Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elvis lives
this dvd is called elvis lives and it lives up to the name an amazing dvd for fans young or old which shows that elvis can still play to a packed audience almost 30 years since his death backed up by his original band from 1970 to 1977 this dvd is a must for fans even if your not a fan you probably will be after watching this
Published on 17 Mar 2007 by Scott Mclean

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long Live The King
This is exactly what I expected it to be and what it says on the can. "Elvis Live In Memphis" I saw this show twice when it was touring the U.K. and so much wanted to get it on DVD, and here it is. It brought back many memories and it was so good to see it again. However for me the "show" was spoilt by interposing comments from members of The TCB Band in front of the...
Published on 25 Nov 2012 by Bunny


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elvis lives, 17 Mar 2007
This review is from: Elvis Lives: The 25th Anniversary Concert - 'Live' From Memphis [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
this dvd is called elvis lives and it lives up to the name an amazing dvd for fans young or old which shows that elvis can still play to a packed audience almost 30 years since his death backed up by his original band from 1970 to 1977 this dvd is a must for fans even if your not a fan you probably will be after watching this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Elvis Lives' - The Power and The Majesty, 21 Mar 2007
By 
F. B. Quinn (Caddington, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis Lives: The 25th Anniversary Concert - 'Live' From Memphis [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This DVD recreates much of what the touring 'Elvis - the Concert' was all about. I saw the live show some 14 times and this DVD is a true representation of it minus a few songs. The sound is AWESOME. Turn up the volume and enjoy. Elvis performs on the big screen while his original musicians and singers supply the 'live' backing. It is fascinating to watch the musicians playing then and now.

Nobody comes close to Elvis on stage in his early 70's prime and his charisma literally bounces off the screen. You will quickly get caught up in it and forget you are not at a real Elvis concert.

Elvis was a one-off performer and this DVD shows why.

The Bonus Section alone is worth the price of the DVD with members of the cast talking about how the show was produced and the man that was Elvis.

Songs range from 'That's Alright Mama', 'Bridge Over Troubled Water' to major blockbusters as 'Suspicious Minds' and 'American Trilogy'. Contemporary songs as 'Just Pretend' and 'Walk A Mile In My Shoes' are also incredible.

Don't hesitate - go out and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long Live The King, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Lives: The 25th Anniversary Concert - 'Live' From Memphis [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is exactly what I expected it to be and what it says on the can. "Elvis Live In Memphis" I saw this show twice when it was touring the U.K. and so much wanted to get it on DVD, and here it is. It brought back many memories and it was so good to see it again. However for me the "show" was spoilt by interposing comments from members of The TCB Band in front of the screen while Elvis was performing.This is more annoying because there is a 38 minute "Bonus" section which has the same TCB Band members discussing the concerts and it is selections from this section that is interposed into the main programme. Fortunately all of the bonus material was not treated this way but because it was on the bonus section I can see no point in putting it into the main section and distracting from the concert material. In spite of this I will watch it again, and again and again...ad infinitum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS PRESLEY - LIVE IN 2002, 8 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Lives: The 25th Anniversary Concert - 'Live' From Memphis [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I had dreamt a thousand times of such an event but this spectacular concert DVD is way beyond any of my Elvis reunion fantasies. It is fabulous. The voice and footage of Elvis magically backed live by the original members of his 1970s band using latest technology. Run this DVD in a good player with quality sound equipment and you will be mesmerised. Play it loud and you will believe you are standing on the same stage.

The band members still look and sound good 30 years on, and very obviously still got it all together. Also on stage are the Imperials, The Sweet Inspirations, the Stamps Quartet, and the Jordanaires. There is of course an obvious physical contrast between them now and the ever youthful Elvis beaming down from the gigantic screen, but this doesn't take anything away from the overall performance. And it seems they enjoy backing Elvis now as much as they did in 1970, 1972, and 1973, which is when most of the performances date from. This is apparent from the moment Elvis 'takes the stage'. From there on it is non-stop excitement. Elvis runs through some of his finest 70s concert material - in 2002 sound. The performances are powerful and sounding brand new. Notable absentees from the stage include John Wilkinson (rhythm guitar), Kathy Westmoreland (backing vocals), and of course the late JD Sumner of the Stamps Quartet.

The choice of songs is excellent, although I would have dropped You Gave Me A Mountain (not suitable for this event) and My Way (I much prefer his later 1977 more dynamic rendition). What about I Just Can't Help Believin' or Blue Suede Shoes from 1970 instead?(stunning versions). But that's only a personal opinion and I'm sure they know best.

The DVD comes complete with a bonus feature - interviews mainly with number one drummer Ronnie Tutt and conductor Joe Guercio, on the concept and complexities of the show. If there is a criticism, it is that they have intrusively placed snippets of these interviews in the middle of a couple of songs to perhaps explain a relevant point. Apart from detracting from the performance, it does become a little testy after the second or third viewing.

I STRONGLY recommend this DVD. For fans and non fans - you must see this. Thanks to the genius who put this show together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Lives!!, 19 Jan 2010
By 
R. Baker "Roxy" (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis Lives: The 25th Anniversary Concert - 'Live' From Memphis [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This dvd is truley unique!!! Basically, it is a real live concert recorded in 2002, featuring the actual Elvis band and his backing singers, who performed with Elvis in the 1970s. Behind the band is a massive screen showing real footage of Elvis performing in the 1970s with footage of the band and backing singers(as they looked back then!!). The band (in the present)plays along in perfect sinc with Elvis' singing and spoken voice in the concerts featured on the screen. This dvd brings 'the king' back to life using new technology.The footage shows Elvis when he started wearing the heavily jewelled white jumpsuits, before he put on all the weight. He looks really good and he is often seen wearing the colourful Hawian flowers round his neck. This is real value for money and you'll want to keep watching it over and over again!!!! An absolute 'must have' for any Elvis fan. There is also footage of the band members (in the present day) talking about the technology behind this creation. Buy it now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Lives, 21 July 2009
This review is from: Elvis Lives: The 25th Anniversary Concert - 'Live' From Memphis [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Saw this DVD on a coach tour in the USA. Had to have it.Superbly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Lives: 25th anniversary concert- 'live' DVD, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Elvis Lives: The 25th Anniversary Concert - 'Live' From Memphis [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD for my parents, who are big Elvis fans, they went to the O2 arena earlier this year to see the concert and they thoroughly enjoyed it, and they said it was as if Elvis was in the building. And they thought it would be great to have a DVD to remind them of thier time at the O2 Concert, even though the DVD was filmed in Memphis the concert is still the same. I would say buy this DVD if you are an Elvis fan and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King Lives, 23 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Lives: The 25th Anniversary Concert - 'Live' From Memphis [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The DVD portrayed what it would have been like if one was able to attend a Elvis concert. Extra input by Band and Elvis Group backing singers made this a most enjoyable and exciting DVD to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Lives, 13 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Lives: The 25th Anniversary Concert - 'Live' From Memphis [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I love this DVD - I saw the concert in Manchester 2010 and this is very similar, switches between film footage of Elvis to live shots from the anniversary concert in Memphis, just live the 'Elvis in Concert' tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elvis lives the 25 th anniversary concert live, 12 Feb 2010
This review is from: Elvis Lives: The 25th Anniversary Concert - 'Live' From Memphis [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
have a collection of elvis movie films and this dvd added to them
is a good item to have
amazon service to me is second to none k.s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews