Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ultra-Gory Second Sequel to Saw
This is the second sequel in the highly successful Saw horror movie franchise. You don't need to have watched the first two Saw flicks to enjoy and understand the story in this one. You should be forewarned though, that you do need a strong stomach to cope with several of the scenes in this film. The first Saw was moderately gory, Saw 2 was slightly more gruesome, and Saw...
Published 2 months ago by Bill

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars saw series should come to an end
Oh dear like everything in Hollywood once they make a good movie they have to stretch it to almost breaking point. The original saw was highly imaginitive, but now the deaths and gore are going over the top. Its sad in this day and age how hollywood takes delight in ever more excessive ways to mutilate the human body. Who gave Jigsaw the moral highground to sit in...
Published on 7 Mar. 2007 by stephen


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ultra-Gory Second Sequel to Saw, 15 May 2015
By 
Bill (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This is the second sequel in the highly successful Saw horror movie franchise. You don't need to have watched the first two Saw flicks to enjoy and understand the story in this one. You should be forewarned though, that you do need a strong stomach to cope with several of the scenes in this film. The first Saw was moderately gory, Saw 2 was slightly more gruesome, and Saw 3 is even nastier.
Jigsaw is a fifty-something masked serial-killer, with a terminal brain tumour. His modus operandi is to trap victims, and then compel them to take part in the most horrendous tests of physical and mental endurance, if they wish to avoid death. Jigsaw has a new apprentice, Amanda, a thirty-something drug addict turned killer, who helps him to engineer and action his macabre and Machiavellian schemes. Jigsaw skilfully creates his own Dante's Inferno for his unfortunate subjects, and he knows absolutely no bounds when it comes to the torture he's willing to inflict upon them.
Jigsaw and his accomplice snatch a doctor, a very pretty thirty-something lady named Lynn Denholm, and they force her to give him the emergency medical treatment he needs to prolong his life.
Jigsaw also has a male captive, a forty-something chap named Jeff, who has to survive a series of very grim moral tests. If he passes the tests, he gets the chance to come face to face with the man who killed his young son Dylan. What follows then is the intertwined struggle of Dr Denholm and Jeff to outwit Jigsaw's perverse and sadistic game playing...
This is a decent horror flick, not on a par with the excellent original Saw, but more or less equal to Saw 2. As the Saw franchise progressed, it was clear that each group of movie makers wanted to up the ante with the torture porn and sadism, and although they largely achieved this, the increase in gross out scenes didn't necessarily make each later film scarier than its predecessors. There's a notable scene in this film reminiscent of the famous test of endurance in A Man Called Horse (Richard Harris), only far more graphic, and although it's certainly stomach turning, it's still not edge of the seat stuff or truly scary. This is also the first Saw movie with full frontal female nudity, there were no sexually explicit scenes in the first two flicks.
As with the vast majority of horror films, this movie's Achilles Heel is a lack of character development, to such an extent that you don't care too much about the individuals, which makes their chilling experiences far less involving. If the victims were more sympathetic, engaging and well drawn characters, it would make their grim ordeals a lot harder for the viewer to bear.
In any event, this is a decent if uninspired 3.5 star horror tale, always pacy and watchable, but lacking excellence in any particular aspect.
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Games Have Just Begun, 23 Oct. 2007
By 
Jake Cochrane (Harrold, Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
"Saw III" is the grizzliest thriller since "Hellraiser." It offers a lot: tension, gore, suspense, fantastic cinematography, and a fitting soundtrack. Fans of the previous "Saw" movies will surely not be disapointed.

I think the third installment of "Saw" certainly strikes out as the most gory. It is not a "scary" movie, but it is certainly a "gory" movie. Normally, I rebel against movies like these (gore-filled bloodbaths), but I think "Saw" offers a much more deeper and meaningful story then, say "Hostel Part II".

The Jigsaw Killer is on his death bed. Him and his apprentice, Amanda, must play the final game before he reaches death. The story leads on from "Saw II", so I think viewers of "Saw III" should watch the second movie first (unless you're going to see it plainly for the gore). He has recaptured Jeff (Angus Macfadyen) and has a brutal test ahead of him in order to save his young daughter's life, and her sanity.

The Traps in "Saw III" are fairly stomach-churning (one of them certainly stands out), much more than the previous "Saw" movies. I know a lot of movie-viewers may want to know about the Traps before they view the movie, but for that, I would recommend the IMDB. I would not recommend this for the light-hearted. It is a full-on gore-fest.

For those who enjoy horror movies, I would recommend "Saw III" and any of the other "Saw" movies. The suspense is brilliant, and there is much more of Jigsaw's well-loved Puppet killer. Fans may also like to know that "Saw IV" is now finished, and that the creators have now pronounced a "Saw V" and "Saw VI". Oh, will the games ever end?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars saw series should come to an end, 7 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Oh dear like everything in Hollywood once they make a good movie they have to stretch it to almost breaking point. The original saw was highly imaginitive, but now the deaths and gore are going over the top. Its sad in this day and age how hollywood takes delight in ever more excessive ways to mutilate the human body. Who gave Jigsaw the moral highground to sit in judgement on peoples lives let alone put them in traps with his freaky assistant. no more saw please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 14 People left the cinema.....does that tell you enough?, 25 Dec. 2006
By 
A. J. Melville "AL" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Picking up from where Saw II leaves you hanging, the film breaks straight into the action, restoring the terror from the previous two films almost instantly. To inform you of what happens could possibly ruin the film for you, so suffice to say that when I was in the cinema, 14 people had to leave (including me) and one woman fainted from the extremely disturbing graphic nature of the film.

No other film I have seen quite comes close to the gruesome and gruelling nature of Saw III. It's so graphic, and so involving that it is actually difficult to keep your eyes on the screen during the more stomach-lurching scenes. I'm sure that the directors filmed it in a particular way to create a slight feeling of nausea.

On the whole, I heartily reccomend this film, indeed all three of them to fans of gruesome grizzly thrillers and horror. GO BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars See Saw, 8 Jan. 2007
By 
Mark Jardine "markjjardine" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, it must be said that you do need to see the first two films before seeing this, there are a lot of references to the first two films in this one.

Whilst this film is not about to win any awards, it is a great film. By no means is it the best of the three, but is just as enjoyable as it's predecessors. Not for people of a nervous disposition, but I have to say I'm not sure what all the hype about people passing out was all about. Maybe that doesn't say good things about me!!!!

I would whole-heartedly recommend this film to anyone who likes a bit of gore, there is plenty of blood and guts to be had, and I love the way that these guys keep coming up with new and inventive ways to kill people off!

What does concern me is the planned release of the fourth installment this halloween, when they so neatly tied up all the loose ends in this one. A fourth film seems pointless, I will however still be paying to see it when it is released!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Running out of novelty value?, 11 Jun. 2009
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absorbing and entertaining film that sadly lacks an essential ingredient - the willing suspension of disbelief. Here we find the architect of the two earlier SAW films a virtual cripple, laid up and dying - and yet somehow he has managed to turn an abandoned slaughterhouse into a bewildering deathtrap. Makes rivetting viewing but if you think too deeply about the logistics, they just don't pan out. But then why let common sense spoil a good idea?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars gore and then bits of bore!, 25 Sept. 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Appearing less than a year after the fine saw 2,saw 3 is somewhat rushed movie in my opinion,saw 4 is out in october,so another racing match then.
Regardless this extreme edition of the movie,is just that,extreme,a real lack of storyline is covered up with more gore than one can point a stick at.
The violence is extreme,the brain operation scene was very hard to watch,i didnt like it,yet i did if you know what i mean.
The film starts with a new story,a grieving father falling apart for the loss of his son is invited to play jigsaws game,a top doctor,who has lost her way is also brought in to help prolong jigsaws life,a few twists and turns are then forged among all the characters.
The film is a rushed job because alot of flashbacks from the first two films are included,and indeed explanations are given but the scenes seem a bit fleshed out for the wrong reasons,this i feel was a bit pointless.
This is still a good film for what it is,but cant rival the intense and indeed unique charm of the first two films,good and gory but not the king of kings as far as this franchise goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, yes, but really not as good as it could be., 20 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
First: awsome.

Seccond: very good.

Third: well, it's debatable.

The shocks are in need of origionality, along with the direction, acting, story, dialogue etc. Saw 3 has only gained its popularity by being able to shock... and nothing else; if you're the kind of person who only looks for this in a film, then this is deffinately for you. People looking for a great, thought provoking, origional and scary horror like the previous ones might aswell leave this well alone.

Good, but deffinately not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Clever but not as good as the first two!, 13 Oct. 2012
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
The original SAW film was a tense, shocking and very intelligent, with a storyline that never stopped impressing me. Its sequel SAW 2 was even better, with more gore, more action and better acting, but now we've got SAW 3, which is not only far gorier than its predecessors, but quite a bit worse! The storyline is still fine. I liked the semi-twist at the end and thought the dialogue was very realistic and clever. The pacing was good and even and the acting was convincing enough. The gore was shocking! It was disturbing, extreme, sickening and stomach-turning! There is a scene involving mashed up pig guts being poured on somebody and a woman performing a brain operation on a man (you see EVERYTHING!). It was a little dull at times, some parts didn't really make sense and the traps weren't as creative as before. I still enjoyed it enough to give it a 3 stars and I can't wait to watch SAW 4, but it was a bit of a let down compared to the previous films. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAW 3 REVIEW, 4 Nov. 2007
By 
R. Hamer "EQUESTRIAN" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
SUPER GORE AS WAS TO BE EXPECTED INTRESTING PLOT WITH HIS APPRENTICE DISHING OUT SOME PAIN TO THE VICTIMS DESPITE HER OWN SURVIVAL IN THE LAST 2 FILMS ,LEFT YOU IN SUSPENSE AT THE END DOES JIGSAW DIE ? DOES THE DOCTORS HUSBAND GET RESCUED WHO KNOWS WE WILL HAVE TO WAIT AND SEE IN SAW 4 SOON TO BE RELEASED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD]
Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] by Darren Lynn Bousman (DVD - 2007)
£2.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews