Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 15 Storeys High
Quite literally, one of the most underrated comedies most people have never heard of, which is a real shame.

Due to severe oversight by the BBC, this slice of pure comedy gold was scheduled all over the place on BBC3, then had a very late night run on BBC2.

If ever there was a show ripe for rediscovery or just plain discovery, it is this one, it...
Published on 16 Feb. 2011 by B.G.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A borderline disappointment
On 8 out of 10 cats Sean Lock has me in bits.

I started watching 15 storeys high, but found it difficult to get into.
Some funny moments, but lacks the 'glue' to hold them together.
It started getting tedious, so I stopped watching.
Sorry Sean!
Published 9 months ago by James T


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 414 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A borderline disappointment, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15 Storeys High : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
On 8 out of 10 cats Sean Lock has me in bits.

I started watching 15 storeys high, but found it difficult to get into.
Some funny moments, but lacks the 'glue' to hold them together.
It started getting tedious, so I stopped watching.
Sorry Sean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 14 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15 Storeys High : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The best show that I ever missed when it was on telly. I have just watched the whole of series one and two and I cried laughing. It is that funny. If this doesn't float your boat then you have a sense of humour bypass. Classic lost British comedy. BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sean Lock....you rock. (Sorry)., 23 Oct. 2008
By 
C. Whitworth "juliehill87" (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 15 Storeys High : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The last few years has seen some outstanding comedy. League of Gentlemen,Nighty Night,Saxondale etc etc.
But i have to say i think this stands head and shoulders above all else British EVER. I say British because the Americans have the top spot with the deity that is Larry David and Curb your Enthusiasm. 15 Storeys high is just perfect. Surreal,brilliant and clever. The photography is sublime. The acting faultless. Beautifully filmed. Like a David Shrigley comic strip brought to life. Although it would appear that this remains a strictly cult show. I rave on about it and people look at you with a blank look.
As long as it remains so obscure i shall walk around with an air of superiority only granted to people who know about something great that not many other people know about! Ha! Buy this and be blown away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Special, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
David Fuller (Kentish Town, London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15 Storeys High : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Equally as brilliant as any great comedy by any great writer/performer/innovator/maverick I can think of.

Spike Milligan, Peter Cook, Monty Python, Fry & Laurie, Alan Partridge, Armando Iannucci, Chris Morris, Sean Lock.

15 Storeys High is a bit special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the energy of a rat...in a can!, 12 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15 Storeys High : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Paul Whitehouse suggested that the difference between US and UK sitcoms is that the US shows tend to be about happy, successful, good-looking characters whereas ours are about 'misfits and wankers'.

If you prefer Black Books to Friends and the Fast Show to the Disney Channel, this might be for you. Benefits hugely from complete lack of laugh-track. It's also a lot funnier the second, third, twentieth time you watch it...and there's often a punchline hidden in the end credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the ledge, 10 Oct. 2007
By 
Eolake "eolake (.com)" (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15 Storeys High : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I warmly recommend 15 Storeys High.

One thing, admittedly, irritates me about it: it is all filmed with wide angle in wide shots, and with only available light, mostly in small apartments. Which means that 90% of the time you only have the foggiest notion of what the characters actually look like. I'm not kidding.

But on the other hand it's brilliantly written and acted. It's actually unlike any other comedy I've seen. And very funny indeed, I often laughed out loud, very loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing., 24 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15 Storeys High : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Sean Lock is a comic genius. This is by far the funniest T.V. series I have ever seen. At this price you can't afford to not have it in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Sept. 2013
This review is from: 15 Storeys High : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Discovered this after the event on Netflix... yes, it IS as good as they say. Along with Spaced, Father Ted, and The IT Crowd, the best sit-com in recent years. Easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 7 Mar. 2007
By 
Sean (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15 Storeys High : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is top notch comedy. Sly wit and sickingly twisted humor.Great characters played by great actors with a warped script. Not for everyone I must admit but still well worth it if you enjoy your comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty, almost unsettling but fantastic!, 2 May 2010
By 
S. Gilbert "Gil8ert" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 15 Storeys High : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It's hard to know what to say about 15 stories high. It really is amazingly bleak. It's dirty. It's incredible.

The story follows a grumpy life guard of the local swimming pool who owns a flat in one of the high rises on the 15th floor (see what they've done there?). He lives with a younger man who is rather simple. Together they make an odd, dysfunctional yet strangely loveable duo.

The pace of the action is very slow and I can imagine some people might lose interest quickly, but this would be a mistake! What really makes this so compelling for me is the random scenes of what's going on in the other flats. These for the most part have nothing whatsoever to do with the storyline but they are filthy, bleak, believable and utterly, utterly hilarious.

There's no laughter canned or otherwise, so you are left to work out what's funny for yourself. If you find you usually need promting I'd probably leave this alone. Otherwise, if you have a couple of cells in the skull, I highly recommend engaging them for a few hours of this incredible piece of work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 414 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

15 Storeys High : Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD]
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews