Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sound metal!
mendeeds third album follows on swiftly from their previous release just last year,the band have also in that time decided on a sound that they can surely progress with,while their previous two albums clearly had the ringings of metalcore within,this is more of a galloping metal aalbum,an album that brings the influences of iron maiden and early metallica together,the...
Published on 22 Feb 2007 by sean paul mccann

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Value for money
Got this for a fiver, and its earnest Scottish metal, some catchy riffs and hooks, but it doesnt scream for repeated plays, but hey Scottish Metal Bands are rare so it makes an interesting addition to the collection
Published on 30 Aug 2009 by I. J. Davies


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sound metal!, 22 Feb 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dead Live By Love (Audio CD)
mendeeds third album follows on swiftly from their previous release just last year,the band have also in that time decided on a sound that they can surely progress with,while their previous two albums clearly had the ringings of metalcore within,this is more of a galloping metal aalbum,an album that brings the influences of iron maiden and early metallica together,the vocals are more controlled now as well and are sung more than screamed,although for the most part there are gravely vocal tones but it is more accesible and further tribute that lead vocalist dave proctor has learnt to sing better,thats the impression that i get anyway.

The band have also learnt that less is more,while their previous album was too epic this is shorter although at 54 minutes there is still plenty of metal but its a more focused and deliberate album than before.

The album is packed with sing a long chorus' such as on opener 'burning fear' and the anthemic 'blood brothers' but in truth if you like your metal fast,packed with solos,some great background singing and the usual metal stylings of yesteryear then this will keep you smiling,one cant help but wonder if this was the sound trivium wanted on their 2006 album 'the crusade' but couldnt quite nail down,mmmmmm,i wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Indeed, 27 Nov 2007
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Dead Live By Love (Audio CD)
I don't usually go with the "shouty" metal style, but in the case of Scotland's finest I have capitulated and have no hesitation in acclaiming this as one of my top 10 albums of 2007. This band deserve to be huge, because not only do they give it some welly, especially on the predominantly "shouted" verses, they have the tunesmithery to slow down on occasion and have a bit of a rest or produce ringing choruses which prove that they can actually sing! Top riffing, top shredding and incredible drums! This lot knock current press faves the Gallows and Enter Shikari into a cocked hat and I reckon would beat them in a fight as well! Buy this and make Mendeed HUGE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the latest Trivium CD, 23 Mar 2007
By 
J. Halstead "BlackMetal41" (Solihull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dead Live By Love (Audio CD)
If you're like me, and you thought Spineshank's Self Destructive Pattern, Ill Nino's Revolution Revolucion and Trivium's Ascendancy were great CD's that no one is still making, then look no further. Spineshank are gone and talk about pulling hard on the strings of your Martyr - Trivium have sold out - big time. This CD got an awful lot of hype for a band I'd never heard of. Full page adverts in the Metal press with taster songs on the free CD's. The hype didn't disappoint - Its a great CD - Full of pounding memorable songs with great vocals. The band know when to slow down and when to hit it. Can't praise it enough - An early contender for CD of 2007!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good album worth checking out!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Live By Love (Audio CD)
First heard about Mendeed after seeing them support Dragonforce, think it was at the barfly. They were amazing and so I just had to check out this album which did not dissapoint.

The tracks are fast and hard hitting with some melodic hooks (so pretty much ideal for me). The album goes past very quickly! Favourite songs are Burning Fear, The fight and it's not over yet, but I honestly don't think there is a bad song on the album.

Definitely worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 30 Aug 2009
By 
I. J. Davies "The Rock Addict" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead Live By Love (Audio CD)
Got this for a fiver, and its earnest Scottish metal, some catchy riffs and hooks, but it doesnt scream for repeated plays, but hey Scottish Metal Bands are rare so it makes an interesting addition to the collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Metalcore Band, 26 Feb 2009
By 
L. Rudy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dead Live By Love (Audio CD)
When I Purchase this CD, I Realy dosen't Know this Band after I Listen It's Very Impresive But this Band Discontinue Very So Sad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dead Live By Love
The Dead Live By Love by Mendeed (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews