Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive instrumentals,maudlin ballads , 3 is the magic number !, 20 Jan 2007
By 
T. rose "sales5264" (Derby UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lightweights & Gentlemen (Audio CD)
Recorded in the winter of 2006 , Lau's debut album is an hour of sublime anarchic folk music.This time you can believe the hype surrounding this release. Lau sound like men willing to redefine how a trio can sound, arming themselves with both highly original repertoire and some superb takes on traditional song. What strikes you is their fearless appetite for improv, some tunes dig deep into a wild array of genres taking in their influneces from around the world and spitting them out in a perfect folk -jazz stew !

Starting off with " Hinba" a supremely intricate mission statement for what is to follow, Lau's sophisticated arrangements add genuine emotion to their instrumentals whilst Kris Drever's singing on the three songs included " Butcher Boy" , " Unquiet Grave" and Ewan Maccoll's " Freeborn Man" match any song on his Album Of the year nomination " Black Water" ( indeed "Butcher Boy" with its additional words and arrangement could be the acclaimed Orkeny musicians most heart wrenching song yet.

The album is a testament to the skills of all three members, Aidan O'Rourke's playing shows you why he won Insrumentalist of the year at this seasons Celtic Music Awards as his fiddle guides and weaves the tunes into sensational climaxes - whilst Martin Green takes the Piano Accordion to places your ears can only dream of! Many albums tire at around 40 minutes but " Lightweights And Gentlemen" pulls you in all the way to the final hurrah ( bonus track " Twa Stewarts'). The bench mark for contemporary intrumental music is here by lifted several notches - Surely one of the greatest Folk releases in recent years and in time this could well be looked upon as a classic debut album. No guests, No frills just three of the finest young

artists working in traditional music today showing us what can be done when you keep one ear to the past and an eye on the future. BUY without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lightweight champions, 27 April 2008
This review is from: Lightweights & Gentlemen (Audio CD)
This was my most-played album of 2007. Excellent contemporary folk tunes and songs with exceptional musicianship. It contains extraordinary songwriting and arrangements, which grow with further listening. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exceptional stuff, 30 Aug 2007
By 
A. Randell "Ady Random" (oxfordshire,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lightweights & Gentlemen (Audio CD)
I'm not one for writing reviews-so sorry if this is short and to the point,
after seeing them live well what can you say about this album....simply that all the songs/tunes from the jigs to the mellow songs are just brilliant.
Play this to someone who thinks folk is all "old men singing with beards"and lets see how they react to this!
Could this be a contender for best folk album of the year? oh yes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightweights and Gentlemen: Lau - Lau show themselves to be gentlemanly musical heavyweights, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lightweights & Gentlemen (Audio CD)
Lightweights and Gentlemen: Lau - Lau show themselves to be gentlemanly musical heavyweights

This 2007 release is the first album from `folk' supergroup LAU. I put folk into inverted commas as they are so much more than that. Consisting of Kris Drever, Aidan O'Rourke and Martin Green, I genuinely think that they are one of the most exciting things on the music scene at the moment.

My wife and I first came to Lau through Kris Drever - we had been exploring some Roddy Woomble albums, and had been captivated by Drever's voice on `Before the Ruin'. We got his two excellent solo albums, and then realised he is also part of a group, so we started to get these albums as well. And what an amazing set of albums these guys have produced!

The sound of Lau is made up of Drever's guitar and vocals, Green's accordion and O'Rourke's fiddle. They are rooted in the folk traditions of the British isles, but are pretty experimental and boundary pushing. This debut album is more traditional than their later works, but there is still very much a feel of pushing the boundaries and trying out new musical ideas. With a great mix of jigs and reels, contrasted with slow melancholic essays on life and love, the three mesh together to produce an amazing sound. I have never heard an accordion pumped quite as hard as this, there are times when you fear Green is about to burst the bellows, then suddenly you are into a sweet passage with Kris Drever's simple and beautiful singing completely entrancing you. Then back to a ferocious jig, and O'Rourke's fiddle strings threatening to spontaneously combust with the friction from his frantic and impassioned bowing. It's a real delight of an album, 5 stars.

I loved this album from start to finish, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightweights & Gentlemen (Audio CD)
Wonderful, intricate, exciting stuff. Sometimes hard to believe there are only three guys playing. Takes 'folk music' to a new level. I've now played it about ten times straight (while on washing-up duty) and I still want more --- something new to hear every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Something new to me, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightweights & Gentlemen (Audio CD)
Bought on spec after seeing them on Jules Holand. Need to be in the right mood but then it really hits the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good debut from LAU,some really good tunes on this album and some great playing from the 3 members of LAU,BUY BUY BUY :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scottish Folk of tomorrow!, 20 Feb 2007
By 
Folk Fiend (Galloway, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lightweights & Gentlemen (Audio CD)
This group are amazing! Saw them last April in Edinburgh and knew I was watching something really special. If you can see them live you are in for a real treat. Can't wait for their CD to be released. Pre-ordering mine now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome mighty LAU, 2 Mar 2007
By 
Kenn Stewart (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lightweights & Gentlemen (Audio CD)
Now and again a certain new band will just blow you away and having already seen the mighty Lau perform, this debut release was very eagerly anticipated. No need to delve deep into every track enough to say it is a stunningly inventive exciting collection from this super talented trio.

It's unfair to single out anyone but Aidan O'Rourke is sheer class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More lyrics please!, 28 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightweights & Gentlemen (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed this album, although I would have preferred more of the songs to have vocals.
I found the first few songs more enjoyable than the tail end of the album, but then I am not really one for long wandering instrumentals.
A good quality album though and understandable why this trio were voted best Folk Group 2008 on Radio 2.
I would like to see them live and believe they are playing in Norwich at the end of April. Look them up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews