Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episodes
Once again the Amazon reviewer does not list the episodes on this DVD (a recent failure of the descriptions of many of the newly released DVDs by Amazon UK). The four episodes are:- 1 Ruling passion, 2 A killing kindness, 3 Deadheads, and 4 Exit lines.
Published on 27 Mar 2007 by Anglophile

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I love the Reginald Hill books so decided to buy some of the TV adaptations. Enjoyable but spoilt for me by two things. I don't think Colin Buchanan is well cast as Pascoe although Warren Clarke is very good as Dalziel. More importantly big mistake using Barrington Phelong to write the music as it gives the whole thing the feel of Morse and Oxford instead of Daziel and...
Published on 23 July 2011 by oldtimer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episodes, 27 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Dalziel And Pascoe - Series 2 [1997] [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Once again the Amazon reviewer does not list the episodes on this DVD (a recent failure of the descriptions of many of the newly released DVDs by Amazon UK). The four episodes are:- 1 Ruling passion, 2 A killing kindness, 3 Deadheads, and 4 Exit lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Could we have season 3 please?, 7 April 2009
This review is from: Dalziel And Pascoe - Series 2 [1997] [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
The already very high standard presented in the first season is actually bettered here as the two leads settle into their roles. Deadheads is probably the standout episode; in fact it's a standout episode for the whole run, perfectly capturing a different take on the standard mystery format and making all the rules it breaks seem perfectly fitting.

The series also makes increasingly good use of Dalziel's anti-hero status and lets him do things that other tv detective leads would never get away with. The fourth episode revolves around him running over and killing a cyclist, an act few series would let their lead do if they want him to keep the viewers' sympathy. The fact that Dalziel does retain your interest afterwards shows just how good an actor Clarke is, and how well-drawn the character is to make you believe how the episode plays out.

So, again this is as good as it gets, which makes it doubly irritating that there's still no sign of season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so good ...!, 9 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Dalziel And Pascoe - Series 2 [1997] [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
...a shame we cannot get the other series (3 to 9) with english subtitles (for the time being I hope).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dalziel & Pascoe, Series 2 DVD, 24 Nov 2010
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel And Pascoe - Series 2 [1997] [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I am delighted to say that this set was released in Britain. So the four episodes all have English titles and synopses on the back cover of the DVD. The series is seriously entertaining: Keith Barron and Emma Cunniffe appear in various episodes. If you didn't see Series 1, or haven't yet caught up on the later issues, then as some of the best stories in detective fiction (plots and acting) these are highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 30 May 2014
By 
Trevor W. Edmonds (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel And Pascoe - Series 2 [1997] [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
What an obnoxious character Dalziel is but you can't help but like him. I am enjoying each episode and shall be sorry to when I get to the end. Well packed for postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish the rest of the series were as cheap, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel And Pascoe - Series 2 [1997] [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Enjoyed every minute and now have series 1 and two. Will have to import the remaining series one by one as the cost loads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exacellent again, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel And Pascoe - Series 2 [1997] [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I'm a big warren clarke fan and I love detective programes in general.

everything from a touch of frost to The Mrs. Bradley Mystries i will simply lap it up

so this series is very up my street

Clarke is on fine form as usual as the slightly unpc but brillaint Andy Dalizel

the crimes are quite grim but the main leads are very solid as any character in these shows have to be

I have collected all 12 series of Dalizel and Pasco except Diolouges of the dead which I cant get at present

can recommed this series to any crime fan

Im really staring to like this programe as it goes on

the only thing that i disliked it the dutch subtiles but they can be easily taken off your screen

and won't spoil your enjoyment for too long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dalziel and Pascoe, 23 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel And Pascoe - Series 2 [1997] [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I loved this series on TV now I am slowly collecting the complete series, one series at a time.

I have watched series 1 & 2, and have now ordered series 3.

I am completely satisfied with the quality of these DVDs. I will in several months, hopefully have the complete 12 series.

Rosie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bravo for amazonfriend did not receive, 3 Jan 2011
By 
K. D. Visser - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dalziel And Pascoe - Series 2 [1997] [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
friend did not receive the dvd's and after my warning to amazon they did send it again, so he got his presents in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warren Clarke makes rude, crude and shrewd Andy Dalziel a DS to be proud of, 27 Aug 2010
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
With the four episodes on two discs of Dalziel & Pascoe - Series Two, it's good to see that the quality and the style of Series One have established themselves. That fine actor with a mug's face, Warren Clarke, plays Detective Superintendent Andy Dalziel (pronounced Dee-ell). Dalziel has a Yorkshire accent that at times could use subtitles. He worked his way up and he's smart. He dresses well. He drinks, he smokes, he's overweight, and he yearns to bed most of the good-looking women he meets. Andy is rough around the edges. He's pugnacious towards everyone, especially the better classes. He is sarcastic most of the time and has an unmatched gift for deliberately being crude. As he says to his young sergeant, played by Colin Buchanan, "I scratch my balls, pick my nose and fart with unneeded force." Morse would wince if he ever met Andy.

Peter Pascoe, a university man, is cultured, better educated and almost as smart as his boss. He wants to catch criminals just as much as Andy does. By now Dalziel and Pascoe have formed an effective team, but there's no doubt who is in charge. We've also met the third member of Andy's team, Detective Sergeant Edgar Wield (David Royle). Wield is tall, quiet, reliable and thorough. He can be surprising at times.

The four episodes of Series Two are: Ruling Passion, where Peter and his new wife, Ellie, go to visit a friend and find three corpses; A Killing Kindness, where a serial killer admires Hamlet; Deadheads, where a man with a passion for roses is accused of murder; and Exit Lines, where Peter finds himself investigating Andy.

The DVD transfer is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dalziel And Pascoe - Series 2 [1997] [DVD] [1996]
6.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews