Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sandwich Man, 28 April 2009
By 
Mr. R. Linkiewicz "R. Linkiewicz" (Dolans Bay, NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sandwich Man [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
The Sandwich Man is one of those gems which capture the spirit of London in the Sixties as I remember it. Ex-Goon Michael Bentine is at his whimsical best along with a 'Who's Who' of British film of the time, from a wonderfully typical cameo from Norman Wisdom to a terrifically proper Scoutmaster played by Terry Thomas. A great film, reminding us what humour was like before political correctness got in the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sandwich Man, 20 July 2009
This review is from: The Sandwich Man [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a subtle comedy based on London street life of the 60's.
Follow the excellent Michael Bentine as he walks round the town advertising his wares watching on as accidents and mishaps occur around him. This film is well worked and not overly contrived with many faces from the time popping up in cameo performances.
Well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much missed Michael Bentine - and others, 2 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sandwich Man (1966) (DVD)
This is a film composed mainly of incidents and characters (fans of British Comedy will remember similar films like Eric Sykes' "The Plank" and "Rhubarb Rhubarb" (the original one with Harry Secombe co-starring) as gentle, enjoyable and FUNNY. This film is piloted along by Michael Bentine, but there are enough familiar (and sadly late) comedy stars to keep you spotting familiar faces all through. This film is under-rated, it never attracted the "attention" of critics - but is to be thoroughly recommended to everyone who wants to enjoy a comedy film that is quietly and simply funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and light-hearted, 30 July 2010
By 
Filmbuff "filmbuff1382" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sandwich Man [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
A more charming film one would be at pains to find and a more charming and warm actor than the late Michael Bentine, would also be rare or pretty much impossible to find!

The sandwich man walks around London, chatting to friends and making new friends and acquaintances en-route. His life is simple and friendly; his outlook seemingly care-free. His only real concern is his racing pigeon, which he hopes will win the latest race.

It is a nostalgic trip around London, in a time when things were just about to become busier and more cluttered, leaving the simple life far behind. Each of the sandwich man's encounters are small sub-plots, in the overall story and each character he meets has their own story. Michael Bentine's personality shines through as a gentleman, almost unfussed by the events he witnesses, as he makes his way around the city, carrying his sandwich boards. It makes no difference what he is advertising; the focus is upon the man, himself and the events and people he encounters.

I particularly enjoyed where he was being "measured up" for a new Rolls-Royce motor car, only for the salesman to find he wasn't really a potential customer at all, but had merely come to speak to yet another of his many friends. When asked about seating arrangements, it was witty and innocent, when he observed that he wouldn't be able to get his sandwich boards in the rear seat!

The sandwich man appears always to have a smile on his face, even in the face of danger and adversity, but this does not detract from how charming the story is and, to top it all, his pigeon wins the race and a huge party is held.

A lovely story, a wonderful cast, nostalgic views of London and an idea of simplicity and fun. Watch and enjoy. I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Cast, Characters, flimsy story...., 13 May 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sandwich Man [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
If one was reviewing The Sandwich Man by the head alone and not the heart, then 3 stars, possibly just two might be in order, here.

Being mid 40's, I can just recall Michael Bentine on TV when I was very young. These must have been repeats of his BBC shows 'It's a Square World' and whilst he appeared funny and weird, the material was, obviously, above me.

Now, on UK Gold, comes 1966's The Sandwich Man. As others have said, it's a time capsule of swinging London and its rainbow of colourful characters. From Dora Bryan to a real who's-who of every comic actor that even I'd heard of and have enjoyed and been brought up with. They're like an extended family!

Though many hang their heads in shame these days, the playful way that white actors played ethnics is a part of the package and it was FAR more innocent and affectionate than most folk ever realise. It's actually part of our television and film heritage, so enjoy and accept it for what it was THEN.

As my subject line says, the script definitely takes second fiddle, to the point where I wonder if there actually was one, or at least stuck to! And, the gags now have been so overdone and are so familiar through countless Carry On's and similar comic vehicles, that, really, they barely raise a titter these days. However, the idea of Bentine wearing a sandwich board and going round the locations, catching up with his friends is a good one and I have to admit, the Park scenes, toward the end, with the escaped sit-on mower was actually really funny and his final 'escape' will surprise you - it did me!

Still, I had fun watching it, looking out for the stars of yesterday and comparing a largely lost London with our society today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Andrew Parker (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sandwich Man [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
I've loved this movie since I was a kid. It has an all star cast which is light hearted and funny.

It is about a sandwich man (a man who walks the streets wearing a sandwich board with an advertisement on it) who sees a variety of things happen before him. But as the sandwich man's code states, 'see it all happen, but never get involved'.

A really entertaining movie and well worth a look. Even if for the endless views of old London by themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cult Classic For Michael Bentine Fans. Recommended., 22 Jun 2004
By 
Mr. Jack Gray "jackmaster" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although this film wasn't as successful first time round, it has stood the test of time, and regarded by many fans as one of Michael Bentine's finest films. An all-star cast is used to great effect here including Ian Hendry's traffic cop in an amusing situation between Terry-Thomas, and De Sikhers Ram (Leon Thau), and Gogi (Hugh Futcher). There is also great support from Dora Bryan, David Buck, Norman Wisdom, Bernard Cribbins, and of course Suzy Kendall. The star of the film has to be Michael Bentine as Horace Quilby who is very fine form indeed. The Amphicar makes an appearance towards the end, and was recently the subject of the Channel 4 Series, "Salvage Squad". I hope Carlton Visual Entertainment will get round to granting an eventual DVD Release of, "The Sandwich Man", soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars micheal Bentine, 12 Nov 2011
By 
angela (lancashire uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sandwich Man [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
this british film was made in 1966 and was written by Micheal Bentine he also stars in it.In the course of the day walking around London with his sandwich board he encounters lots of eccentric acquaintances.Its a star studded cast and some of the big stars dont play much of a role but nevertheless It is fun spotting them from Diana dors to frank finlay even Warren Mitchell is amongst them.Its funny in places a bit like a comedy variety show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Swinging 60's Romp, 28 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sandwich Man [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful film, if you want cutting edge, politically correct, serious-unfunny humor then look elsewhere, this is a light hearted easily watchable 60's romp, the beauty of this film is not really the story but the slice of swinging 60's London that in retrospect it documents, recommended for those who remember the times when things were a little more... gentle shall we say? and many thanks to Michael Benteine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memory lane, 28 Dec 2009
By 
M. Stanley "stan" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sandwich Man [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
an excellent film which brought memories flooding back from the times my late wife and i shared together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sandwich Man [1966] [DVD]
The Sandwich Man [1966] [DVD] by Robert Hartford-Davis (DVD - 2008)
5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews