Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars portable turntable
ideal christmas present. lightweight, just plug in a play! We have loads of old LPs and singles in the loft and this is great for a night of nostalga. sound quality is ok, but for the price this is ideal for the occasional use and great present idea.
Published on 11 Nov. 2008 by Mrs. M. Eadie

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother!
I was hugely disappointed with this product. Yes it looks pretty stylish, but the quality is very poor; both the sound and the actual item. The whole thing just seems flimsy to the touch and feels likely to fall apart at any second. I know it's cheap so maybe I shouldn't have hoped for any better, but my advice? Pay a bit extra and get better quality, perhaps away from...
Published 21 months ago by Being JB


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars portable turntable, 11 Nov. 2008
By 
Mrs. M. Eadie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Steepletone Retro Stereo Turntable Record Player - Silver (Electronics)
ideal christmas present. lightweight, just plug in a play! We have loads of old LPs and singles in the loft and this is great for a night of nostalga. sound quality is ok, but for the price this is ideal for the occasional use and great present idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


172 of 179 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great record player with one small hitch, 22 Jan. 2010
By 
First things first: this record player really is great value for money. It will play records at all three speeds (33 1/3, 45 and 78 rpm), it has two built-in speakers, which, when turned up sufficiently, will produce a high quality of sound, and, best of all, it has two output sockets: a 3.5 mm socket for headphones - or speakers with a headphone cable - and line out socket for larger speakers. It comes with a solid dust cover, an auto-stop switch (which essentially stops the turntable after the last song has finished) and a compact design. This last feature may be a little alarming to begin with, because at first sight records appear to be far bigger than the player itself, but nifty design means that the player can comfortably take any record you throw at it.

There's just one problem with the Steepletone, though: the tone arm isn't 100% perfect. It will play most records comfortably, but anyone looking to play 'modern' vinyl (that is, vinyl produced in the last couple of years) should think about looking somewhere else. I recently purchased a brand new drum and bass record (no accounting for taste, I'm afraid!) and the needle was jumping all over the place. I'm not sure quite what the explanation is, but there doesn't seem to be anything I can do about it.

That said, this is a thoroughly pleasing record player which has given me a great deal of pleasure. For those of you looking to play your old LPs on a cheap and cheerful record player, it's fantastic: get one. For anyone who wants to play more recent stuff, however, I'm afraid you're going to have to look elsewhere.

Verdict: Great for old records; not so great for modern vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It could be worse, it could have been an Amstrad!, 19 Nov. 2008
By 
Old Bloke (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steepletone Retro Stereo Turntable Record Player - Silver (Electronics)
At £28.50 don't expect the quality of Bang & Olafsson. The noise you get from the Steepletone is comparable with the record players of the eighties so if like me you only want to play your old records that haven't seen the light of day for over twenty-five years this is genuinely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Mar. 2010
By 
A. Cheesmur (Susssex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This little record player is fantastic. Really simple to operate, stand alone,
great sound for your old vinyls. Would not pump sound out in a huge room but
you can add speakers if you wish. Obviously the sound quality is not that of
a CD but i have been in heaven playing all my old records. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great!, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steepletone Retro Stereo Turntable Record Player - Silver (Electronics)
I bought this as a student looking to buy a cheap record player to play modern vinyl records on. At first i was hesistant to buy it after reading the reviews of it skipping a lot on modern vinyl, however i decided to take a gamble and it was worth it - its is great and it is what you would expect from a cheap record player.

It does make a slight noise as the records turns, however this is drowned out by the music. In order to stop the track skipping on some records, you can put a very small weight on the arm, which does the job and the records play fine. The sound quality is what you would expect from a cheap record player - it is still pretty good quality for the price. It also looks very good and is very compact, and delivery was quick.

Would definitely recomend this for anyone looking for a cheap record player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 7 July 2008
By 
N. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my dad to play all his old LPs. He plays it all the time, sound is good for what he wants to listen to.

Would definetely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 109 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars steepletone review, 5 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Steepletone Retro Stereo Turntable Record Player - Silver (Electronics)
I bought the steepletone 3 speed record player, Iam very pleased with it.
It is as described and plays all my old records 45's and 33's, its lovely to hear them all again!!, the only reason I give it 4 stars and not 5 is because I wish it had a base control as well as a volume control as its a bit tinny on some records but otherwise its fine. It arrived very quickly and I would use the company again for there prompt delivery servise!! as I say I cannnot really complain as it was also a good price hope this review helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed!, 3 Jan. 2010
I bought this record player for my dad to play his old 45's & LPs after considering all the others available on Amazon. I was concerned that it might be a bit basic and sound quality would suffer as a result but this was unfounded. The unit is compact and the integrated speakers mean that it is very easy to set up and start using. My dad was delighted with both the ease of use and the sound quality so a happy christmas all round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great wee record player, 23 Nov. 2010
I bought this for my husband's birthday. It was reasonably priced and he absolutely loves it. The sound quality is good - and playing vinyl takes you back to your bedroom 30 years ago! It plays 331/3, 45 and 78 s so is versatile and it is also compact. All in all a good purchase - oh and delivery was quick too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - great value, 30 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steepletone Retro Stereo Turntable Record Player - Silver (Electronics)
Bought this for my dad to play all his old records
The sound is great and is really easy to assemble and use
Amazing price for the quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews