Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Titled!
I'm rather shocked and appalled how no reviewer has either seen all the films, or if they have, see fit to only comment on the technical deffiencies of the DVDs as presented.

Firstly, the title, The Bergman 'Collection' is misleading, as for most film watchers they will know none of these, or even heard of them. The set represents a time when the Swedish...
Published on 14 Oct. 2012 by Tim Kidner

versus
61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the passion of anna is censored!
out of the dvds in this collection i have only seen the passion of anna which i had seen previously several times, there is a scene in the film where andreas (max von synow) finds a small dog in a tiny noose which he saves towards the start of the film, in this dvd version, the scene is cut completely, we only hear a dog whimpering and then it cuts abruptly to the next...
Published on 19 Nov. 2011 by franz walsch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Titled!, 14 Oct. 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ingmar Bergman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I'm rather shocked and appalled how no reviewer has either seen all the films, or if they have, see fit to only comment on the technical deffiencies of the DVDs as presented.

Firstly, the title, The Bergman 'Collection' is misleading, as for most film watchers they will know none of these, or even heard of them. The set represents a time when the Swedish director was almost in a kind of cinematic hinterland in the late '60's & 1970s, forced to flee from Sweden, due to an extremely large tax bill from the notoriously greedy Swedish tax authority, which, I presume he wasn't able/not wanting to pay. These four films were made under MGM, rather than his old one, now distributed by Tartan.

Three out of the four represent Begman's 'Faro' trilogy, a period of self induced semi isolation on the Island of that name and are generally quite dour but explore human emotion and relationships in powerful and often difficult scenarios. Shame, Hour of the Wolf and The Passion of Anna are all rewarding but really only those used to the dark and grainy sinew that runs through much of Bergman's often depressive (rather than depressing) own life.

I've written separate review for each of these films as I've just re-watched them, after several years. Many seasoned Bergman-ites (as I call them/us) cite them as being amongst his finest, though I personally disagree. His exploration of the issues involved may be among his best but as films, they do not - and possibly - cannot match those of what the Bergman name represents - The Seventh Seal, Wild Strawberries, Persona, Fanny & Alexander etc etc.

The final film, The Serpents Egg was his first (and as far as I know) only film in English, from 1977, though set in 1920's Berlin. David Carradine is the only native English speaker as the Jewish alcoholic and unemployed trapeze artist searching for the reasons why his brother shot himself dead. Liv Ulmann is the only Bergman regular here and she speaks good English, but with an accent, of course. With a certificate 18, it features some very strong violence and pans out to be an extremely graphic and disturbing story.

As you can imagine, this sits oddly amongst other Bergman's, in this set, let alone his entire catalogue. Critics, presumably feeling that he'd completely lost scruples/sights on everything he'd achieved cinematically, slated it. Cabaret it isn't (represents about the same period) and understandably, is quite a standard drama in most respects - and frankly, could have been directed by any reasonable director. In this way, it does feel like an add-on, when compared to the other three, which naturally fit in as a trio.

As I said at the start, as others have pointed so blatantly, there are issues around screen ratio (4:3, except for Serpent's Egg 1.66:1) and the subtitles, which unfortunately double up as information for the hard of hearing. GET OVER IT - it's the films that are the important things here and I believe some were not even available on DVD before.

The discs fit into slimline cases and these slip into a card outer slipcase. It's fair value IF IT's what you're genuinely after - if you're casually looking for anything with Bergman's name on, you may well be disappointed and even worse, be put off pursuing his more accessible and popular films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the passion of anna is censored!, 19 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ingmar Bergman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
out of the dvds in this collection i have only seen the passion of anna which i had seen previously several times, there is a scene in the film where andreas (max von synow) finds a small dog in a tiny noose which he saves towards the start of the film, in this dvd version, the scene is cut completely, we only hear a dog whimpering and then it cuts abruptly to the next scene, this scene is relatively important to the film as it sets up the fact that someone on the island is terrorising animals, the scene is even spoken of later on that is not in the film, this would probably utterly confuse first time viewers. this is a disgraceful censoring, hollywood should stay the hell away from fine art such as bergman, i would advise anyone to not buy this dvd collection as the other films may be censored also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need sub-titles?, 15 April 2010
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ingmar Bergman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
'The Passion of Anna' has soundtrack in Italian and Swedish; sub-titles are in English for the hearing impaired, and in Dutch and Greek.

'The Serpent's Egg' has soundtrack in English and Italian; sub-titles are in English for the hearing impaired, and in French, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, Finnish, Norwegian, Danish, Polish and Greek.

'Hour of the Wolf' has soundtrack in Italian and Swedish; sub-titles are in English for the hearing impaired, and in Dutch, Greek and Romanian.

'Shame' has soundtrack in Italian and Swedish; sub-titles are in English for the hearing impaired, and in Greek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bergman Collection, 4 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ingmar Bergman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This collection is very good. There is one 'weak' film there (Shame), about which even Bergman was critical, but it was actually interesting to see it. Liv Ulmann is great in each of the four movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aspect Ratio, 26 Feb. 2007
By 
D. J. Mcallister (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ingmar Bergman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I have only seen Hour of the Wolf, which I would give 4 stars. However, my comments relate to whether these discs have the complete picture or whether they are cropped.

I'd query the aspect ratio stated here. Apparently, the initial US DVD released by MGM was presented in 1.66:1 aspect ratio, even though the original was shot in 1.37:1!!! Nothing miraculous, they simply cropped the top and bottom of the screen. MGM accepted their error and reissued the discs in the correct aspect ratio.

I see the techical details on amazon.co.uk says 1.78:1 !!!

Does anyone know if this is released in 1.37:1, full screen (1.33:1), or some bizarre cropped version to make it seem 'wide-screen'? Obviously, I'd like to get the version closest to what Bergman / Nykvist filmed.

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles?, 30 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Ingmar Bergman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Amazon, please mention more details, such as subs. I do not want to buy DVD's without subs!!! It should always be mentioned in product information!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ingmar Bergman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Thanks for let purchase this item and add it to my collection it was a very unlike find thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ingmar Bergman deserve a better treatment., 14 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ingmar Bergman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Should be better on widescreen edition. The menu are totaly poorly made. The DVD's came in slim cases, however the image's fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bergman, 4 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ingmar Bergman Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Ingmar Bergman Collection - The Passion Of Anna/The Serpent's Egg/Hour Of The Wolf/Shame [DVD]

great films and a masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ingmar Bergman Collection [DVD]
Ingmar Bergman Collection [DVD] by Ingmar Bergman (DVD - 2007)
£12.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews