Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story
This fabulous story of countryboy Hideki Motosuwa and the persocom Chii which he found at a dumpster is really captivating. The storyline progresses throughout the series with such charisma that you want to watch it without interruption. Chii is innocent and naive like a small child, which makes her immensely cute and combined with Hideki's clumsiness and hysteria there...
Published on 14 April 2007 by J. L. A. Huguenin

versus
1 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One note comedy
I have only watched the first DVD disk of Chobits which contains the first four episodes of Chobits. I wont be renting the rest of the series.
Chobits is a fairly decent anime with a single joke in it. The main character Hideki is scared that other characters will think that he is a pervert because he spends much of the first four episodes with his naked android Chi...
Published on 22 Sep 2007 by Syleroth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story, 14 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Chobits: The Chobits Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This fabulous story of countryboy Hideki Motosuwa and the persocom Chii which he found at a dumpster is really captivating. The storyline progresses throughout the series with such charisma that you want to watch it without interruption. Chii is innocent and naive like a small child, which makes her immensely cute and combined with Hideki's clumsiness and hysteria there are a lot of very funny moments.

The relationship between Hideki and Chii is somewhat like a father with his little daughter when he is teaching Chii several new things and tries to keep her from harm that is lurking in the big city. It is obvious that he cares for Chii, which only grows as the story continues and eventually reaches a climax.

It is the combination of humour, love and suspense that makes Chobits one of my favourite anime series ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, but disturbing, 1 Mar 2007
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Chobits: The Chobits Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Chobits is, at the beginning at least, the story of Hideki, who moves to Tokyo as a student to enrol in cram school after failing to make university. He rents a room in a house owned by his (attractive) landlady Hibiya. One of the first things Hideki, a country boy, notices is the ubiquity of persocons, personal computers in forms ranging from the small, cute pocket-sized to the full-sized and human-like. Hideki would love one of his own but can't afford one on the little money he has to his name.

Amazingly, almost immediately, he finds a naked, discarded persocon in the refuse outside and takes her in. This persocon seems to be something out of the ordinary however, seemingly working without any operating system or software, as well as resisting all attempts to discover what she is by the friends Hideki makes (including his neighbour Shinbo and child prodigy Minoru). Hideki names his new persocon Chii, but he is soon to discover that she has a complex and hidden past...

Hideki isn't your entirely typical anime/manga hero, although he's a bit gauche as a country boy and a ronin he's an honest, decent person and, unusually, not unattractive to women, seeing as how he's tall and reasonably good-looking. Most of his embarrassment around the opposite sex seems to stem from his relative isolation while growing up in the countryside. Indeed, most of the male characters seem to be given some depth in characterisation fairly early; not something that I felt about the female ones at the start. However, don't let this put you off because, as we discover, these first impressions are misleading.

In the early part of the series, the main relationship, between Hideki and Chii, is actually rather touching, like a parent-child or teacher-student one. It's during these times that the tone of the show is playful and cheeky, firmly in ecchi territory. In particular, the episode where Chii goes out unaccompanied for the first time to buy underwear is hilarious and actually rather sweet.

Don't let those early episodes fool you though, in the very next story the tone changes quite markedly and becomes decidedly more serious and in some places, actually disturbing (I'm thinking specifically of the episodes where Chii first goes out to find a job). This sets a marker for the remainder of the series, which deals more with the complexity of the relationships, human and otherwise, that define Hideki's life. In amongst this, as an important thread, sits the issue of Chii's history and identity, not to mention the changing nature of Hideki and Chii's relationship

Chobits is, in the end, a very thoughtful series that mixes fun with serious musings on the nature of human identity, love and the nature of humankind's interaction with the technology it has created. If that sounds pretentious and puts you off this series, don't let it because it's all done with a lightness of touch and joy which makes watching it rewarding and enjoyable.

And no, we don't find out if Hideki ever makes it into college!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chobits, 18 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Chobits: The Chobits Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Set in a world where robots are in the form of people and named Persocoms. Asaka truely brings this alternate reality to life.

Hideki has just moved from the country to the city and despite his facination with the persocoms, he's too broke to ever afford one. However his look changes when he finds one of the computers in the trash. Her name is Chi and she's unique, unlike any other Persocom seen before and yet there's a fault - she's missing the data she needs to perform properly.

Following a hilarious storyline, full of comical situations, which only Hideki could get himself into, we are taken on a journey to teach Chi of the world around her. Aswell as, ofcourse, trying to find Chi's true history and whether she is one of the legendry Chobit robots from myths.

I absolutely loved this story. It's so funny and yet really involving, as you wish for Chi to succeed in the world. Anime at it's greatest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boy meets Persocom, 24 Aug 2011
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hideki Motosuwa is a country boy who comes to Tokyo to attend cram school so that he can get into university. While living in Tokyo he notices that everyone has a personal robot known as a Persocom but they are too expensive for him buy so when he finds an abandoned Persocom in a pile of rubbish he is ecstatic. When he gets home with the Persocom and starts her up only to find that her memory has been erased and all she can say is Chi.

The original `Chobits' manga is one of the best manga series that I have read and while this anime adaptation isn't quite as good as the original it is still very entertaining to watch. There are a few changes from the original manga with some additional episodes added here and there (such as the beach episode), some changes to chronology (in the manga Hideki had been living in Tokyo for a while) and the ending is changed quite a bit. These changes seem to make the series slightly more comedic than the manga but it still remains a very enjoyable series that is both sweet and entertaining. The animation for the series is good and the English dub is reasonably good. The characters and the setting in general are nicely developed and the plot is also interesting.

`Chobits' is a very entertaining series and while it isn't as good as the original manga it still deserves a high four star mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal... You must watch this series, 2 Aug 2011
Let me start off by saying I watch a lot of films and series (both Anime and live action film), and every so often you do get lucky and find a gem in the rough.

I picked up this series absolutely by chance, not knowing anything about it before hand. To be honest I thought it wouldn't be any good because of the cover (which is easily to worst part of this product). However I'm happy that I did get hold of it as it has literally changed my perspective of the Anime genre.

Like with films such as Akira, Wings of Honneamise, and pretty much all Miyazaki films, Chobits breaks new ground in the way it deconstructs the stereotypical Anime narrative. Rather than making the typical, knock-off Anime which goes something like - a person meets a load of other people, they fight and bicker, only for the two main characters to suddenly falling hopelessly in love, then to find there's a love triangle, and finally left with an open ending - Chobits throws the rule book out the window and sets about analysing what love, lust, passion, and belong really are up close, and at what point do they all meet.

The only let down was the series lost it's flow in several middle episodes, when it descended into some typically silly mini-stories. But to be fair to the writers, they did have to keep the character/story development going for the full 26 (I think) episodes! -- you don't fully know any of the characters, or where the film is going until you reach the very end... when in the typical Anime almost everything has been said by the 3rd episode then you just repeat repeat repeat.

I guess the other criticism people might have is that the film is from a more male point of view ( even though I've read it was written by a group of women! ). Possibly this film will be more relevant to young guys... although I think woman can learn a great deal about guys too through this film, as it really gets to the core of what it's like to be a young man yearning for more in life.

Please watch it. let me know you thoughts. Possibly the best ending I have ever seen in a film/series... you be the judge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chobits - Entertaining and high quality anime., 16 Jun 2010
By 
S. J. Fisher "Hecate" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chobits: The Chobits Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is a charming, entertaining and at times extremely funny series derived from the original manga (2001 - 2002) from Clamp.

Basically the plot purports to be about the developing relationship between a young man (Hideki) and his cute android `persecom' or personal computer (Chi), but there is also a Science Fiction element to the story, as it seems the young man may have stumbled on a legendary special model of extraordinary power and unknown capabilities. These Sci-Fi elements are intriguing, and could perhaps have been made more of, but fundamentally the series is a romantic comedy. If it simply concentrated on the main romantic theme, it could perhaps be accused of being `a cheap romantic comedy', an accusation which has (unfairly, in my opinion) been levelled against it, but it does not fall into this trap, and in fact examines the nature of romance on several different levels. Philosophical questions are ubiquitous in anime, and Chobits is no exception as it also discusses, to a certain extent, the problems which one might expect to be associated with a romantic relationship between a human and a non-human, or artificial entity.

Overall the plot, dialogue and characterisation could initially be taken as being somewhat superficial, but the maturity and subtlety incorporated into the material at times, and the skill with which it is handled, belies this impression. The naivete and over-cuteness of Chi can sometimes become a bit cloying, which some might object to, but I do not think it is fair to describe it as `cheap', and for my taste the skill with which the bulk of the material is handled saves it from being irritating. The artwork is full of pastel colours and flowing lines, but this seems quite appropriate for the subject matter and is of the high-quality we have come to expect from the talented ladies of Clamp.

The soundtrack is extremely well thought out, the choice of sound effects and their skilled timing frequently combining to produce very amusing results. Similarly the choice of musical backing for certain events is often so successful in its dramatic role that it can also become seriously humorous, simply because it is so appropriate that it almost parodies dramatic conventions. However, this is clearly not accidental. The entire soundtrack is so well compiled and edited that it could not have been achieved without a complete understanding of the medium and its use on the part Masafumi Mima and others connected with the sound production. Indeed the production qualities of the series as a whole are uniformly high. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute feel good fun!, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watched this with my girlfriend as my first anime series. It was so easy to watch and hugely likeable. Admittedly not a lot happens in terms of plot at all, but that defeats the point of Chobits. Its simple, with fun character interactions (although English voiced Chi is very irritating - watch it in Japanese) but the ideas and ethics behind the story is actually surprisingly deep and complex. Well worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible series, 28 July 2012
By 
Jess (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
I will always adore Chobits. I read the manga before watching the episodes, so it took me a while to feel 'settled' in the TV show. It was so worth the watch - for a short series, it really is deep, and even slightly disturbing. Persocoms are not so much a distant reality now - robots now exist that can interact with us. This series contains so many lessons on morals and whether a machine deserves to be treated the same as people. The characters are just wonderful, with many sub-plots and entertaining moments, mainly Hideki's pervertedness....

The finale of the show gets my heart racing every time. This was the manga that lead me to adore anime, so I have a lot to be grateful to CLAMP for!

I would recommend this series to any anime-fan :3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Anime Series, 16 Aug 2011
I really enjoyed this anime!! It was just brilliant. The main character Hideki Motosuwa is the funniest character i have ever come accross and had me in stitches so many times. :)

Chi is just lovely and i loved watching her learn to speak and how to act with some very funny situations caused by her lack of life experience.

Although it is very funny there are serious elements to this anime too and it can be sad at times as Chi struggles to find 'the one just for her' without actually knowing what that means.

I was very sad when this anime came to an end. It's way up there as one of my favs. x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. M. Sergej "Snoob" (Poole,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chobits: The Chobits Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Everything mentioned above by other guys is one hundred percent true. This anime is really something. And i love it.
1.It's really fun to watch and there are many things to think about
2. You won't get bored, from start to the end it will keep you interestend, there are some moments, but it never fails
3.Great animation and voice + sweet opening song
List can go down and down...buy it, watch it and you will like it.Like you liked Neon Genesis Evangelion
Must have !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae25c51c)

This product

Chobits: The Chobits Collection [DVD]
Chobits: The Chobits Collection [DVD] by Morio Asaka (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: 34.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews