Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Games Have Just Begun
"Saw III" is the grizzliest thriller since "Hellraiser." It offers a lot: tension, gore, suspense, fantastic cinematography, and a fitting soundtrack. Fans of the previous "Saw" movies will surely not be disapointed.

I think the third installment of "Saw" certainly strikes out as the most gory. It is not a "scary" movie, but it is certainly a "gory" movie...
Published on 23 Oct 2007 by Jake Cochrane

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, yes, but really not as good as it could be.
First: awsome.

Seccond: very good.

Third: well, it's debatable.

The shocks are in need of origionality, along with the direction, acting, story, dialogue etc. Saw 3 has only gained its popularity by being able to shock... and nothing else; if you're the kind of person who only looks for this in a film, then this is deffinately for you...
Published on 20 Jun 2007 by madaboutmovies


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Games Have Just Begun, 23 Oct 2007
By 
Jake Cochrane (Harrold, Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
"Saw III" is the grizzliest thriller since "Hellraiser." It offers a lot: tension, gore, suspense, fantastic cinematography, and a fitting soundtrack. Fans of the previous "Saw" movies will surely not be disapointed.

I think the third installment of "Saw" certainly strikes out as the most gory. It is not a "scary" movie, but it is certainly a "gory" movie. Normally, I rebel against movies like these (gore-filled bloodbaths), but I think "Saw" offers a much more deeper and meaningful story then, say "Hostel Part II".

The Jigsaw Killer is on his death bed. Him and his apprentice, Amanda, must play the final game before he reaches death. The story leads on from "Saw II", so I think viewers of "Saw III" should watch the second movie first (unless you're going to see it plainly for the gore). He has recaptured Jeff (Angus Macfadyen) and has a brutal test ahead of him in order to save his young daughter's life, and her sanity.

The Traps in "Saw III" are fairly stomach-churning (one of them certainly stands out), much more than the previous "Saw" movies. I know a lot of movie-viewers may want to know about the Traps before they view the movie, but for that, I would recommend the IMDB. I would not recommend this for the light-hearted. It is a full-on gore-fest.

For those who enjoy horror movies, I would recommend "Saw III" and any of the other "Saw" movies. The suspense is brilliant, and there is much more of Jigsaw's well-loved Puppet killer. Fans may also like to know that "Saw IV" is now finished, and that the creators have now pronounced a "Saw V" and "Saw VI". Oh, will the games ever end?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, yes, but really not as good as it could be., 20 Jun 2007
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
First: awsome.

Seccond: very good.

Third: well, it's debatable.

The shocks are in need of origionality, along with the direction, acting, story, dialogue etc. Saw 3 has only gained its popularity by being able to shock... and nothing else; if you're the kind of person who only looks for this in a film, then this is deffinately for you. People looking for a great, thought provoking, origional and scary horror like the previous ones might aswell leave this well alone.

Good, but deffinately not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the lot!, 1 Dec 2007
By 
Love Halloween! "Happy to haunt" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
The gore content was vast! There were squirms in every aisle! It promised there would be blood and delivered in grand style!
Jigsaw is dying, that much we knew, but what we didn't know is that he is literally at deaths door. His apprentice, Amanda, kidnaps a doctor to aide him, shes not ready yet to have him die.
Its all a game, hes testing everyone even as his brain swells and threatens to kill him. There is one chap, hes being groomed to follow in Jigsaws footsteps, his trials go on behind the scenes as he faces various fears from his past. Amanda is unknowingly being tested as Jigsaw gets quiet close to the doctor. The doctor herself is being tested, her very life hangs in the balance and her compliance isn't an option.
The traps are very different from the earlier Saw movies, it seems that escape from the traps won't come at any price...

Its good fun. Not for the feint hearted at all. The last time people were affected on the level was in the 'Exorcist' era.
Truly awesome film that has massive visual impact.
Horror fans will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down..., 21 May 2007
By 
Christian Krabbe "Zero2ninE" (Thisted, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
The movie is, in itself OK, but there are too many layers of subplots. You never get the big picture (beyond that Jiggsaw's calling the shots), no good and clear introduction of the "players". I am curious, people said it was SO gross they literally spewed, I'd like to know exactly at what time index this occured, I were nowhere near puking. The closest I came was motionsickness due to the editing, lighting and confusing plot. Maybe if the movie hadf been 40 minutes longer and more thorough in it's presentation of the characters, I could give it four stars, but as it is, I feel pretty generous with the three I gave it.

I can only hope the next Saw movie changes my mind (it should be something of a continuation of this movie). When all is said and done, I can recommend you watch this, if you are a die hard fan of the series like I am. I can only hope you will find it better than I did... and yes nothing can get in the way of me buying the fourth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars omg some ppl have no taste!, 20 July 2007
By 
D. Gordon "Opinionated_ladee" (Hampshire, South eng) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I do not get the people who dont like this film i mean its a hell of a lot more gore if u ask me im a girl and i didnt even cringe in teh first two saws but was hiding from this one which hello! is wat a horror is all about. Plus it had that emotional family connnection which i felt was a lot more heart felt seeing flash backs of then the 2nd saw and the story was a lot more developed lets explore! the first one the guy had to saw hes foot off and the 2nd ppl had to kill each other to live not exactly much links going on there. but the 3rd is all about if the guy can forgive these people or not. I think its the best saw yet and defintely disagree wiv comments that it is boring or has no depth! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Time for a rethink....., 26 Feb 2007
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
The 3rd in the on going series and believe me they aint gonna stop anytime soon Saw's 4,5,6 are in varying stages of production as we speak but this the third in the series is definitely the worst so far ,and its the longest as well clocking in at nearly 2 hours.

The premise is pretty much the same Jigsaw and his acolyte Amanda have a group of people playing their 'games'this time though there is a thread to the carnage.A doctor is kidnapped to try and save Jigsaw who is on his deathbed the sequence where his skull is drilled open to relieve pressure on his brain is suitably gross and the set pieces are ok but this time there is an underlying nastiness to the proceedings,the other two were pretty good in their genre but this just smacks of someone somewhere saying 'more blood and gore'thinking this will take away from the fact there aint much story.

The ending obviously sets it up for the 4th one due in cinemas in October 2007 and apparently the script is supposed to be very good but this is a take-it-or-leave it type of movie ,if you've seen the others and like horror/splatter movies you will love it but needs a bit of originality to freshen up this franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 14 People left the cinema.....does that tell you enough?, 25 Dec 2006
By 
A. J. Melville "AL" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Picking up from where Saw II leaves you hanging, the film breaks straight into the action, restoring the terror from the previous two films almost instantly. To inform you of what happens could possibly ruin the film for you, so suffice to say that when I was in the cinema, 14 people had to leave (including me) and one woman fainted from the extremely disturbing graphic nature of the film.

No other film I have seen quite comes close to the gruesome and gruelling nature of Saw III. It's so graphic, and so involving that it is actually difficult to keep your eyes on the screen during the more stomach-lurching scenes. I'm sure that the directors filmed it in a particular way to create a slight feeling of nausea.

On the whole, I heartily reccomend this film, indeed all three of them to fans of gruesome grizzly thrillers and horror. GO BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAW 3 IT JUST GETS BETTER AND BETTER...NO REALLY!, 12 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
After two sequels this horror series refuses to die and why should it when each sequel does something that sequels have never really done in all of horror history which is surpass the original...Saw 3 carrys on shortly after the second expanding the story and Jigsaws apprentice, the gore is extreme and gruesome and some scenes make you want to either cry or barf. This is a great film and a great series and who would have thought after two sequels that the twist still surprised well they do and this movie does indeed have twists. Saw 4 is out this October so look out for it as it will no doubt continue Saw 3's cliffhanger and ladies and gents it is a doozie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars saw series should come to an end, 7 Mar 2007
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Oh dear like everything in Hollywood once they make a good movie they have to stretch it to almost breaking point. The original saw was highly imaginitive, but now the deaths and gore are going over the top. Its sad in this day and age how hollywood takes delight in ever more excessive ways to mutilate the human body. Who gave Jigsaw the moral highground to sit in judgement on peoples lives let alone put them in traps with his freaky assistant. no more saw please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars See Saw, 8 Jan 2007
By 
Mark Jardine "markjjardine" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, it must be said that you do need to see the first two films before seeing this, there are a lot of references to the first two films in this one.

Whilst this film is not about to win any awards, it is a great film. By no means is it the best of the three, but is just as enjoyable as it's predecessors. Not for people of a nervous disposition, but I have to say I'm not sure what all the hype about people passing out was all about. Maybe that doesn't say good things about me!!!!

I would whole-heartedly recommend this film to anyone who likes a bit of gore, there is plenty of blood and guts to be had, and I love the way that these guys keep coming up with new and inventive ways to kill people off!

What does concern me is the planned release of the fourth installment this halloween, when they so neatly tied up all the loose ends in this one. A fourth film seems pointless, I will however still be paying to see it when it is released!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD]
Saw 3 (Extreme Edition) [2006] [DVD] by Darren Lynn Bousman (DVD - 2007)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews