Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough
Just been on a month of running about Scotland and Europe, and this bag has and still is my best friend! Big enough to fit a months worth of kit, can be adjusted to a good size for carry on luggage for aircraft, and is made well enough to withstand rough handling and on many occasion being used as a seat! The top zip pocket doesn't fit much, but for maps, a few chew bars...
Published on 7 Mar. 2013 by Sutina

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IN FULL WORKING ORDER...FIBS!?
I knew that the descriptor was taking liberties when it descibed the item as new,well used and in full working order. It's not new,it is well used and it is DEFINITELY not in full working order. It is starting to biodegrade inside,the inside pocket is torn completely down one side, there is a hole through the canvas on the front,plus signs of mild in the fabric...not well...
Published 11 months ago by Katdinsky


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berghaus Munro Men's Military Spec Backpack (Sports)
Just been on a month of running about Scotland and Europe, and this bag has and still is my best friend! Big enough to fit a months worth of kit, can be adjusted to a good size for carry on luggage for aircraft, and is made well enough to withstand rough handling and on many occasion being used as a seat! The top zip pocket doesn't fit much, but for maps, a few chew bars and if you're lucky maybe a sandwich... Although it may become flatter if you have a lot of kit crammed in.
It has two metal support bars inside, and a neoprene cushion insert to protect you back. It's also doubled as a pocket insert, which was handy for putting large envelopes for certificates without folding them up!
Having to work on ships, my weight limit is 10kg, so this bag is light and perfect for transit on helicopters to and from ship. If you want to improve it, just do some DIY and sew stuff onto it, but to be honest it's great as it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everlasting love..., 22 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Berghaus Munro Men's Military Spec Backpack (Sports)
I bought mine for use at work in the early 90s. 20 years later and it is still going strong. It is the longest lasting and longest serving bit of kit I have ever had. And cheaper now than when I first bought mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't even know I was wearing it., 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berghaus Munro Men's Military Spec Backpack (Sports)
Having been looking for the perfect day sack for oath throwing all my work clothes in in order to run home from work and for long days fell walking I researched many many day sacks. A lot were either too small at 20/25 litres, or too large at 45 litres and upwards. So I decided to take a punt on this one from a trusted brand.
I wasn't disappointed at all. I wore it for the first time yesterday for a lengthy 14 mile fell walk. I managed to get all of my waterproof and warm kit in, along with some lunch, flask, maps etc.
from the first couple of miles I knew I'd made the right choice, it was comfortable, fitted in all the right places and felt like it wasn't there. I am looking forward to many miles wearing this day sack.
If you are looking for a good day sack that will be rugged enough to last the distance and will be comfortable enough to wear all day then look no further. You have found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have piece of kit, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berghaus Munro Men's Military Spec Backpack (Sports)
This is the best daysack I've ever owned. It has one compartment large enough for a day's outing/overnight jaunt. It's simple in it's design with a compartment to place water bladder and a waterproofed zipped flap at the lid. There are attachments for poles and elastic for other items needed quickly, I put a bungee cord around bag to secure the items but the elastic does it's job. It would easily fit in a large Bergen empty of course and if you have webbing there's no padding to get in the way. It's good for military and others wanted something that you can grab preloaded with all your needs for two days. It's rugged, comfortable and if you insert a quality liner would be 100% waterproof. I use a fifty litre Ortileb liner makes it completely immersive in water and keeps your kit dry ( I filled the bath and left it overnight with kit ) kit inside was dry and bag stood up to test drying out in a few hours. Get one you won't regret this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Berghaus Munro Backpack, 5 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berghaus Munro Men's Military Spec Backpack (Sports)
Comfortable, light and strong. Convenient attachments for equipment. Compression straps are effective and it is possible to attach my old Berghaus side pockets using them.
Berghaus Munro Men's Military Spec Backpack - Cedar, 35 lt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple kit, appears very solid, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berghaus Munro Men's Military Spec Backpack (Sports)
This is not complicated: a rucksack with one compartment (or two if you count the pocket in the lid). You don't have to fiddle around with the way the straps attach at the top because you can't: they are sewn in. There is no strap at sternum level between the main straps (though you can easily attach your own). The fabric is heavy and I expect it to stay water-resistant for a while. It looks as though the stitching will last if the number of rows is anything to go by.

I am not ready to review this product properly because I have not owned it for ten years (mine is a week old). This is something to buy if you want durability. I don't ask a lot of my rucksack - take sports kit to work, recycling to tip, carry shopping - but a recent £20 rucksack started coming apart after a year. From the look of it (and the other reviews) the Munro should go on and on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unstoppable, 27 Feb. 2012
By 
ugly dog (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Berghaus Munro Men's Military Spec Backpack (Sports)
like a puppy, a Munro isn't just for Christmas, it's for life. i'm on my second of these, five years in and it's just about starting to feel broken in; my first Munro saw daily use for fifteen years, survived all sorts of abuse (including being run over), and only expired after a fire.
Munro's aren't flashy, sophisticated, or complicated. but if you want a sack that will carry all you can cram into it, and last as-near-as-dammit forever, this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beghaus Munro, 35 litre., 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berghaus Munro Men's Military Spec Backpack (Sports)
A great roomy bag as a carry on as Im hopping on & off airplanes constantly. I do not understand why manufacturers insist on placing the lid compartment zip facing backwards, though? When you are wearing this pack it is all too easy for someone behind to unzip this pocket without being aware of it. It would be helpful to have this zip towards the body to prevent such risk.
As such, I carry my more valuable quick to access items in a separate pouch within the sack itself. A small captive cord with a clip would also be useful within the lid pocket to attach keys or a small torch to would be a great addition.
I shall be interested to see how the pack stands up to rain / snow etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple. Brilliant., 11 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berghaus Munro Men's Military Spec Backpack (Sports)
I bought this pack to complement a large rucksack I have which sits largely unused because of its bulk. I looked long and hard for a backpack which would be ruthlessly simple but also of high quality and hard-wearing, and this one really delivers on both fronts. I have read many of the reviews on here, and agree with them, so I will only add a few points. 1. The pack really does sit quite high on the back, which at first feels unnatural. This is not a fault, but takes some getting used to. Consequently, I also found the waist belt quite high riding. Obviously you can always lengthen the straps to mitigate against that if you don't mind the looser fit. The waist belt is not padded. 2. The compression straps are great. They do the job brilliantly, and as others have said you can also attach side compartments to them provided they match the strap spacing. Of note however is that the compression straps are of a good length so will also give you room to strap small items to the sides of the sack should you need to. 3. The accessory attachment clips are removable, which is fantastic if like me you're unlikely to use them.
Overall, a brilliant design. Equally at home shopping, a weekend city break or a day out hiking. If you value simplicity, lightness and quality then get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars durability, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Berghaus Munro Men's Military Spec Backpack (Sports)
this is the best daysack i have purchased in a long time. i have been using this every day for 4 months now and have had no dramas. there is a useful zip compartment on the top, which is useful for quick access, and a main compartment that is spacious. the side straps are useful for attachment of rocket pouches or tying on bike locks. this is well worth buying. i use it for civvy purposes too where it is better than any other rucksack i have used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews