Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars36
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£13.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2008
Hotel Babylon isn't the best written show on television. What makes it great is its style and presentation: there's something about the gorgeous sets, photogenic cast and interesting camerawork that made me feel at home from the first episode to the last. Okay, so it may be a long way from the real hotel business, (or the real world generally for that matter,) and the stories may rely more on catchy visuals than serious plots, but Hotel Babylon wraps the viewer in a cosy stylish cocoon, and I can quite happily live with that. Isn't that what a good hotel does?
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
IM FROM CANADA NEVER HEARD OF THIS BUT IT WAS ON SALE SO I BLIND GOT IT SO HAPPY I DID IT WAS LIKE 16$ USD SHIPED AND IT PLAYS FINE IN PS3 IN CANADA AND USA
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2010
If you have caught some of the episodes of later series on the TV you won't be disappointed to see how it all began. I would highly recommend it!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2007
Hugely entertaining, another of those unique offerings like Cutting It that aren't easy to categorise and some people will inevitably call sleazy or superficial - yet really it's neither because the lowdown is said to be based on truth, ditto in the equally rivetting book of the same title that this TV series is based on. As an enthusiast for Arnold Bennett's fine old books about hotels, Imperial Palace and Grand Babylon Hotel, I was immediately tempted to watch this TV series if only out of curiosity, and am delighted I did. Rather different to Bennett but equally fascinating! Intensely more-ish so thank goodness there is another series to come next year. Highly recommended.
0Comment17 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2007
I watched the entire series from its orriginal air and loved it. Personally, i think the idea wasso frsh, yes there have been so many hotel comedys/dramas/dramedeys, etc, but only set in lower class hotels. To see the scandals, many of which based on truth, in a 5* london hotel. the camera is brilliant, plus the links of accelerated shots of london is brilliant. the hotel always looks immaculate and the set is so convincing, if only it were real!!
0Comment25 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
This is not a show to be taken seriously, but is one to be watched in the humour that it was intended.

Set in a five-star London hotel, we are given a guide to the deepest darkest secrets of the hotel industry, courtesy of charismatic and charming Deputy Manager Charlie Edwards (Max Beesley), who acts in part as a series narrator. Despite being second-credited, his character is (arguably) the lead in this show, and is constantly struggling to balance his new responsibilies as a manager with old loyalties to his friends in the staff.

The rest of the staff are all quirky in their own unique ways and although some take longer to grow on us than others, they have a great dynamic together and some of the best dialogue gets thrown around within General Manager Rebecca's morning staff meetings.

From hiding illegal immigrants in offices to Gino taking classes in 'being gay' from Ben to get better tips from a customer, the staff have seen it all, whilst always trying to prevent a flawless image to guests.

The guests themselves are equally entertaining, and the list of guest cast for the show reads like a guestlist for the BAFTAs. Stars from big and small screens make appearances in the lobby of Hotel Babylon, some as themselves and other masquerading as another dotty and hilarious guest.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2007
Almost without substance, this very more-ish dramatic confection is crafted for night-time British television with all the finesse which, as with the work of the finest French pattisseur, produces a deliciously indulgent, and wholly irresistible, guilty pleasure. The chief delight is to be had from a supremely smooth and glamorous surface, and a light froth of drama that tickles but vanishes with no regrets. It is something you will sit down to after the heavier dishes of the day; it requires no chewing over, and is not oppressively heavy to digest at the end of a week already stuffed with offerings that can too often lie like lead on our jaded system, and leave a distinctly sour aftertaste. The BBC's wonderfully light yet deceptively expert touch has whipped lashings of air-time into this very superior souffle. This is how entertaining should be done!
0Comment49 of 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
Hotel Babylon is one of those TV series where the BBC takes a risk. Let's face it, it's hardly realistic or ground breaking, is it? But the BBC played its cards brilliantly here. Hotel Babylon is fantastic amounts of fun.

Max Beesely portrays 'cool-man', deputy manager Charlie to a great degree and the performance from Dexter Fletcher in this is truly, utterly the best. When I first saw this tv-series I wanted to be a doorman - or concierge as it's called - because Dexter Fletcher played Tony that well. Not to mention everytime I saw him later on I'd yell out, "It's Tony from Babylon!" Truly commendable.

If you like fun dramas which aren't afraid to push the boat out there a little, what are you waiting for? This is gold.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Series 1 is easily the best series, given its novelty value and since it was the only one that starred Tamzin Outhwaite, although it can be argued that the real star of the show here, and in future series is Max Beasley. As this is set in a hotel, each series provides plenty of opportunities for new and fresh storylines for each episode, given the constant arrival of new guests. I would definitely recommend the Blu Ray version as everything is that much sharper in this 5 star world of luxury!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
I bought this product because of the stars in it. It is actually very lightweight and I wouldn't purchase anymore series of it.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Just $99.69 with Free s/h. DVdboxsets at low prices.
  -  
US BBC Shop for all things British. Free Shipping!