Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
91
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2007
This is rather as anticipated. It is a nice but rather forgettable record with typical Kaiser Chiefs fomulaic dittys! Some tracks will go down well at festivals having a great time jumping about. That's about it though. No real stand out tracks, no real depth and 'Ruby' has been played to death on the radio and is now rather irritating!

Would say 'could do better' but to be honest I don't think they can! Just OK in a beige sort of way!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2007
why is it that for everybodies second albums nowadays everybody criticizes them. I really don't see what the problem is, this is a great amlbum but follows the formula set for bands that have amazing debut albums. It happened with The Killers and Sams Town, it happened with Arctic Monkeys and Favourite Worst Nightmare and now its happening with Yours Truly, Angry Mob.
All three of the albums ive mentioned had a tough job by having to follow each amazing debut album (Hot Fuss, Whatever People Say I Am Thats What Im Not and Employment)and although the albums aren't as instantly listenable as the debut albums, they grow on you over time till you find yourself listening to the new album more. It happened with Sams Town, it happened with Favourite Worst Nightmare and i guarantee it will happen with Yours Truly, Angry Mob. So i implore you don't get caught up in the mob which hates second albums, buy this album and let it shine and show its true colors!!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2007
They were never going to top I Predict a Riot...but they've had a damned good try !

The entertaining lyrics are back, the catchy hooks.. another "something for everyone" album. Destined for No1 in Album chart 4th march !

We are the Angry Mob, we read the papers every day, we like who we like, we hate who we hate , but we're also easily swayed

The first 4 tracks are undoubtedly The Kaisers at their best ; anthem songs Ruby & Heat Dies Down coupled with upbeat and amusing Angry Mob & Highroyds

Track 5 is an unexpected, but quality, accoustic number.

6,7 & 8 are middling album tracks; good, but not gonna be singles.

Everything is average... yep, except a Kaisers album.

Hey, what rhymes with Retire .. oh yes, Tumble Dryer !!! Quality

Kaiser fans will love it & already have it snapped up. Those not sure about the Kaisers should take the plunge & buy it.. you'll all be singing along soon enough. UK Chart domination beckons..
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2007
Excellent follow-up album, along much the same lines as their debut "Employment". It's very much the same formula - catchy, guitar-based songs with an undercurrent of wry observation & humour. If you liked Employment and want more of the same, then I'd recommend you buy this. I'd rate it about as good as Employment.

I agree with an earlier comment that this formula may start to wear thin, but to my taste it's good enough for two albums (at least). It depends on whether their songwriting remains as strong as it is now. The crunch may come with album 3, but for now, just enjoy!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2007
when employment hit the shelves in 2005 and introduced this unlikely collective of semi yobs from leeds, we all jumped on board. they were a refreshing breath of air in a midst of middle class pompous bands like coldplay, snow patrol and keane. they came across like loud but friendly drunken football fans at a match more than indie stars - ricky wilson, sort of everyone's bloke. the sort of bloke i bet still gets stopped by security at his own gigs.

songs like 'oh my god' were party time, summery, feel good tunes. the album was fun without being shallow (eg fratellis), oafish in nature without being dumb. even in the depths of winter when your a*se was freezing and bones aching in the frosty air, if you heard 'everyday i love u less and less,' a rush of summer came straight back through the vents and a delicious, knowing grin (given the lyrics) came back onto your face, if only for a second.

however, employment wasn't a work of genuis even though it got heralded as such. it had its moment, and it got old. it went from cool laddish music to oafish loutish music in a years time. you just didnt want to listen to it anymore. and if the critics had known how good yours truly would have been by comparison back then, perhaps they would have deferred the acclaim until 2007.

alas, yours truly. its an entirely new sound, and its grand. i dont even know how to describe it apart from wham, bam, thank u mam. whatever they've done, they've done it spot bloody on. where they had their signature drunken sailor feel to them before, now they've become as soulfull as they are blokey (and probably still drunk). could houdini have outdone this feat? the answer, emphatically, NO. he couldn't have. he would have had to undo the shackles before getting out the box. the kaisers, they've let nothing go. they've only added on. and its brilliant.

the sound is more grown up now, sort of along the lines of a more killers 'sams town' style grandness and substance. ruby is quite simply a masterpiece. other tracks on the album are equally compelling. the best pop songs hit you on the head like a brick, knock u out on first listen, and keep you dizzy, at their mercy, for months. the best albums hook you with the main tune (eg ruby), then little by little, like a morphine drip, the other tracks slowly lure you into a full blown addiction.

yours truly catapults the kaisers into a whole new league. welcome boys, to the league of gentlemen, the league of rock n roll greats who write timeless tunes. when working class bands get it right, they are unbeatable and make every other band look like shandypants copycats. so if you liked the kaisers before, you're gonna buckle at the knees this time round.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2008
Yours Truly, Angry Mob surprised to see this is selling for £5 on amazon because this is a superb 2nd album from the Kaisers with the hit singles Ruby,Angry Mob and my personal favourite Love Is Not A Competition (But I'm Winning]. High energy Brit pop on steroids.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2007
The second album from the lads from Leeds. It's been well documented that second album's are always a bit of a Hit and Miss, but not for Yours Truly. You can imagine the crowds at various festivals this summer singing along to Ruby's chorus and some people have claimed that this album contains a few more anthems and there right! There are a couple of real gems in this one though, more melodic than Employment, which is great! I only hope that the potential that the Kaisers have for a steady progression in their music is there for the taking and I hope the grasp it. A great second album!!!!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2007
I wasn't expecting a follow up as fab as 'Employment' but this is surprisingly very good. This is quite a pointed and angry record, that said the Kaiser Chiefs still retain their quirky sense of humour, it's just that this time it's more in the background. This isn't quite as punchy and dynamic as 'Employment' but it's just as melodic sounding, with a slightly more refined and deeper sound to it.

The highlights here are: 'The Angry Mob' (a potential single), 'Heat Dies Down', 'Love Is Not A Competition (But I'm Winning)', 'Thank You Very Much' and 'I Can Do Without You' (another potential single). The reason I haven't mentioned 'Ruby' is because although it's great, everyone's now sick of it, on account of it being played to death on the radio.

The Kaiser Chiefs are social commentators and I feel that they have really captured the zeitgeist here. 'The Angry Mob' is like the follow up to 'I Predict A Riot'. It's about mob/yob mentality on estates and in pubs, plus how easily swayed they are by the tabloids. 'My Kind Of Guy' is about wanting to ape violent nasty behaviour, and this track has a feel of The Specials about it. 'Highroyds' is about a cr*p night out, feeling bored and pathetic queuing outside a nightclub.

Some people compare 'Employment' with Blur's 'Parklife', well think of this then as 'Modern Life Is Rubbish'. In their words - "Thank You Very Much".
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 March 2007
The immediate thing that springs to mind when getting this CD is how serious all the band look on the front cover. You also get the feeling that this is no idle gesture; if there is one thing that may have soured the boys from Leeds rise to the top its that some people just refuse to take them seriously - and that is something that really annoys them.

Now I might be just one of those people who has that effect on them. I was never really all that fussed with Employment. Singles wise it was alright, but there was pretty much nothing else to recommend as essential listening.

Still, despite that I quite looked forward to hearing the new album. Stephen Street is back at the producing helm and it shows. In fact my first thoughts upon listening to this CD were it's stylistic similarities to The Great Escape, that much lamented Blur album that I actually thought was one of their best.

Indeed we start off on a high point, the extremely catchy lead single Ruby and this is followed by the terrific Angry Mob which, despite the band's insistence that it won't be, surely will be the single that lights up the summer. Things arguably get even better on the third track, Heat Dies Down which pulls off the Parklife-Great Escape trick of wrapping more cynical lyrics in the same catchy melodies that set the Kaiser's on their way to chart stardom.

Sadly this is then followed by the lamentable Highroyds and then we're onto a patchy album indeed. Love's Not A Competition (But I'm Winning) may be a funny title, but its not a very great song, My Kind Of Guy sounds like a Blur out-take that deservedly never saw the light of the day, and Everything Is Average Now feels like the band on auto-pilot as if they decided they needed a song like something off Employment.

There are highlights beyond the opening three tracks though. I Can Do Without You proves that there is more to the band than Employment might have suggested and Thank You Very Much just about survives the opening that sounds a lot like I Predict A Riot to become a classic "shout-a-long" tune.

Once again the Kaiser Chiefs have delivered a somewhat frustrating album. There are flashes of brilliance but there's also a fair bit of filler. Still that didn't stop the huge success of their debut and I suspect that there are enough killer singles to be farmed from Yours Truly, Angry Mob to ensure that this will be an even bigger commercial success. I just hope that next time around, the absolutely killer album that seems to be within the Chief's grasp can be well and truly unleashed.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
A worthy follow up to "Employment" the music is enjoyable with a good (but not overpowering) beat. The lyrics are intelligently wriiten and show a dry wit. All credit to the Kaisers for consistently ensuring that every word of their sung lyrics is intelligible!

Enjoyed all the tracks, but the final track "Retirement" made me chuckle - When I first saw the Kaisers at T in the Park (not so long ago) quite a few of the audience looked old enough to be looking forward to retirement!

1. "Ruby"
2. "The Angry Mob"
3. "Heat Dies Down"
4. "Highroyds"
5. "Love's Not a Competition (But I'm Winning)"
6. "Thank You Very Much"
7. "I Can Do It Without You"
8. "My Kind of Guy"
9. "Everything Is Average Nowadays"
10. "Boxing Champ"
11. "Learnt My Lesson Well"
12. "Try Your Best"
13. "Retirement"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)