Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful album
This album arguably brings together many qualities from Kristin's Throwing Muses and solo music and delivers one great album in the process.

Starting with the up-tempo rocking In Shock all the way through this album works greatly both as individual songs, covering the whole emotional spectrum from powerful, driven songs like "under the gun", through the driving...
Published on 21 Jan 2007 by adrian

versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars La Perla underwear wrapped in a JC Penny coat.
Kristin Hersh has written and performed some of the finest songs ever penned; personal, pained, keenly observed, yet always played so pure and simple - amplifying her razor flavoured soul. There are at least a thousand moments of notes and words across Sunny Border Blue, Hips`n Makers and The Grotto that bear perpetual testimony to this little known fact. And always, she...
Published on 1 Mar 2007 by Kezzworld


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful album, 21 Jan 2007
This review is from: Learn To Sing Like A Star (Audio CD)
This album arguably brings together many qualities from Kristin's Throwing Muses and solo music and delivers one great album in the process.

Starting with the up-tempo rocking In Shock all the way through this album works greatly both as individual songs, covering the whole emotional spectrum from powerful, driven songs like "under the gun", through the driving beat of "Day Glo", classic quite kristin hersh songs like "Nerve Endings" with violin and cello, the album is filled with varied, great songs.

On top of being a collection of great songs for every occasion, the whole album works great as a whole, with one song flowing into the other without any jarring jumps despite the variety of songs, for example the way the energetic Under the Gun is followed by the very peacefull instrumental makes it a perfect whole. Kristin is also going to be on tour for the next few month, which is also a great experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best since Sky Motel and Strange Angels, 5 Dec 2007
By 
C. O'Neill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learn To Sing Like A Star (Audio CD)
Probably one of the best offerings from Kristen Hersh. Vocally and lyrically KH is at her best, with her increasingly raspy/hoarse voice (I firmly believe she intentionally waited until she had a sore throat before recording!!) contrasting beautifully with the background orchestral strings which permiate the entire album.

Thankfully she has held back on the wailing and warbling that made Sunny Border Blue a bit hit-and-miss, and has moved towards using the power of her voice to achieve wonderfully epic choruses (Winter being a good example). Like most KH albums, it will take a few listens to get used to, but once you do, you discover the energy that flows through each song, carrying you through the album right the way to the end.

It's the finest album to grace my collection for a long long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kristin's Best Bits In One Place, 11 Mar 2007
By 
Claire Mcghee "rowingsponge" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learn To Sing Like A Star (Audio CD)
I've been entranced by Kristin Hershs' music since the early days of Throwing Muses, through her disparate solo albums and her experiments with 5o Foot Wave. I've not loved everything unequivocally, but when Kristin sings my bones vibrate, and even if I don't always understand where she's going, I'm always glad to be along for the ride.

The songs on Learn To Sing Like A Star feel like a writer and performer more in control of her muse than she may have been at times, and enjoying every minute of it. There are moments when I'm reminded of Real Ramona - era Throwing Muses, even of the melodic sensibilities Tanya Donelly brought to their work at that time, but the voice and the lyrics are pure Kristin. There are also moments when the simple directness we've heard in songs on some of her recent solo albums is to the fore. And there are songs that just rock.

I don't know if I can pick outstanding tracks on this album because I honestly don't think there is a bad piece of work on it. As lyrically beautiful and complex as ever, this is an album long-time Kristin Hersh enthusiasts will love, but it may also be more accessible to newer listeners than some of her other work, and if that leads to those people going back and listening properly to her earlier work, and paying attention in the future, that can only be a good thing.

Above all, there is a huge amount of joy and fun in this album, something that's always been in Kristin's work, though sometimes you may have had to look harder to see it. Kristin never just gives us more of the same, and I can't wait to hear what's next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Find out what happened when Hersh's solo career time travelled to meet the Muses, 30 Nov 2007
This review is from: Learn To Sing Like A Star (Audio CD)
When Kristin Hersh left Throwing Muses to have a crack at a solo career, she went a little soft on us, with her version of what can only be described as Dirty Alternative Folk. She went acoustic-y and slower without losing an inch of her edge, writing hair-splittingly accurate lyrics and painting our world with her visions.

It was fun for a while.

Learn to Sing Like a Star seems to have resurrected some of the Dizzy Kristin of Hunkpapa and Hook in Her Head Hersh of Real Ramona, only better: she's dirtier, sharper and more gut wrenching than ever before. The first track leaves you in the state it describes - In Shock. It continues to deliver the best of Kristin's promised expertise: bite-ful and noisy with dreamy instrumental intervals, awkwardly timed guitar riffs and needle-sharp words that sweep you into Hersh's musical and lyrical world as if you've just tumbled down the rabbit hole. Tracks like Day Glow, Under the Gun, The Thin Man and Winter (a masterpiece!) remind us that Kristin Hersh is a creative force of nature to reckon with, revere and admire.

For her fans who know her from her solo debut, Hips and Makers, this album is the latest stop of the Hersh wild ride of continual growth and experimenting. The quieter gems are works of musical art and solace can be found in the genius lyrics sandwiched between grunge guitars mixed with string sessions.

Hersh's vocals aged like fine Single Malt Whiskey, with a smoky, satisfying aftertaste that just makes you want to sit down and appreciate for its full glory. It leaves you - much like the fine Single Malt - craving for more and slightly light-headed...

...so sit down and play it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kristin at her absolute best, 23 Jan 2007
By 
G. Dunphy "china_castle" (Basingstoke, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learn To Sing Like A Star (Audio CD)
Been a while coming, but don't they say the best things are always worth waiting for.

Kristin's haunting moody vocals at their very best. An extremely well written and constructed album.

Powerful almost Throwing Muses like numbers, the likes of In Shock will have you knowing you've made the right purchase long before you get to more melodic numbers like Thin Man.

Its just one of those albums that from the moment you hear the first track you KNOW you're gonna love everyone on it, first play through!! A must for anyone who knows Kristins music, a deffinate for anyone curious enough to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most beautiful ablbum, 21 Jan 2007
This album arguably brings together many qualities from Kristin's Throwing Muses and solo music and delivers one great album in the process.

Starting with the up-tempo rocking In Shock all the way through this album works greatly both as individual songs, covering the whole emotional spectrum from powerful, driven songs like "under the gun", through the driving beat of "Day Glo", classic quite kristin hersh songs like "Nerve Endings" with violin and cello, the album is filled with varied, great songs.

On top of being a collection of great songs for every occasion, the whole album works great as a whole, with one song flowing into the other without any jarring jumps despite the variety of songs, for example the way the energetic Under the Gun is followed by the very peacefull instrumental makes it a perfect whole. Kristin is also going to be on tour for the next few month, which is also a great experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A first class album, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn To Sing Like A Star (Audio CD)
I do not review many records, but feel moved to review this record. This is now one of my all-time favourite records. I just want to play it again and again. This is the first Kristin Hersh record that I have bought and I am now buying more of her music. There are at least nine songs on this album that completely blow me away. I feel that the most of the songs are really catchy and the lyrics and music accompaniment very clever. I am not sure how a professional critic would describe this record, perhaps alternative rock, with a grunge influence. I took a chance with this record because I really admire some other American alternative rock artists (Shawn Colvin, 10,000 Maniacs, R.E.M and Aimee Mann) and I remembered reading that Michael Stipe collaborated with Kristin Hersh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Aug 2014
By 
N. Gavin "Full on Idle" (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn To Sing Like A Star (Audio CD)
Arguably Kristin Hersh's finest album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars La Perla underwear wrapped in a JC Penny coat., 1 Mar 2007
This review is from: Learn To Sing Like A Star (Audio CD)
Kristin Hersh has written and performed some of the finest songs ever penned; personal, pained, keenly observed, yet always played so pure and simple - amplifying her razor flavoured soul. There are at least a thousand moments of notes and words across Sunny Border Blue, Hips`n Makers and The Grotto that bear perpetual testimony to this little known fact. And always, she avoids any leaning towards those mainstream, homogenous, twin album warblers that fall from the sky like leaves in the last gasp of autumn.

It is thus a surprise to learn that Learn to Sing Like a Star - (and thankfully she will always be way better than to need to do that) - is disappointing. It is neither here nor there. Musically, it aspires to nothing and achieves little more - caught somewhere between a tired tide and a maelstrom of mediocrity. Correction: disappointing by KH's standards - most female singer songwriters would give their eye teeth (if only they knew what they were) for just one career song as good as any of those on the albums mentioned above. At least this is KH and her incredibly original voice is as caustically unique as ever. So what's wrong? Missing are those astonishingly uncommercial melodies that take that treasured time to blossom beautiful in the mind and live on forever. Yet the words are sometimes there - Peggy Lee, Vertigo, Wild Vanilla all become La Perla underwear wrapped up in a JC Penny coat. Missing too is any sense of directional consistency, inspired craft or emotional atmosphere - stand-out features that have perhaps made me too expectant. There seems to be irony around - the title and the digipak - the cover pics and the artwork; the track called Christian Hearse. Maybe someone said something. Ironically, they usually did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars item was not what I'd expected, and we don't like Kristin Hersh, but her fans might..., 12 Feb 2013
By 
someone (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn To Sing Like A Star (Audio CD)
I had thought this was going to be a teach yourself to sing CD and bought it as a gift, in fact it is Kristin Hersh singing, who to my taste is rather mediocre, my daughter for whom it was intended, was very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learn To Sing Like A Star
Learn To Sing Like A Star by Kristin Hersh (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews