Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated horror film i've seen.
First saw this film by chance about 15 years ago and it left a big impression on me. In short, a bunch of bankrobbers wind up in a remote area where they're attacked by psychotic scarecrows. Doesn't sound too promising on paper, but trust me this film is fantastic.

Excellent performances from the tiny cast (esp. the guy who plays Curry), impressive direction...
Published on 18 April 2006 by R. John

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was it worth the wait?
Well all i can say is no, not really. The film is fantastic but the dvd release is let down in so many ways. For one, the film looks like it has been transferred from an old vhs tape, there is no remastering at all by the look of things. Extras? forget it, there's nothing here.

I was so looking forward for this film to arrive, but now i feel slighty ripped off...
Published on 9 Mar 2007 by Mrs. C. M. Stacey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was it worth the wait?, 9 Mar 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarecrows [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Well all i can say is no, not really. The film is fantastic but the dvd release is let down in so many ways. For one, the film looks like it has been transferred from an old vhs tape, there is no remastering at all by the look of things. Extras? forget it, there's nothing here.

I was so looking forward for this film to arrive, but now i feel slighty ripped off! But if you are a die-hard fan of the film (like i am) then get a second hand copy cheaper. The story is great however, i just wonder why the director/ writer never did a follow up (this was mentioned years ago when the first film was reviewed in gorezone magazine in the 80's).

The film itself is pretty bleak, mostly set in the dark in an abandoned house and the nearby surroundings. It has moments of gore (finger ends bitten off, pitchfork through a hand and so on) to keep the gore hounds happy. If only the dvd had been polished off and some extra's added it would have been a 5 star film, but as it stands- just buy a cheaper second hand copy. Its a shame, this is a wonderful original film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated horror film i've seen., 18 April 2006
By 
R. John (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarecrows [VHS] (VHS Tape)
First saw this film by chance about 15 years ago and it left a big impression on me. In short, a bunch of bankrobbers wind up in a remote area where they're attacked by psychotic scarecrows. Doesn't sound too promising on paper, but trust me this film is fantastic.

Excellent performances from the tiny cast (esp. the guy who plays Curry), impressive direction that creates a dark, eerie atmosphere, appropriate sound track and great script.

My favourite bits (you might not want to read this bit if you're intending on watching it)......One of the Scarecrows saying to Burt, "Put the gun down Burt you're not going to hurt us"......Curry going a bit mad in the house and wondering if what was going on was real or if they were all actually dead.......When Burt stops the car, checks under the bonnet only to find the car's been running with no engine.

You know what, i'm going to go over to my video collection, pluck it out and watch it again right now. Truly great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The First and Last Straw in Scarecrow horror is a Field-Good Great Horror with Bales of Blood, Guts and Terror, so Crow get it!, 25 July 2014
This review is from: Scarecrows [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Utterly amazingly flick is a skin-crawling, utterly dread-inducing nightmare of a horror fan's dream, sensationally acted, with an atmosphere that sizzles with threat, it tells the story of five military deserters who have ripped of a federal money exchange and are fleeing as fast as they can to Mexico, having browbeaten a pilot and his teenage daughter t fly them there. En route, a double-cross sees one of the thieves parachute out int the dark unknown below with the loot, leading his incensed companions to force a landing before the ever encroaching night becomes too hazardous to land in, which he manages to do. They leave the plane to hunt for their buddy, among many radio threats, getting nearer and nearer to a field where, strapped to poles, yet thankfully stationary, are four of the most frightening figures ever put on film. But at least they can't come to life...can they...?

This movie really covers all corners, psychologically chilling you with a deep probe from the outset, and that's even before a fight for survival is recognised, and begins. The whole budget for this probably couldn't light an A-lister's trailer (good, keep them in the dark!), but in common with many derided and forgotten 80s horror produce, it raises the bar so high as to what the right kind of perfect team can do with a bang on the money idea. Admittedly, you'll get most out of this film by watching it only in the dark, and you won't look back, though you may want to look away at moments. Some highly favoured reviews brought this to my attention after a US DVD Guide rated it highly, yet if anything, they played it down! This is a bloody wonderful horror movie, and I'm not surprised it came from the best decade of all regarding horror, and it deserves to be far more known and enjoyed and enraptured about the few who have seen it, or a silly minority that got it on here, yet didn't like it at all. Makes you wonder what they do big up. Also with Hollywood sucking and wimping out bigger than ever today (and many other country's films too), long forgotten horror titles like this become even more important and Godly. And Devily.

I'm all for the atmosphere, tension building, intelligent writing and strong character movies as much as anyone, as for mind-probing paranoia, but at the end of the day, a horror film should deliver horror, and this in many old films, and in too many of today's new ones just doesn't happen. But here with 'Scarecrows' everything ingredient is not only present but so horrifically tangible that I was more than happy to just be treated to lingering shots of the still scarecrows tied to their stalks with teasing close ups and candid long shots while the breeze provokingly gave the impression they were starting to awaken from their statuesque slumber as it massaged their ragged clothes. Or was that not it at all, was it really that the movements were not the wind, but them things struggling to awake and release themselves? That's brilliant ambiguity right there and it really stays with you, and another reason for that is the fact each scarecrow being is so cleverly depicted that they manage to look very definable from each other. So impressed am I that I would actually go against the grain and be happy if they didn't move or wake at all. And, trust me, if this was done today, they wouldn't! Cos it wouldn't be them, it would be a field full of stupid asbo brats or your usual serial killer, or radiation-happy people biting each other for no reason. Oh, for the love of today!

I was so shocked to come across this generally out of print film in a local (now dead) HMV standing all on its own around the usual stuff (it didn't even have a plastic label and was annoyingly non-priced) that I took t right to the till, asked the price and paid the full £13 there, even though she said the computer system didn't even show it was in stock or they would ever get in. So it was a sign, and I couldn't hesitate, not least cos only a few months earlier when I had looked up details of the film online (this would be around 2009) there was nothing to say it would ever be in print for a long time anywhere, and all VHS copies unavailable. There's no extras to speak off, but there wouldn't be would there. Just enjoy this wicked, fertile field of corn, it really is the Last Straw in Horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is lovely!, 6 May 2008
A real, good, absorbing, creepy horror movie. Just the way I like them!
No silly attempts at injecting humour into it, which ruins so many horror movies today, but loaded with menace and atmosphere, and so what if the story itself is a bit preposterous? (Spirits of three long dead people living on by inhabiting scarecrows) It works! And that is the main thing.
The main premise of the plot is a group of robbers hijack a small plane and force the pilot and his daughter and their dog, to fly them away, but one robber bales out with the money and they go after him, and that's where the real story begins. I like the way that it's not all explained away and resolved with a neat, but boring, ending. The ending is great and most satisfactory. A must-see for all those who like a more in-depth horror movie with no real clear cut distinction between goodies and baddies and not one favoured over the other by the spooky and unnatural forces at work.
When I first watched it years ago, it was on a very dark vhs tape recording, seeing it on dvd for the first time (I have the region one version) was a revelation.
Great to see some of these old much loved movies getting dvd releases now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Men of straw, 18 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarecrows [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
A group of bank robbers hijack a plane and are on their way to Mexico, when one of them parachutes out with all the money. The others soon follow, determined to retrieve their ill gotten gains. They come across a deserted farmhouse, surrounded by corn fields and a graveyard. Soon they realise that they are not alone after all.
This is a creepy little B Movie, with a small cast and a big atmosphere. Theres little character development, and the plot is a little threadbare, but considerable tension is built up throughout the film, and there are some memorable set pieces that all horror film lovers will appreciate. The scarecrows themselves are very effective, silently going about their murderous ways.
So not the classic I was led to believe this was, but an enjoyable film all the same. The picture quality is a bit murky, not helped by the fact that it all takes place at night. 3 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's with all the scarecrows...?, 1 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarecrows [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Let's not beat about the bush here: 'Scarecrows' is bad, B-movie horror in all its glory but such glory it is! Surely it goes without saying that anyone who doesn't have a strange kind of affection for these cheap and tacky low-rent productions, will find absolutely nothing to like here. The acting lacks polish (though the actors are certainly up for it) and the script is appalling. There is virtually no plot and the dialogue seems to largely consist of the witless thieves swearing at each other in loud voices.

For me, and other B-movie aficionados, this is merely part of the fun. Director William Wesley pays scant regard for characterisation and launches us into the cornfields with barely time to breathe. Then it's a highly enjoyable romp involving zombie scarecrows who like to saw off legs and stuff their victims full of money. Ted Vernon and particularly Michael Simms are great fun to watch and there's even kind of a moral to the story, as the thieves are truly punished for their greed as they desperately try to retrieve their ill-gotten gains. The only real let-down that you can't get away from is the awful DVD transfer, that smacks of VHS quality.

Despite a nicely gloomy atmosphere and some decent creature effects, 'Scarecrows' isn't remotely frightening and so no-one should expect a classic horror. Just take it for what it is and there's a good hour and half's entertainment on offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Video Quality, 30 Mar 2014
This review is from: Scarecrows (DVD)
As has been mentioned here before, DVD quality is terrible, looks like it's a direct copy of a dodgy VHS tape, suggest you give this a miss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bingo...My lucky night...., 31 Jan 2014
This review is from: Scarecrows [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Five people rob the Camp Pendleton payroll, kidnap a pilot and his daughter, who are forced to fly them to Mexico.

Enroute a double cross has one of the thieves parachute with the loot into an abandoned graveyard surrounded by strange scarecrows.

Two of the team jump after their loot and their former partner. Everything happens during the course of one night.....

If you yearn for Army versus Scarecrows, you've got the movie you wished for. Everybody else, this is a mundane excuse for a horror film, and probably one of the first instances where gore favours the scares.

To be honest the film is really pants and nothing happens. Every five or ten minutes we are treated to a decent shot of a scarecrow, and someone gets killed or stuffed.

Repeat this for eighty minutes and you have a bad, boring, bland film, with only a dog with cataracts as the redeeming part of the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Rare,Very Gory, 24 May 2004
By 
James Anthony Page (Swanscombe, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scarecrows [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A group of militarily trained robbers steal a large amount of money and get away in a plane taking a pilot and his daughter hostage. Greed overcomes one of them and he bales out with the loot and lands on a remote farm. The others soon come after him but they discover the farm has a an awful lot of eerie looking scarecrows. Once night falls, the money is the last thing on their mind as they have to try and survive the night.
Not a bad film, but can be an ordeal trying to find it. Never seen it in any rental stores, which is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very scary !, 15 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
there is another release of " scarecrows" from jef films ,but this is better quality , the region 1 unrated version ,the picture is sharp & the soundtrack is good & its uncut! mgm have done exremely well here except there is no extras ! but its a gripping horror drama ,lots of gore
& action . a group, of mercenaries hijack a plane after a robbery & they
need to get to mexico ,but one of them is greedy & parachutes off with the
money & lands smack in the middle of a field of scarecrows! the others
force the plane to land & find a deserted farmhouse & the creepy scarecrows ,but this is just the start of a night of terror ! one criticism
is most of the film is in the dark & you are struggling to see what is
going on but ,its one hell of a movie ,buy the r1 on mgm ,sure to be a classic ! worzel gummidge it aint !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scarecrows [1988] [DVD]
Scarecrows [1988] [DVD] by William Wesley (DVD - 2007)
£11.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews