Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars549
4.6 out of 5 stars
Package Quantity: 1|Style Name: Heavy Duty|Change
Price:£8.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2012
Cannot fault this product. Well constructed and easy to fill and keep clean. It has been in use for well over a month now and the smaller birds keep coming to feed from fresh seed. We have had real downpours in our region just lately and yet the seed does not congeal or clog.

The feeding ports are made of a non-rusting metal let into tough see-through perspex - the whole thing copes with vast amounts of 'punishment' from all comers to the feeding station.

I consider this feeder to be excellent value for money when compared with similar products - usually at much higher prices!
0Comment|74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I bought a very similar looking feeder to this one for a similar price but this item is much better quality. Specifically - the materials are sturdier, the product has a better finish, and it even comes with a small allen key which you can use to disassemble the smallest parts in case you wanted to *really* disinfect the whole feeder.

Most importantly, this feeder is designed to fully drain moisture away from the bottom and, unlike my other problem feeder, there is no design fault which allows very small amounts of debris to accumulate in the cracks (with the danger of bacteria forming).

I am extremely pleased with a top quality item and very impressed with the attention to detail that has gone into this product!
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
This feeder has been in place for over a month now, and has taken everything that the weather and acrobatic squirrels could throw at it! I use it with a Gardman Feeder Tray, to help trap the falling seed and this work well (although with the latest rains the little holes on that have got clogged and needed clearing to allow the rain to drain away). Having four feeding holes means that several birds visit at the same time and also means I have to fill this twice a day! So far, it has proved to be squirrel-proof. Plastic-tubed feeders in the past have been known to last for less than a week before squirrels have bitten through the plastic. This seems very robust and I am very pleased with it.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
It is exactly what was described, large, heavy, sturdy and good quality. The birds love it. REMEMBER TO BUY the tray as well, this stops spillage and the birds have something to stand on whilst they feed.
review image
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
These are quite sturdy seed feeders, but they have a serious flaw that has made me only use them with unshelled sunflower seed. The feeding ports are nice and sturdy, but they meet in the middle and it causes a clumping and mould problem with any sort of soft, shelled feed such as sunflower hearts. The ports allow rain in, which is not the problem, it's what happens to the wet seed afterwards.

It's almost impossible to clean them thoroughly, so they're relegated to sunflower seeds still in the shell as that seems to be the only thing that doesn't cause problems.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
Sturdy feeder of a useful size. The four feeding ports reduce avian squabbles! When closing, make sure the hanging loop is pulled fully out before dropping the lid, otherwise the lid will be pulled open again when the feeder is hung.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Previous reviews pointed out that they were well built.
That the lid protected the seed from moisture during the rain.
They were easily taken apart for cleaning.
These reviews were all spot on.
The feeders look good and are value for money make them an excellent purchase.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
I am very pleased with this item. It is as described and arrived very promptly and well packaged. I will definitely use this company again.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
Quite a heavy substantial feeder with thicker plastic tube than some of the other feeders on offer. The metal parts are all polished die cast alloy and this gives added weight when nearly empty, making it more stable in strong winds and therefore hopefully less likely to blow off the hooks I suspend them from. The wire handle attachment is much better than others and does not pop out of its holes when you hinge the lid back like those where the hooked wire ends go straight into the wall of the plastic tube. An allen key is supplied to tighten or remove the perches when dismantling to clean, however, it does not fit the screws holding the two halves of the feeding hole castings together as one reviewer said. As usual with these feeders the manufacturers use Phillips/posidrive headed screws that are so easy to damage, especially if you screw driver is a bit worn. On all this type of feeder, I have extra so some are in use and others are drying off after cleaning, I replaced the screws with the allen socket headed type and nyloc insert nuts, with washers behind the screw head and nut. M4 X 16mm is the size that fits the orginal holes and the 3mm allen key supplied fits the replacement screw head. A 7mm socket or box spanner fits the nut, don't use the original nuts on M4 screws as the thread is a different pitch and won't fit. These small changes make such a difference to ease of maintenance and the self locking nuts stop them coming loose, it is amazing how little birds swinging on the perches can shake them loose otherwise. I did notice a few sharp flashings from the die casting process on inside edges where the birds poke their heads in to reach the seed and it is best to carefully check for and remove these before using, the metal is quite soft so even a sharp knife will do the trick.
For some reason the birds seem prefer these feeders to the other tubular seed feeders we have. They will completely clear two of these by lunchtime whilst the other two make are still a half to two thirds full in the same time period. The same preference happens every day and the sunflower seeds have come out of the same bag.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
OK, I'm not sure if other people are giving this product 5 stars purely because it's so sturdy. It does look like a very good feeder when you first see it, but the feeding holes are quite a bit bigger than on other bird feeders I've had, so I think it's unsuitable for putting sunflower hearts in. The first day I put it in the garden, the sunflower hearts started falling to the ground every time the goldfinches started feeding. By the end of the first day, about a third of the sunflower hearts had fallen straight to the ground and formed a pile under the feeder. This doesn't happen with other bird feeders I've had with smaller holes.
I've rescued my old feeder out of the dustbin and started using it again.
11 comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 15 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)