Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money
I broke my D40 18-55mm VR lens last year in a christmas party. Since then i have been using this lens and i did not had any problem at all. This doesnt come with a VR but still doesnt compromise on the image quality. I have used it for almost 8 months now and am completely satisfied with its output. Highly recommended.
Published on 4 Sep 2010 by Thiru007

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Consider the newer VR version instead
I posted this first as a comment (on someone else's review which said "Avoid the VR version"),
but I'm promoting it to a review so you might see it - the new version is better in many ways !
'VR' is vibration reduction - very useful indoors without using the flash.

£27 extra new, but often great deals 'used' as people upgrade their 'kit lens'...
Published 13 months ago by EricD


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, 4 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G ED II Lens Black (Electronics)
I broke my D40 18-55mm VR lens last year in a christmas party. Since then i have been using this lens and i did not had any problem at all. This doesnt come with a VR but still doesnt compromise on the image quality. I have used it for almost 8 months now and am completely satisfied with its output. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great basic lens!, 30 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. P. A. Coldwell "Big Pete" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G ED II Lens Black (Electronics)
I bought this lens to use with my second camera body. For the price it is an excellent lens and does exactly as promised in the description. Two main advantages of this over other standard zooms are the small size and it's ability to focus quite closely. The image quality is good at most settings and becomes very good in the middle of the zoom range and stopped down a little. As a general purpose lens this is all that is needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Consider the newer VR version instead, 10 Oct 2013
This review is from: Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G ED II Lens Black (Electronics)
I posted this first as a comment (on someone else's review which said "Avoid the VR version"),
but I'm promoting it to a review so you might see it - the new version is better in many ways !
'VR' is vibration reduction - very useful indoors without using the flash.

£27 extra new, but often great deals 'used' as people upgrade their 'kit lens'
Nikkor Lens AFS DX 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR

[...]
"... it can't be denied that with this new VR version of the 18-55mm, Nikon have taken what was already a good lens and made it even better; it can't be overstated how useful VR can be ... when using a camera handheld."

[...]
VR is 60g heavier, ~3mm longer
"VR really works. I get about two stops of improvement"

[...]
Although the non-VR is just ahead on-axis at the wide end and full-open,
the VR beats it for transmission, distortion and aberration (but not vignetting) across the range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy, 8 Dec 2009
By 
J. Brazier "Newby" (Sterrebeek, Brussels) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G ED II Lens Black (Electronics)
I write this review as I bought this item slightly by accident (I wanted the VR version, and accidentally purchased this version). Nonetheless, I received this, and have been very happy with the quality, and do not regret not getting the VR version. It is a very high quality item, and more than suits my needs for family photo's, and have seen no issues with the lense at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great everyday lens, 7 April 2011
By 
A. Mawer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G ED II Lens Black (Electronics)
I bought this as a temporary replacement for a Nikon 18-200 VR lens that has stopped auto-focusing and I must admit to being pretty impressed. For most everyday portraits and landscapes it allows you to frame pretty much most things. I found the 18-200 a more versatile lens, but this is a fifth of the price yet you get the most useful parts of the range. As an everyday lens it is a lot less glass to carry too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great standard lens, 23 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G ED II Lens Black (Electronics)
Very good lens for everyday purposes. Bought one for my Nikon D40. The combination of auto and manual controls are great and the lens isn't too big to carry either. Overall great balance between functionality and ease of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 April 2013
By 
Ms. B. M. Graham (New Mills, High peak) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G ED II Lens Black (Electronics)
My old lens broke and I desperately tried to find another in time for my fortnight's holiday in Japan. Fortunately I found this one on Amazon and was delighted with the speedy delivery and the quality of the product. I'm now enjoying all my photos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great lens - but a little plasticky, 11 April 2013
By 
Mr. James Newton "videostar" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G ED II Lens Black (Electronics)
Takes great pictures, does anything else matter? The build quality feels a little plasticky but don't drop it and life will be fine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 18 Mar 2011
This review is from: Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G ED II Lens Black (Electronics)
As far as image quality and ease of use go I can't fault this lens at the price. However, it's not proved at all robust. I found that at low temperatures the zoom was prone to stick. This wasn't a huge problem, but after about three years of use the zoom became troublesome at all temperatures until eventually it seized up all together. So, a nice lens for occasional use, but not a real work horse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Camera Equipment, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G ED II Lens Black (Electronics)
This lens is perfect for what I require. I damaged my original one and needed a replacement asap. I ordered it through Amazon and within 3 days, my Nikon was fully equipped again. Now that is service!! Also a very reasonable price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews