Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2013
Cheap enough and bought for a Christmas gift am sure it will be appreciated when he gets it on Xmas day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2007
I must confess,I had never heard of him until,for lack of entertaniment one Saturday night,went along to a local venue to watch him perform.After that I bought this record and was incredibly impressed by the mans talent.The lyrics came be a bit tame and predictable in places but overall,I found it a great listen. you must listen to the incredibly angry record FATHERS DAY. wont say anything about it but suffice to say, he wasnt too keen on his dads attitude with his wife
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2007
I should preface this by saying that I've never heard anything by Million Dead and was completely unaware of Frank Turner until I heard the Campfire Punk Rock EP. As a fan of folk, punk, folk-punk and anything in between, I had pretty high hopes for this record, especially as I was impressed by the "London city-boy folk" of the EP. In comparison, this record is a little disappointing. Only "Father's Day" really stands out as an all-round well-crafted song and there's little by way of socio-political commentary like "Thatcher F**ked the Kids" on here. My other problem with Mr Turner is that the life experiences, captured in his songs, aren't necessarily the most interesting or engaging. There's a song about waking up after a drunk night out and catching the bus home, a song about fancying a girl who sees him as a harmless confidant and several songs about how tough it is when he "accidentally" keeps sleeping with lots of women. I suppose it works as a glimpse into the diary of a middle class white suburbanite musician, but (sorry Frank) they're not necessarily the most interesting people!

On the plus side, there are some nice up tempo numbers on here and, personally, I find the couple of songs about growing up a young punk more engaging than the "woe is me" love ballads. I should also point out that I'm being quite harsh on this record, but I am glad I bought it and it is better and more "human" than a huge amount of other songwritery stuff out there at the moment. Frank Turner comes across as a generally likeable and thoughtful songwriter but I think the material could do with tightening up a little bit.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Love Frank !!!!! 😀
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Brilliant album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
Amazing album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
Top album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
Wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
This was a gift for my wife at Valentines and she loved it, as she is also Credited on the album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)