Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good - but wanted more!
There are so many obsessive Green Wing fans out there, with so many different wishes for the series, that this special could never have done right by everyone. As it turns out, it's a bittersweet, and funny episode, but it does feel like it could have done with a bit of pruning. The parts with the character of Martin Dear in particular feel like they were popped in to...
Published on 21 Jan. 2007 by akg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Holby City on Acid?
The Green Wing Special is the final ever episode of the surrealistic, partially-improvised hospital comedy that has been described as "Holby City on acid": the slightly overrated Green Wing. Carrying on from the literal cliffhanger ending of its second series, the 2007 screening of this feature-length twisting plot - split unevenly between three groups of its large...
Published on 7 Oct. 2012 by S Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good - but wanted more!, 21 Jan. 2007
By 
akg (scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Green Wing: Special [DVD] (DVD)
There are so many obsessive Green Wing fans out there, with so many different wishes for the series, that this special could never have done right by everyone. As it turns out, it's a bittersweet, and funny episode, but it does feel like it could have done with a bit of pruning. The parts with the character of Martin Dear in particular feel like they were popped in to give the actor something to do. But Statham and Joanna's scenes were genius (behold the cows), and all the love-triangle stuff with Mac and Guy is particularly funny and touching. The ending is definitely odd, and might not please all, but the 'alternative' extended ending gives a touch of hope to caromac fans...

overall, it's a quirky and mostly-satisfying way to say goodbye to a much-loved show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fittingly strange..., 5 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Green Wing: Special [DVD] (DVD)
Having waited so long, hoping for a resolution beyond the tragedy that ended the second series, finally we find out how it all ends. I won't say what happens of course, since fans will want to find out for themselves, and naysayers just won't care, but believe me when I say that you'll be smiling through the tears come the end of this most extraordinary of journeys.

Despite the moments of comedy genius we've all come to expect, this is actually a very poignant finale to a comedy/drama that truly deserves both of it's genre definitions. Genuine moments of tenderness appear from the least obvious places, and while the end might border on saccharine, there are still a couple of bittersweet pills to swallow.

While not as colon-splinteringly funny as the series it completes, this still must rate as highly as possible simply because it allows a work of art to burn out, rather than fade away. Like The Office before it, this final episode in an emotional journey gives a sense of resolution to the stories we've become inexplicably enthralled by.

And so we are bereaved again, thankfully without the spirit-crushing stupidity of a happily ever after.

Parting is such sweet sorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Holby City on Acid?, 7 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Green Wing: Special [DVD] (DVD)
The Green Wing Special is the final ever episode of the surrealistic, partially-improvised hospital comedy that has been described as "Holby City on acid": the slightly overrated Green Wing. Carrying on from the literal cliffhanger ending of its second series, the 2007 screening of this feature-length twisting plot - split unevenly between three groups of its large ensemble of characters in a variety of locations - brought mixed views from both critics and fans alike. Some felt it was a typically winning blend of comic acting, dramatic intrigue, broad slapstick and idiosyncratic editing. Others took the view that it was below the high standard that this award-winning series had set for itself, the ending was unclear, and the underplaying of its best character - the deranged HR officer Sue White - was misguided. I am more drawn to the latter perspective. Why? Firstly, at 90 minutes - around twice the length of a normal episode - the Special is overly long. Secondly, it concentrates too much on the personal lives of the characters at the expense of its more interesting comedy sketches - making it seem rather less like some mad acid trip, and more uncomfortably close to a rather unexceptional episode of long-running BBC hospital drama Holby City. The result is a slightly disappointing, overly sentimental conclusion to an intermittently hilarious series.

The DVD extras to the Special include standard features such as: a short Behind the Scenes documentary; 20-25 minutes of deleted scenes, and commentary from the cast. The inclusion of an alternative ending - which is prominently promoted on the packaging - turns out to be something of a damp squib.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its Fun!, 12 July 2009
By 
P. Howlett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Wing: Special [DVD] (DVD)
The surreal and quirky final episode of the Green Wing series. It ties up all the loose ends left at the end of the second series. Its decisions, decisions for Caroline, will she marry Guy or Mac or both? Will Joanna and Statham get away with one murder or several, and how far will they get in the Campavan? The answer to all these questions and more are answered in this final episode in the usual bizarre and funny way. If you loved the series you will love this feature length episode as well. It also features an alternative ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Green Wing, 18 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Green Wing: Special [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the 2 series of the show, i thought they were about the most original and witty comedy series made in an awful long time. The finale couldnt keep up the standard and perhaps shows that the show was best to finish on top of its game before it jumped the shark. It still deserves 4 stars for plenty of inspired moments, an off form green wing is still ahead of the competition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect round off to a brilliant series!, 1 Oct. 2009
By 
M. S. Sanderson "mags" (Tyne and Wear UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Wing: Special [DVD] (DVD)
The final episode to two fantastically brilliant series of the greatest hospital comedy drama ever!! Alan Statham and Joanna Clore continue to have even madder moments than before, if that's possible. Mac and Guy's competitive issues endure, though only up to a point. Murder. Mahem. Sacrifice. Love. It's all here. You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GreenWing - the end, 27 Sept. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Wing: Special [DVD] (DVD)
It was great to see an ending for the series as it left me feeling a bit sad.
Its such a crazy series that you get addicted. The first episode I was a bit unsure as I thought it might be too silly, but after the second episode I was hooked, it was all so much fun to watch, I laughed sooo much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh god, its over. it's really over., 5 Jan. 2007
By 
R. Shukla "dikki" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green Wing: Special [DVD] (DVD)
unbelievable. wonderful. fantastic! this truly is a respectful end to the best comedy in the world, ever. this type of genius is so rare, that when it finally does come along, the blow of it leaving is extra painful.

However you felt about Guy before, you'll love him now. And Mac. Mac's just Mac. Cute and dimply.

not all the ends are tied up neatly, in fact they seem to just be tied up - with a little bit of imagination involved, but the slight ambiguity here is actually very well done, it leaves the door open to a new special, which i hope they do do, because the one thing that is more sad than green wing ending is the possibility that it may be indeed, forgotten.

It will make you cry, make you laugh, then cry, then laugh, then both at the same time.

If you ever liked Green Wing you MUST own this. for that rainy afternoon, for that cheer up. for that small piece of hope that you need in a dark time.

I strongly recommend this dvd, make green wing last the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars delicious characters in a bit too long but quite funny episode, 13 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Wing: Special [DVD] (DVD)
Green wing works best as shorter episodes. So as a "Green wing" experience this longer version was not as sharp and striking. Still, who could get bored with those delicious characters! As a Green Wing fan I consider this a must, though the shorter eposodes work better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb !, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
De Vlieger "narco" (Aix, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Wing: Special [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best comedies I've seen ! For me this is an instant classic, up there with the great ones like Fawlty Towers and The Office. Original filming and a great soundtrack also !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Green Wing: Special [DVD]
Green Wing: Special [DVD] by Tamsin Greig (DVD - 2007)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews