Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USER REVIEW - Generic, Professional and spectacular value
This shockmount fits any brand and dimension of condenser mic featuring a standard thread.
By example my MXL 990 - Unscrew the black threaded outer collar on the MXL to replace with the SP01 silver equivalent in the seat of the mic basket, which mates very securely to standard threaded outer barrel of the XLR female connecter.

The suspension cables are...
Published on 22 Dec 2008 by Blackmale

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars STAND USELESS FOR SAMSON CO3U
My husband (a practical engineer) and I (a creative writer wanting this for podcasting and skype) spent 2 hours trying to get the Samson CO3U to stand on my desk inserted into the SPO1 with the USB in my computer before we phoned the Seller and realised from his patient advice that:
a)you need to remove the threaded nut in the stand and then despite doing...
Published on 12 May 2011 by Caryl Westmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USER REVIEW - Generic, Professional and spectacular value, 22 Dec 2008
By 
Blackmale (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Samson SP01 Shock Mount for C01, C01U, CL7 and C03 Microphones (Electronics)
This shockmount fits any brand and dimension of condenser mic featuring a standard thread.
By example my MXL 990 - Unscrew the black threaded outer collar on the MXL to replace with the SP01 silver equivalent in the seat of the mic basket, which mates very securely to standard threaded outer barrel of the XLR female connecter.

The suspension cables are thick with sufficient tension to confidently damp out unwanted vibration and resonance without becoming springy. Once attached to your choice of stand this is a very stable set up.

The SP01 gets solid die-cast construction with heavy weld joints to eliminate the "boing" associated with lesser competitors sprung clips. There is a firm positive weight with no give, bend or flex to any of the spider arms or the mic basket. It's all beautifully finished in brushed alloy to give a premium look that belies its price. The mount meets the mic stand via an adjustable elbow, with a chunky knob to lock it in position, again with solid authority.

In operation this is a very secure and capable item with faultless performance that easily meets professional recording and broadcast demands. Purists may insist on a dedicated mount for their Mic of choice and give up an unnecessary fistful of notes in the process.
If cash is tight, there remain cheaper alternatives, but the quality compromises you may be forced to make cast doubt over the real value of your perceived savings.

Want to play safe? This Samson is delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - Works with the AT2020., 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson SP01 Shock Mount for C01, C01U, CL7 and C03 Microphones (Electronics)
Works brilliantly with the AT2020 and the NB-39 Microphone stand - Which to be completely honest was a pure strike of luck since i couldn't find any compatability comments/reviews on Amazon, But i'm pretty sure anyone with a little bit of knowledge on Microphone stands (I an not) Could of told you before hand that it screws onto any mike with the standard 5/8"-27 threads. (That may of not made much sense it is just what it says in the AT2020 Manual so I thought I might aswell include it)

All in all brilliant purchase and I would defiantly buy from Samson again (Maybe not for Mikes though because Audio-Technica are the bees knees for me at the moment :D )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid piece of kit, 24 May 2010
By 
P. Edmonds (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samson SP01 Shock Mount for C01, C01U, CL7 and C03 Microphones (Electronics)
Not the most exciting thing you'll ever buy, but this is well made and feels very solid. Comes with an adaptor screwed in for narrower thread mike stands and the whole thing is robust and easy to set the microphone to the angle you want. A little expensive perhaps, but worth it for the lack of transmitted noise, (I record in a room with a suspended wooden floor and had real problems with foot noise prior to purchasing this).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Amigos, 11 Sep 2014
By 
Wayne (Tamworth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samson SP01 Shock Mount for C01, C01U, CL7 and C03 Microphones (Electronics)
This review is going to be posted to all three products to make it easier for people trying to put together a setup for themselves and to save the 'google time' in looking for compatible equipment.

I purchased the AT2020USB+, a RØDE PSA1 Swivel Mount and Samson SP01 Shock Mount to work together in my endeavours for creating video tutorials.

RØDE PSA1
The stand is sturdy and well sprung. Build quality in my opinion is very good and does not buckle or twist where not intended. Had been 'umming and 'ah-ing' about some of the £20 stands thinking that I could be making a mistake and to be honest - was glad I opted for this stand. I really didn't want to have to worry about it sagging or not supporting the mic or it falling into the desk. It is sturdy and comes with options to use with either a clamp or fitted mount (which requires a bit of DIY on your desk). The clamp section is free from the arm and can easily be attached to your desk and has a thin layer of foam to protect the desk top. The manual does make a point of not fitting it to a desk with a beveled edge or where the underside isn't square to the top face as it won't grip as intended. Once fitted, the arm slides into the top mounting hole, which is then the centre of rotation for the whole arm. The spring loaded arms are sturdy and support the mic and shock mount with ease - even fully extended. In fact, when you get the arm it is wrapped and warns about it springing open, which it will do! Once mounted with the Mic and Shock it is enough to balance it out and stays nicely put. A nice feature is that they also supply Rode branded velcro ties to hold your cable in place along the arm so you don't have to worry about tangled cables. There are two hand tighten nuts at the mic side of things to adjust the swivel of the mic end of things which are easy to operate although you would have all this set up prior to doing any recording. When you move the arms position the actual mic orientation doesn't adjust, so once you have the angle of the mic set - that is where it stays as you extend or move it up and out of the way.
Also supplied with this is a thread converter I guess used for various mic attachments although I didn't need to use it with this combination.

Samson SP01
This cage is solid metal cast and sprayed grey. It has the two (the only way I can think of describing these as) 'hair bobbles' (think of rubber bands covered in nylon), which support the inner cage. They appear to be nicely tensioned and each are joined with a black metal grip. In my configuration there is a about 1cm clearance between the inner and outer rings, to which the inner ring is staying level with the outer - so still centred. My intention for this was to have the mic inverted (cable out the top) to give me clearance under the stand. This is one of my main reasons for picking the SP01 as the AT2020USB+ will screw directly into the SP01. I really didn't want to chance something that was friction fitted and have it slip out. (To be fair - I'm new to this myself and hadn't seen any of these other mounts but again, didn't want to chance it). I also found that Rode do their own shock mount for this stand but unfortunately this mic doesn't fit it. This shock also provides enough clearance to be able to get to the controls on the mic and allow you to plug in your headphones (again, setup before recording proper) although I did find that the Jack plug on my Sennheiser headphones sticks out past the outer cage thus limiting how far you can rotate the mic, a simple right angle adaptor will get me past that one though.

AT2020USB+
Having been recommended this after chatting with Audio Technica over email and a well known broadcaster/ postmaster (and creator of online screen casts (!) over email - this had to be the obvious choice. It has been recommend as a very good value for money starting point in to the world of recording and I have to say I am impressed. This mic is a source of input AND output so can be used as a playback device as well as recording. The controls on the mic allow you to fade between sound output from the computer as well as what is picking up directly from the mic and from my point of view - very nicely done. The sensitivity is very impressive and play back works a treat (yes playback through the mic!). Obviously you need to have headphones plugged up to it to get this, but works very well. Installation (and this was on a Mac with OSX 10.9) was just simply a case of 'plug it in'. Jump in to sound options and select between output devices when you want to record / listen via headphones (you can turn the fader all the way over to just computer output if needed) and you are in a world of your own. Interestingly if you do keep the mic mixed in - if you are using full ear headphones you can still hear if someone wants you in the real world. The mic is supplied with a very lengthy black USB A-B lead - well long enough to go the length of the stand strapped to it with the velcro and down to the floor with quite a length to spare. So unless your computer is well away from the set up, the supplied lead should be long enough. It also comes with its own tripod type desk stand which has a solid feel as well as a mount to screw to the mic. If you didn't feel the need to get the shock mount you could actually just get the Rode and the mic as its supplied mount will connect directly to the arm. My reason for the shock mount was to try and remove any thud picked up by the mic when typing transferred by conduction / transference from the desk -> stand -> mic rather than sound emitted by typing - if you get what I mean . If there was a negative (and its small) the mic has a blue LED to show that it is plugged in - it would have been nice to be able to switch that off. Although my work around is to just angle the mic behind the monitor when not in use - so not big a problem.

All in all - well impressed with this set up and reasoning behind this was to share my learning curve if anyone was looking at going the same way. The combination isn't the cheapest out there - the stand and shock could be cut down but I did want a good start rather than cheap as chips which could lead to disappointment.

I hope someone finds this review of interest and hope you have the same enjoyment.
Wayne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy & well made, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson SP01 Shock Mount for C01, C01U, CL7 and C03 Microphones (Electronics)
I'm very happy with this product. It's well made & has a good quality finish. It fitted my MXL990 condenser mic nicely & does what it's supposed to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what I need, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson SP01 Shock Mount for C01, C01U, CL7 and C03 Microphones (Electronics)
I was hoping this mount would fit my Behringer C-1 and C-3 mics and it does!
It works perfectly well decreasing the extraneous noise from the mic stand and other vibrations.
Great piece of kit for recording with really sensitive mics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, well built., 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson SP01 Shock Mount for C01, C01U, CL7 and C03 Microphones (Electronics)
It's a solid mount and is perfectly compatible with the Audio Technica AT2020. I would prefer it to come in black instead of silver, but you could probably paint it if it's that much of an issue. It's largely a metal construction, but there are also plastics on the tightening screw and where the microphone stand would screw in. Still, it appears to be very tough and durable plastic, so I doubt it will be breaking.

It's rather hefty when you add the weight of a microphone, so make sure you get a sturdy stand for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and it works, also looks cool!, 11 Sep 2010
This review is from: Samson SP01 Shock Mount for C01, C01U, CL7 and C03 Microphones (Electronics)
This does work and it helps to look cool too. Never had a problem with it an it screws on to mic stand no problem at all. Would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Samson Shock Mount for Condenser Microphone, 19 Oct 2009
By 
John Bishop (Gex, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samson SP01 Shock Mount for C01, C01U, CL7 and C03 Microphones (Electronics)
I bought this with the Samson CO3 USB Microphone. The ant-shock mount is a quality item that will suit those looking to attain professional recordings. The side-mount has an adapter; therby offering 2 possibilities. One is the standard fitting that's usual in the UK.

Purchasers might be a little confused in that the CO3 came with a rigid desk-top stand that's actually a nicely practical item - that wasn't included in the product description. However, by including the anti-shock mount in my purchase it took the purchase price into the 'free postage' area - so that it cost very little indeed!

The anti-shock mount is a very nice item and 100% recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Satisfactory result, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson SP01 Shock Mount for C01, C01U, CL7 and C03 Microphones (Electronics)
Bought this to hold the AT2020 Cardioid Condenser Microphone I had bought earlier. Was getting a bit of interference through the microphone, but this shock mount completely solved the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews