Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars winningA
A run of mill film about motor racing, shot with a superior cast. Paul Newman, Joanne Woodward, Robert Wagner and Richard Thomas are all on good form in this story about two drivers trying to win the Indianapolis 500. Woodward ,Newmans real life wife,plays the women, meets and marries and and nearly loses due to his obssesion the car on the run up to the race. Nothing...
Published on 9 Nov 2011 by Tim Young

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull.
Very, very, very boring and I am a huge motor sport and film fan! I am not surprised this is not a classic!
Published 18 months ago by Jonnie_V8


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars winningA, 9 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning [DVD] (DVD)
A run of mill film about motor racing, shot with a superior cast. Paul Newman, Joanne Woodward, Robert Wagner and Richard Thomas are all on good form in this story about two drivers trying to win the Indianapolis 500. Woodward ,Newmans real life wife,plays the women, meets and marries and and nearly loses due to his obssesion the car on the run up to the race. Nothing special, but a must for Newman fans, and a reasonable watch for motor racing fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Newman the human?, 13 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning [DVD] (DVD)
Good but not great racing film. The car action is very entertaining considering Newman does a lot of his own driving, but the film portrays the human side of life on the racing circuit well.
Not a classic but watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... weekend at Le Mans classic racing so I would love this?, 15 July 2014
By 
Al Smith "smudger" (Peterborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Winning [DVD] (DVD)
just spent weekend at Le Mans classic racing so I would love this???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned but gives the excitement of the racing life, 8 Jan 2014
By 
John Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning [DVD] (DVD)
I found this well worth the view but it's one of those films which once you've seen you won't be racing (excuse the pun) back to see anytime soon.
Having said that, the racing scenes were very exciting and the character performances good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull., 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning [DVD] (DVD)
Very, very, very boring and I am a huge motor sport and film fan! I am not surprised this is not a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film ever, 22 Jan 2005
By 
Where do i start! What an amazing film. Together with my friend we watched this epic, never would our lives be the same, with a great cast including number 2 and charle (ah goooooooo dad) it is the best show ever. Made us laugh for months, great screen play and amazing effects like the realistic car scenes. At the end of the day the day, charlie the boy steals the show with an oscar winning performance. WATCH IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring racing flick, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Winning [DVD] (DVD)
To be frank I bought Winning solely for the racing action. But it was not the great sixties Indy racing film I expected. The racing itself is rather dull and tiredsome. On top of that the plot is foresable and anoying. Certainly not on par with Frankenheimer's classic epic Grand Prix. Go buy that one instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No complaints, 22 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winning [DVD] (DVD)
No complaints at all.

I got what I wanted at a good price and quickly.

Can't think of anything more to write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winning [DVD]
Winning [DVD] by Edith Head (DVD - 2007)
5.00
In stock on August 1, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews