Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Learn more Learn More Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars169
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2013
Good dialouges, nice movie all over.

I have searched for this amazing script in my native tounge. If I find it in Swedish I'll get my pupils to perform it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2004
Without a doubt, this is one of my top ten films of all time, mainly because there is so much that can be drawn from.
Zinnemann's adaptaion of the Robert Boltman play was done on a low budget, and whilst it takes artistic license slightly further, the film remains a historical masterpiece. Paul Schofield as More is magnificent, combining a stoical adherence to truth on the one hand, with a dry wit on the other, and this is an accuracy of depiction that could not have been drawn from the words of the script. Robert Shaw as Henry is also fantastic, showing the viewer both the very personal side of the monarch, when he is disappointed at More's non-attendence at the wedding to Anne Boleyn; and the aggression of a lion as he shouts (in full hearing of all party guests) - "I ask you, do they take me for a simpleton?" The swift change from an amiable friend to a dominating absolute monarch is brilliantly played by Shaw, and though it is a marked contrast to the plain More, the performances are equally great.
In October 2000, John Paul II made Thomas More the Patron of politicians (he was already the unofficial patron of Catholic lawyers in the UK). Both positions indicate what a great man he was. A scholar of great learning, a man of letters, a liberal in an autocratic age. His character was perhaps best displayed as his end, in his words to the executioner - "Pluck up thy spirits, man, and be not afraid to do thine office; my neck is very short; take heed therefore thou strike not awry, for saving of thine honesty." The combination of humor and greatness, even in the face of death, povide a role model for all.
If you enjoy the film, read the play and 'The Life of Sir Thomas More' by William Roper, his nephew. Although it bears relation to a specific incident, this popular poem of the time is a fitting epitaph for this great man -
When More some time had Chancellor been
No more suits did remain.
The like will never more be seen,
Till More be there again.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
This is a great film, if you enjoy anything historical then this is the film for you. Now the cold winter nights are drawing this is truly a winter warmer
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2008
"A Man For All Seasons" is one of my all time favourite films. It is absolutely faultless and could not possibly be bettered. I have seen it so many times I think I know the whole script by heart! Every actor and actress are perfect for their part.I could mention them all but then I would go on for ages so I will confine myself to just a few comments. There will never be a better cameo performance on screen of Henry VIII to match that of Robert Shaw; Wendy Hillier's leavetaking of her husband in the Tower brings tears to the eyes every time; Orson Welles is just awesome as Cardinal Wolsey; and Paul Scofield, of course, is matchless in every way. "Utopia" by the way IS mentioned - in the very first scene!
Buy this and watch again and again - there is something to reward you every time.
Ray Taylor - Barnsley
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2007
Robert Shaw, Paul Schofield, Orson Welles, Wendy Hiller, Leo McKern, John Hurt, Susannah York etc., etc.
You just are never, never going to get a cast line up like that ever again. At the time, the best actors in the Anglo world. Americans, Canadians, Irish, Australians and Brits at their best.
A story of one man's conscience and the consequences of going against his one time friend, Henry VIII.
A must have movie.
Buy and enjoy.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2007
Firstly, I agree with the view that this portrayal of Thomas More is (I expect) wildy idealised. Bolt was obviously in awe of this man, and essentially, on the matter of his political intransigence in this one very major matter, (made into a famous martyrdom by those masters of P.R. the Catholic Church), who can blame him for admiring such integrity and courage? He has written his part beautifully: Here is a man that the viewer knows after five minutes, will not be leaving his principles for one second, even if it is the most powerful king in England's history he is at risk of upsetting. The religion versus secular rule problem is put across with great clarity, and it actually IS a very good history lesson of the facts as they happened (idealised view of More or not). Dialogue is very finely written by a real writer-no Hollywoodese here-this is fine stuff. Well casted and acted. Scholfield is a sensation, and Charlton Heston must have had very mixed emotions when watching this film-He went out of his way to persuade directors to give him the part, but to no avail. The British casting director obviously knew of Scholfield's ability and stuck with his own judgment, in Thomas More style.

Production values are very strong, does not look like a small budget to me, the period details in every respect are beautifully portrayed with real English pride. The pomp and ceremony when Henry's around is almost satirical, as Bolt aims to show up this man's immense vainglory. The scene on his barge embarking at More's Chelsea home shows how everyone apart from More is petrified of his mighty and irascible nature. The film is a treat for the senses, as you are privvy to such splendid sights and sounds. The camera work is exemplary and knows exactly how to make it all look very regal indeed. The opening holding shots of the griffin gargoyles for instance, perfectly set the very grand tone of this fine film. Deserved its Oscars for creating a very good looking film from a successful playscript.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
A REAL FAVOURITE OF MINE ALSO LOVE DAY OF THE JACKAL BY THE SAME DIRECTOR. WATCHED IT SEVERAL TIMES SINCE DELIVERY
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
This dramatisation of the events leading up to Henry V111's decision to break away from the Church of Rome is excellent. Well made with a superb cast, it is an enthralling depiction of these turbulent times. Stand outs are Robert Shaw as Henry in his young dashing, tempestous stage of his reign. Shaw is arrogant and friendly, boisterous and kind all in the space of 2 minutes! A very scary king! John Hurt as the ambitous Richard Rich is creepy yet vulnerable and Paul Schofiels is superb as Thomas More. Like many films on More they tend to downplay or ignore his fanatical side wherein he was responsible for multiple burnings of those he regarded as heretics. A man of strong convictions, true but quite willing to kill others who disagreed with him but willing to face death himself for those convictions. This aspect is skimmed over and More is presented as somewhat more saintly than he actually was. All in all a magnificent film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
I loved this film one of my favourites and enjoyed watching it good actors and acting in it tyvm -
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2007
This is one of my favourite films. As close to perfect as possible. Sir Thomas More is basically everybody but whereas we struggle with issues like shall i have peas or beans, he has to wrestle with his king, his country, his family, his beliefs, his philosphy, his eternal life of heaven or hell...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)