Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value
I decided to go ahead and purchase this and I have not been disappointed.

I note that both other/older reviews mention the poor fitting pieces & that they rattle around. My item was supplied with a thin foam inlay and all the pieces were exactly in position after getting jostled around being delivered to me. Having actual shaken the case to test it, they were...
Published on 16 April 2011 by devsie

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, if it didnt break...
The tools were sitting there, glimmering in the light.... i picked the socket wrench and BOOM! the mechanism falls out so im just holding a metal bar, i really didnt expect it to be such poor quality to an extent where it breaks before i use it otherwise it would have been a very good product, allot for your money. Havent contacted the seller yet but will do promptly.
Published on 27 April 2011 by Adam Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, if it didnt break..., 27 April 2011
By 
Adam Evans "Spartan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Spot 01746 52 Piece 1/4" 3/8" and 1/2" DIY socket set (Automotive)
The tools were sitting there, glimmering in the light.... i picked the socket wrench and BOOM! the mechanism falls out so im just holding a metal bar, i really didnt expect it to be such poor quality to an extent where it breaks before i use it otherwise it would have been a very good product, allot for your money. Havent contacted the seller yet but will do promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get what you pay for, 7 Aug 2011
By 
Kevin Glover "manslaughter" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Spot 01746 52 Piece 1/4" 3/8" and 1/2" DIY socket set (Automotive)
while it all works, i wouldnt recommend buying them if you intend to use them a lot. the inside of the sockets tend to sheer if they are used for heavy duty jobs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 16 April 2011
By 
devsie (Chelmsford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Spot 01746 52 Piece 1/4" 3/8" and 1/2" DIY socket set (Automotive)
I decided to go ahead and purchase this and I have not been disappointed.

I note that both other/older reviews mention the poor fitting pieces & that they rattle around. My item was supplied with a thin foam inlay and all the pieces were exactly in position after getting jostled around being delivered to me. Having actual shaken the case to test it, they were still in perfect position. So i'm guessing the company have had the common sense to improve their product & that this is now standard.

This is obviously a more 'budget' item and the pieces are perhaps not perfect quality. The plastic casing is very thin, but seems perfectly functional. There was some general swarf on the plastic case and screwdriver handle. The metal components all seem well made to me though.

I'd give this item 4/5. And think i might be being a bit harsh. I'm knocking off 1 star as the general finish does lack something, but then I think that's more than justified by the cheap price & personally i'm not too fussy about my tools looking wonderful so long as they're functional.

(Delivery time was 2 days for standard delivery)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars you pay for what you get, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Spot 01746 52 Piece 1/4" 3/8" and 1/2" DIY socket set (Automotive)
Bought this set to do a few basic jobs on the car, but on opening i could see that it would not take much heavy use.
The ratchet heads on both bars are held in place by a simple spring clip located in groove.
The whole thing feels very flimsy and I have no confidence in applying a lot of pressure when tightening or un-tightening nuts, you know the thing it is made for.
A few times now the spring clip has become displaced during use, causing the head to spim loose, not good for your knuckles.
Suggest you spend a bit more money and get a better made set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sockets missing, 14 May 2010
By 
Sc Lambert - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Spot 01746 52 Piece 1/4" 3/8" and 1/2" DIY socket set (Automotive)
Unfortunately on opening this product i found 2 sockets to be missing and the rest all over the place, generally i have never had 1 problem with amazon b4 with anything and hope this is a 1 off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Spot 01746 52 Piece 1/4" 3/8" and 1/2" DIY socket set (Automotive)
Good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars cheap but works, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Spot 01746 52 Piece 1/4" 3/8" and 1/2" DIY socket set (Automotive)
quality not great but ideal for small jobs around the house wouldnt recommend for heavy duty use like working on cars etc but did the job i needed it for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Spot 01746 52 Piece 1/4" 3/8" and 1/2" DIY socket set (Automotive)
Bad Points:
What a shame. The price looked so attractive yet the quality of the ratchets were not up to much. Plastic inserts that look a little loose in the metal surround.
The 1/4 to 3/8 Adaptor has a small ball bearing in that should be sprung loaded to hold the sockets in-place did not work, thus allowing the sockets to fall off and on several occasions, meant me having to remove other items of my car to retrieve it.

Good points:
A good range of socket sizes and if working correctly, the adaptor would function as intended.
Plastic case is compact and does not take up a lot of space in the boot of the car or on a shelf.

Summary:
If you really can't afford a more expensive (better quality) socket set, then this will do as a temporary alternative.
My advice is to save a little longer and buy a quality set.
Unfortunately, I first used my set after the return date or I would have sent it back after the very first use.
As I say, a shame that Amazon has allowed this set on their store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not happy, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Spot 01746 52 Piece 1/4" 3/8" and 1/2" DIY socket set (Automotive)
frist time i used this it broke the small ratchet broke off and now it useless wasnt worth the money and wouldn't recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap looking tools, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Spot 01746 52 Piece 1/4" 3/8" and 1/2" DIY socket set (Automotive)
Not great at all. Took them out of their box, first impression - cheap looking!! The ratchet handles are very flimsey. I haven't had to use them yet, but I'd say once I use them I wouldn't be surprised if they break!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews