bike over the wire. Mcqueen is of course the one we all remember as the cooler king, but james garner as the scrounger, and that moment when he and donald pleasance almost make it is so poignant, whilst the terrible fate of Big X (attenborough) and the other failed escapees really is heartbreaking. In recent years there has been a lot of focus on the real "great escape" - and i think it fair to say that this wonderful piece of film history is a fitting memorial to the fifty and all those other unsung heroes who paid the ultimate price for carrying out their duty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the most perfect audience picture ever made, 27 Nov 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The Great Escape may be nearly three hours long, but it moves like clockwork and holds its audience completely. There is always something happening, often with much wit and sometimes touching sentiment that avoids mawkishness. There is one remarkably bad piece of construction, following a genuinely moving death scene with McQueen's motorbike jump, but otherwise the film is perfectly constructed. Elmer Bernstein's score is one of his best, and with considerably more range and variety than you remember adds much to the proceedings.

If it seems a bit dubious making an entertainment out of one of the grimmest episodes of WW2 - 50 of the recaptured prisoners of the genuine mass escape from a German prisoner of war camp were murdered - the darker elements are not ignored, but despite being very effectively handled do tend to get swamped by the sheer exuberance of the film. It now seems particularly curious to that the impossible motorbike jump, while still a great moment, seems so much more underplayed and credible than the increasingly spectacular and cartoonish CGi action sequences of modern action films.

The cast are all outstanding. In Steve McQueen's `Cooler King' we can see the origins of Indiana Jones, the hero as eternal loser. Garner's wonderfully resourceful scrounger and his touching friendship with Donald Pleasance's near-blind forger make perhaps an even bigger impression. Bronson too is very appealing, with all the dry humour and warmth that two decades of working with Michael Winner has managed to knock out of him still intact. However, it must be said that Coburn's Aussie arc-scent is enough to make you grateful he hardly said anything in The Magnificent Seven.

The film is just brimming with familiar faces, from the stars to British war movie stalwart Gordon Jackson and the equally omnipresent Karl Otto Alberty ("Your German is very good. I hear also your French. Your hands - UP!"). Don't remember him? He fought in the 'Battle of the Bulge,' planned the 'Battle of Britain' and had a memorable showdown with Clint Eastwood as a tank commander in Kelly's Heroes. Only Sam Kydd is missing. With so much to enjoy and remember, The Great Escape is quite possibly the most perfect audience movie ever made.

The World Cup edition - tying in with the England team's adoption of the film's theme music in their failed 2002/2006 attempts to take the cup - is one of the more bizarre attempts to repackage the film to get you to buy it again . Aside from a couple of football promos, the features are identical to the other 2-disc releases: audio commentary by Steven J. Rubin (whose fine half hour documentary on the original single-disc release hasn't been carried over to this UK edition), James Garner, James Coburn, Donald Pleasance, Jud Taylor, David McCallum, Robert Relyea, Fernando Carrere, Hilly Elkins, Bud Ekins and John Sturges, documentaries A Man Called Jones - The Real Virgil Hilts, The Great Escape - Heroes Underground and 50-minute documentary The Great Escape - The Untold Story with additional interviews (unfortunately lacking a play all option so you have to restart each chapter), trivia track, stills galleries and theatrical trailer. The regular two-disc special edition includes all the extras with the exception of the dispensible World Cup ones while the original single disc issue has a poor transfer and a half hour documentary produced for the laserdisc release that has not been carried over to the other editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film great music great performances, 20 July 2008
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Is it possible to watch The Great escape too many times ?

I have just finished watching it for the umpteenth time and it is as good as ever.

A great cast of British and US actors with a classic and iconic performance by Steve McQueen. Even if you know nothing else about the film you will remember the motorcycle jump of the first border fence by McQueen.

It is easy to forget that it also portrays a war crime by the Germans in murdering 50 of the escapees. They show the machine gun but not the bodies afterwards.

The film is usually portrayed as a war time romp. In Colditz they spend their time organising concerts and escaping in the Great escape they spend their time digging tunnels and escaping.

It is not possible to praise this film too much . It is up there with Zulu , 633 Squadron, the Longest Day.Bridge too Far, Dirty Dozen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Escape - Definitive Edition, 18 April 2009
This review is from: The Great Escape - Definitive Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Subtitles on Disc 1:
Croatian, Czech, Danish, English, English HoH, Finnish, Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Slovenian, Swedish and Turkish

Disc 2 has only English subtitles.

Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
Audio: English Dolby Digital 5.1

-----------
Extras are;

on disc 1:
Audio commentary with cast and crew

on disc 2:
"The Real Virgil Hilts" documentary
"The Great Escape: Heroes Underground" narrated by Burt Reynolds
"The Great Escape: The Untold Story"
Additional interviews
Theatrical trailer
Photo gallery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Video Transfer For A Classic Film, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Poor video treatment for one of the best loved films of all time :(
For such a major catalogue release you would expect some love from a major studio like MGM, but this Blu Ray is a major dissapointment. Sound is crisp and better than every (very little surround sound as you would expect), but the picture is washed out and lacking detail with no evidence of remastering or film restoration.

A Great Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Escape - Definitive Edition [DVD]
The Great Escape - Definitive Edition [DVD] by John Sturges (DVD - 2007)
£4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews