Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars South London's hardest still the best
Frank Ross has just got out of nick after doing an eight stretch: although he was caught bang to rights pulling a bullion job, he is set on finding out the filthy grass what shopped him. Over six episodes Ross tracks down his former members of his old firm, while causing plenty of aggravation to the two slags now running his South London manor, and the bent filth who put...
Published on 21 Dec. 2010 by James Hayes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film spoiled
I
I write this review solely because the sound quality is terrible ,I have to turn it up to maximum ,and I still have to strain my ears !This takes all the pleasure away from viewing, There are no subtitles which help in this situation. The picture quality is fine.
Published 18 months ago by Barbara Caddick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars South London's hardest still the best, 21 Dec. 2010
By 
James Hayes "JM Hayes" (Herts., UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out - The Complete Series - Special Edition [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Frank Ross has just got out of nick after doing an eight stretch: although he was caught bang to rights pulling a bullion job, he is set on finding out the filthy grass what shopped him. Over six episodes Ross tracks down his former members of his old firm, while causing plenty of aggravation to the two slags now running his South London manor, and the bent filth who put him away. He also has to deal with a wife and son sent dysfunctional by his prolonged absence at Her Majesty's pleasure...

Possibly Trevor Preston's - and Euston Films' - finest hour outside of 'The Sweeney', the screenplay and acting are taught and assured, and every performance crackles with cred. Watching this for the first time in 30 years, I found I could recall stretches of dialogue as though I'd heard them only last week. My only reservations are 1) having spent the first 29 years living in and around Frank Ross's locale, I'd say much of the slang is more East- than South London; b) the casting of John Junkin as Ross's buddy/heavy - he just doesn't look tasty enough to put down geezers half his age; c) the final episode is a bit compressed, as Preston pulls all the plotlines together, and the action hurtles toward a slightly uneven denoument.

As with a lot of telly of that era, characters carelessly booze and smoke their way through scenes. The 1978 16mm print could have done with a bit of superficial restoration, but generally it holds up well. Superb theme and incidental music by George Fenton at a fairly early stage in his esteemed career.

So if you like brown lambskin car coats, green Ford Granadas, wide-lapelled suits with flaired trouser legs, talk of slags, aggravation, faces round the manor, then forget 'Life On Mars' et al - this is the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out-standing, 18 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out - The Complete Series - Special Edition [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, this series could be seen as dated and yes we've become acclimatized to a faster visual pace in story telling.
But the acting and atmosphere in Out still surpasses most dramas that appear on present day TV.
The character of Frank Ross still resonates with many 40/50+ men in Britain. How many characters from current dramas will have that type of impact? Tony Soprano? Omar from The Wire? Maybe?

Tom Bell owned this role in a way few actors can. He broods with quiet menace throughout. Within the overall plot there are also some astounding performances from the supporting cast. Brian Cox and the spiteful Tony Mcgrah. The actress playing Frank Ross's wife gives one of the best and most moving depictions of fragile mental health that I have seen.

We live in a time when everyone is encouraged to be a critic. We scrutinise everything to find an imperfection. Somehow this ability to find fault, no matter how small, has wrongly become the mark of being discerning. But nothing is perfect. I'm sure you can find spelling and grammatical mistakes in this review. But should that override the content?

I could find a hundred faults in the production values of Out, but I'd rather focus on the fact that it transported me to a world and set of characters I believed in and eagerly followed.
That is a rare achievement for any drama, particularly these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, 6 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out - The Complete Series - Special Edition [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I remember 'Out' when it was first broadcast; it was fabulous then and it's still fabulous now. The acting is uniformly superb and the dialogue is wonderful. There are so many great one-liners and they spat and spewed out with great conviction by the cast. Above all though, this serial has one of the greatest ever TV characters in Frank Ross (as played by the late and greatly lamented Tom Bell). Frank is seething with his desire for revenge on those who put him away for 'seven years of life' and Tom Bell invests him with a pent-up, twitching, barely suppressed rage that is amazing to see. For goodness sake do yourself a favour and buy this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out - The Complete Series - starring Tom Bell - Special Edition [1978] [DVD], 20 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out - The Complete Series - Special Edition [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series the first time around, way back in '78. I was pleased to see it's long awaited release on DVD. Although it's now over 30 years old, the story and acting are still as rivetting. Although to some it may appear dated, the outdoor scenes provide a view of England that sadly is just a distant memory of a safer and happier era. It also shows one of our finest actors, Tom Bell in his prime, who is also now sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out by Trevor Preston, 7 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr. M. Sanders "TX41" (Powys, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out - The Complete Series - Special Edition [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Coming from the Euston Films outfit also responsible for the Sweeney, 'Out' written by Sweeney contributor Trevor Preston assures you of a great piece of 1970's crime TV viewing.

For those of you who watch the Sweeney episodes to, you'll no doubt notice a lot of the acting 'faces' from that series and the films turning up in the episodes of 'out.'

Tom Bell is a magnificent acting lead in this series as Frank Ross, from his shell shocked just out of prison shakiness, he adapts to life on the outside and attending to some very unfinished business - finding out who bubbled him up 8 years ago. Tom Bell plays Ross as a man on the edge, a man who is very angry and wants to get the person who betrayed him and quickly before they get a chance to evade him. But, as Frank Ross starts this journey, there are people who would rather he not start lifting up stones and analysing the creatures that crawl out!

This is really high quality television and a pity that more series like this didn't get made as the actors are real class acts, however, there were a few great series made around or just later than when this came out for instance such as Shoestring, Hazel and later on Bergerac which you should explore.

Despite Britain being on strike and losing its sense of fashion style during the 1970's, there were some very good film and television productions being made to defray the unfortunate volte face that was the flipside of the 70's such as the Austin Allegro car, the kipper tie and three day weeks!

Series like the Sweeney and Out, evolved and broke away from the homely 'Dixon of Dock Green' mould of law enforcement and into the hard and gritty world of crime that came in with 'Get Carter' as the blueprint.

It is interesting to hark back to a pre-internet world where crime detection progress was often slower because much of the work was done manually and the use of computers in crime solving was quite young.

I highly recommend this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `OUT`, CLASSIC SERIES, 1 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out - The Complete Series - Special Edition [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this for sale at £7.99 and I immediately remembered it from when it was originally aired. A very good series with Tom Bell in electrifying form as `Frank Ross`, a London villain just out of prison and out for revenge on whoever grassed him to the police.
If like me you grew up in London in the 70`s, it is a pleasant trip down memory lane, seeing the fashions and the feel of the period, as both are well caught in the programme.
The action scenes do look tame compared to what we are used to today, but are more than made up for in the quality of the writing, characterisation and acting.
Well worth the price, just a shame there aren`t any extras to go with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When I want s*** from you I'll squeeze your head, 16 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: Out - The Complete Series - Special Edition [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Previously available on budget dvd & like Preston's follow up series "Fox", Network have released this memorable serial (not a series) with 2 commentaries by Preston, director Jim Goddard & producer Barry Hanson. No restoration has been done so if you have the older Clearvision release, the commentaries & PDF scripts are the only reasons to upgrade.

It has to be said that the commentaries are somewhat depressing, all 3 men are rather negative & Preston in particular seems to have a chip on his shoulder, still there are a few interesting facts to be heard, such as discovering that Tom Bell could not drive.

As for the serial itself, it showcases Preston's trademark ear for rhyming slang & oneliners brilliantly...the scripts are terrific (if camp) & most of the performances are excellent (though Brian Cox's stwange accent was a mistake, sounding rather silly, his dyed blonde hair also looks ridiculous). Bell whispers & hisses to superb effect, Bryan Marshall looks every inch the bent copper & Brian Croucher is perfectly cast as Frank Ross's friend Chris Cottle. The serial is chock full of truly memorable scenes & dialogue...I must've re watched a dozen times (like "Fox").

Like Preston's other work "Fox", "Out" is overly melodramatic at times & oddly unintelligent in its treatment of mental illness. "Operatic" is how I'd describe the tone at times, though I'm sure the semi humourous style was intentional. The superb music also deserves a mention and Derek O'Connor's typically superb performance makes Brian Cox look like a pantomime villain. Excellently directed by Preston regular Jim Goddard, though he does make a somewhat pretentious remark in the commentary, citing "Un Chien Andalou" very humourously. Interestingly, Jean Pierre Melville's "Le Samourai" is also namechecked, though "Out" has most in common with "Get Carter" (Preston went on to work with "Carter" director Mike Hodges).

Note that the dvd cover pictured is not the cover you will receive, the design has since changed.

Thoroughly recommended to those who enjoy hard boiled London dialogue (not East End, as Preston sets his stories in his native South London...Clapham way) & muscular performances, plus stylish direction. "Out" is exciting, involving, suspenseful & the dialogue is as good as it gets. Ought to be far better known & appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film spoiled, 28 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out - The Complete Series - Special Edition [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I
I write this review solely because the sound quality is terrible ,I have to turn it up to maximum ,and I still have to strain my ears !This takes all the pleasure away from viewing, There are no subtitles which help in this situation. The picture quality is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shows how British TV crime drama should be done, 21 Oct. 2008
By 
I. Young "youngian" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out - The Complete Series - Special Edition [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Frank Ross wants to know who and why he was grassed up; a simple and well worn premise which obscures the depth and quality of Euston Films' first post Sweeney crime drama. Tom Bell's steely portrayal of an obviously highly intelligent South London gangster manages to be menacing and sympathetic. He has a lot on his conscious after his miserable criminal lifestyle drove his wife into an institution and his son into care.

His old partners in crime have had enough and have mostly moved on. The performances don't veer into stereotypes and while deliberately staying clear of the Sweeney's chases and shoot outs, the narrative makes this drama just as exciting. Ross says virtually nothing for the first 15 minutes of episode one but thanks to Bell's outstanding performance you know exactly what he is thinking and feeling.

This is one of Euston Films' finest moments and no-one will accuse writer Trevor Preston of nostalgia on the commentary when he says ITV has lost its dramatic edge for original ideas, taking risks and leaving fine writers to get on with their job. Most people who grew remembering this wonderful era of British crime drama now have to turn to US cable networks like HBO to view modern equivalents.

It is a shame that more care wasn't taken in the presentation of this DVD. The quality of the film and sound could do with a clean-up as well as editing out the advert cues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Bell at his best, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out - The Complete Series - Special Edition [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Did you see the orignal Sweeney series ?
Well this is from the other side of the law.
It is very british indeed,with only british actors
who shine in every scene.
You thought that you had seen every thing when you had seen Law and Order
and Boardwalk Empire.
Well you did not.
See this and I feel sure you will want Sweeney(tv series) on blue ray,to view along side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out - The Complete Series - Special Edition [1978] [DVD]
£11.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews