Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Hunchback will have something to say about this!"
Oh, where to start...

I'll start by saying that my affection for this glorious classic hasn't waned one jot in the 31 years since its release. The incredibly derivative and cliché laden plot is simple. Evil older brother Voltan, hammed to the maximum by a seemingly enraged Jack Palance, is desperate to know the secret of his father's power. After failing...
Published on 7 Feb. 2011 by Darren

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I am no messenger. But I will give you a message. The message of DEATH!"
Yes, it's time to travel back to the dying days of Lew Grade's ITC Films, an age of darkness, of low-budgets and even lower-tech special effects, of bad acting and even worse writing: a world where clichés run rampant and Hawk the Slayer and his mindsword set the cause of sword-and-sorcery back several years. Shot almost entirely on a single Abbey set in Pinewood...
Published on 20 Nov. 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Hawk The Slayer...magical or naff, 26 Jun. 2013
By 
sam lowry (gtr manchester uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawk The Slayer [1980] [DVD] (DVD)
[[ASIN:B000LXHJMS Hawk The Slayer [1980] [DVD]

As others have already done numerous synopis of the movie, i'll just go to the movie.

I oordered this dvd with some trepidation--this was one of those movies that I detested in the eighties (I preferred the Lucas/Spielberg movies, and arnie as Conan), I like many other reviewers found this movie to be deriative and just generally bad.

In the years since, I havent seen it much--it never appears on TV anymore-.
So I am surprised at how much i have enjoyed Hawk The Slayer-yes it is deriative, some aspects are truly dreadful (Jack Palance) and a leading man whom is a blank (John Terry).
What has surprised me is the cast, surprisingly good for such a z rated picture.

Derrick o'Conner (Lethal Weapon 2), John Terry-Living Daylights,Lost ,Full Metal Jacket, Roy Kinnear-just about everything before his untimely death, Warren Clarke , Dalziel and Pascoe,Clockwork Orange, Top Secret, Annette Crosbie-one foot in the grave. Patrick Mcgee-Clockwork Orange, Barry Lyndon.Cheryl Campbell-Mcvicar, The Shooting Party.

Worth seeing out, purely because of this cast and Terry Marcels directing technique-somewhere between Leone and the Childrens Film unit.

As I said , I genuinely enjoyed-mainly because of its "cheap" feel, and no overkill of CG images (unavailable back in the late seventies/early eighties movie making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why haven't you bought this yet!!!, 7 Aug. 2002
By 
L. Ambrose "Liam Loves Books" (Great Wakering, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawk The Slayer [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"Hawk - The Slayer" - probably the least well known cult films of all time, a horde of cheap by oh so innovative SFX, enthusiastic performances and a plotline to rival any D&D fantasy game. If you love fantasy, even if you don't, this is a must see for all - Be proud to own it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheesetastic epic., 17 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawk The Slayer [DVD] (DVD)
Cheesetastic epic. Lovely to watch this again; one of the first ever "Fantasy" films. Did the soundtrack sound a little bit "Jeff Wayne"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, even great, bad movie., 3 Oct. 2010
By 
Darren O'Connor (Norfolk, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hawk The Slayer [1980] [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone can think of one of those movies that is "so bad it's good" and this movie is the king of that kind. It has very little plot, the cinematography, locations, production values, costumes, etc. can generously be described as "on a budget," the acting is mostly bloody awful (though in fairness, it might simply be that even the most gifted actors couldn't utter some of the lines of this film's dialogue believably), the special effects are about as cheesy as effects ever get, and the musical score is an unholy combination of orchestral music, meets spaghetti western, meets 1970s disco; all of which means this movie should be almost physically painful to watch, but somehow not only is it not, it's actually a blast, especially if you get together and watch it with a group of friends. John Terry turns in a rather wooden, but nonetheless decent performance (and his seriousness plays well against the other actors, who are clearly just having fun while collecting the paycheck) as the hero, who is pitted against his evil older brother, played by a Jack Palance 25 years his senior, who not only killed their on-screen father, and Hawk's betrothed, but has now kidnapped a group of nuns and is holding them for ransom (are there no depths to which he will not sink!). Hawk is aided by a blind witch who helps him assemble a band of comrades consisting of a one-handed man (who shoots a magic, self-cocking, repeating crossbow that has a rate of fire nearly that of a machine gun), a giant (who is really just a rather tall bald guy), a dwarf (who is really just a rather short guy with a bullwhip and gross eating habits), and an elf (whose acting is so phenomenally stiff and mechanical I suspect him of actually being a robot specially constructed for the film).

No need to spoil the, uh... plot, for any interested viewers who may read this. Suffice it to say that the movie really is every bit as bad as it sounds from reading this... and I almost guarantee you will enjoy it. How this manages to be the case, I can't explain. Other movies have bad plots, bad dialogue, bad acting, bad music, bad effects, etc., and are simply awful movies. One watches them and wishes one could get that two hours of one's life back. This movie is somehow different, and manages to be fun despite (and perhaps even because of) its numerous flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent picture and sound quality, 6 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent picture and sound quality,
i have owned hawk, before on dvd , but this is one of the films i wanted on blue ray and it doesnt
disappoint, the sound track complements the film with its disco ish tracks, great film but i feel
poor old jack doesnt give 100% , but never mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A guaranteed good time for a so bad it's good movie night!!!, 31 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Hawk The Slayer [DVD] (DVD)
Are you a lover of so bad its good cinema?
Then look no further than Hawk the Slayer!!!
Marvel at lead actor John Terry (not the footballer thankfully) who plays the character of Hawk a man with only two facial expressions :-)
See Jack Palance ham it up like never before as the evil villain Voltan!!!
Need more convincing?
How about an Elf bowman who speaks and acts like a robot?
A Giant and a Dwarf played by the tallest and shortest actors that the casting directors could find on short notice?
And the final icing on the cake...
Death by silly string!!!
You will find these along with hilarious effects and dialogue of the highest caliber in this awesome sword and sorcery crapfest :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Naff Movie Ever, 10 April 2006
By 
Ms. G. L. Eggle "LibraSnake" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hawk The Slayer [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this film from when I was a kid. IT IS GENIUS!!!!!
The all time great Bernard Breslaw as the giant/barbarian and the perpetually evil Jack Palance as the evil VOLTAN, Hawk's older brother... with a moody elf called CROW. There is even a scene where the magic special effect is silly string. Can you really ask for more from an early 80s sci-fi film? There is the standard witty banter between characters and the evil is the most evil of evil.
This film is a must for those who grew up in the 80s and those who need to know what little we had to get us through.
I also recommend KRULL, FLASH GORDON & LABYRINTH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's something that needs to be said here..., 23 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Hawk The Slayer [DVD] (DVD)
This is 'The Good, the Bad and the Ugly' in English Fantasy (watch the fight scenes!). Ok, so the acting's not brilliant, the lead actor is as wooden as a gatepost and has a flat american accent - but, having said that, I always found this to be a very atmospheric movie. A stroke of genius, shooting it all in a forest - saves on sets and yet manages to allow a feeling of constant olde-wurlde at the same time.
Plusses; Bernard Bresslaw of Carry on Fame (also in Krull) gives a great performance as the Giant; the Dwarf I find a much more engaging character than John Rhys-Jones's predictably gruff and hunourless dwarf in Bored of the Rings; Jack Palance (Attila the Hun) is a suitably vile and evil villain; and the little Cameos where Hawk recruits his followers, although rather 'Magnificent Seven'-like, are brilliant. 5/10 for acting, 9/10 for soundtrack (even TG,TB and TU's trademark coyote howl is included in the music!), 10/10 for atmosphere, 6/10 for laughs. Definitely worth it, and if you're into the genre, a MUST. Beats pretentious Krull anyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to see Jack Palance in action - a great ..., 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawk The Slayer [1980] [DVD] (DVD)
Innocent and unpretentious early 80s fantasy adventure. Though a bit cheesy and a bit corny in places it is done with real conviction which makes this film extremely endearing. As long as you recognize it for what it is which is an early 80s family fantasy adventure then it is well worth a watch over an Easter weekend or the Christmas period/holidays. Nice to see Jack Palance in action - a great baddy. Like a number of other 80s fantasy adventure films it is easy to see why this film has a cult following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No! Not the Silly String! Anything but that! Aaaargh!, 31 Dec. 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hawk The Slayer [1980] [DVD] (DVD)
Where do I start? The acting is either wooden or over-the-top, the plot is naff, the effects are reminiscent of when Doctor Who hit it's lowest ebb.

But the film is saved by a funky soundtrack!

Watch with amazement how John Terry plays Hawk without ever changing his facial expression, even when sword fighting! See the giant who's slightly taller than the average, and the dwarf who's just slightly shorter than most! Behold the elf who can master fast-motion, and the mystical woman who can kill using silly string - one can only imagine what she might do if she had some party poppers, and she isn't allowed near the crackers at Christmas in case she wipes out a continent.

The most surprising performance in the film is from Bernard Bresslaw, well known for the Carry On films with their almost cartoon-like over acting, he gave a natural (and to be honest, the best) portrayal.

Like I say though, given all the poor aspects to this film, it never feels as though it takes itself too seriously. This means you can laugh at the film and still enjoy it whilst the orchestral/synth soundtrack has you humming along.

This film should be crap - but it's actually not that bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hawk The Slayer [1980] [DVD]
Hawk The Slayer [1980] [DVD] by Terry Marcel (DVD - 2007)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews