Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With Bonus Features, This Exciting, Upside Down Adventure on the Capsized, Sinking Wreck of an Ocean Liner Is All the More Fun!
I love movies about the sea, i.e. especially about power-driven ships, big or small. (The sailing ships are less interesting to me, unless, of course, any of them should happen to have a pirate crew aboard! Errol Flynn still "rocks"!) Nonetheless, ultimately I guess that I have to go to the 1972 movie, "The Poseidon Adventure", or to this 2006 remake, titled simply...
Published 16 months ago by Gerald Parker

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This film has it's moments and is clearly far from the remake
The movie itself is pretty much an empty vessel, though it is certainly a product of its time. Trivial concerns such as story and character are jettisoned in favor of elaborate and expensive sets and CGI special effects. Like so many CGI blockbusters, human interaction is merely a bothersome detail; the real focus being on the violent extermination of masses of nameless,...
Published on 3 July 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exhilirating and Entertaining, 8 July 2007
By 
Thomas Elce (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poseidon [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
"Poseidon" is a truly exhilirating and highly intense remake of the 1972 original "The Poseidon Adventure". Where the majority of modern updates fail on matching their source material's quality, this very good action/thriller does the unlikely and actually surpasses the first movie. In directing "Poseidon" Wolfgang Petersen has accomplished one of the most exciting collective projects of the past year, one that can be forgiven its few flaws simply because of the overwhelmingly good majority of it. Not wasting any time in getting down to business, Petersen keeps "Poseidon" constantly fast-paced and hyperactive from the very beginning right up until the closing credits.

The core plot is simplistic and straightforward; Almost immediately after the strike of the new year, a massive wave collides with luxury ocean liner 'Poseidon', ultimately causing the vessel to capsize. So, as the ship continues to slowly sink into the water, and fill with it, a group of passengers band together to find a way to the top, well, bottom, of the ship before they meet a watery grave. Said surviving passengers are Robert Ramsey (Kurt Russell), his daughter Jennifer (Emmy Rossum), her boyfriend Christian (Mike Vogel), confident bachelor Dylan James (Josh Lucas), depressed gay man Richard Nelson (Richard Dreyfuss), kitchen worker Marco Valentin (Freddy Rodriguez), self-congratulatory gambler Lucky Larry (Kevin Dillon), stowaway Elena Gonzalez (Mia Maestro), single mother Maggie (Jacinda Barrett), and her son Conor (Jimmy Bennett). As they make their way through the bowels of the ship, they must face the danger of drowning, electrocution, and numerous other possibilities.

The lead performances are all good. That is, even if the actors/actresses aren't given characters with any notable depth. Playing group leaders Robert Ramsey and Dylan James respectively, Kurt Russell and Josh Lucas clash repeatedly on-screen as they try to figure out what to do in order to survive. The two play their parts excellently, even though they and the rest of the cast are predominately only called upon to act scared throughout. Another relationship fantastically captured because of the acting performances is that of Jessica Ramsey and boyfriend Christian, played by Emmy Rossum and Mike Vogel. The two share an on-screen chemistry that is captivating and interesting to watch, especially in the face of almost certain death. Of the other lead performers Richard Dreyfuss and Jimmy Bennett are most outstanding, the latter especially given his youth, conveying raw emotion and feeling beyond his child actor peers.

If there is to be a slight criticism of "Poseidon" as a whole picture it is in how repetetive the movie eventually because. Not once is the movie a bore, however, but some more daring plot developments and less predictability would have been welcome. Granted, the movie has played out to fit the twelve-and-under demographic, but more innovation would have been welcome. Where screenwriter Mark Protosevich excels is in getting straight to the point early on, not sidetracking himself with unimportant or irrelevant subplotting. If this subtracts from the depth and humanity of the lead characters, it is but a miniscule problem that can be easily forgave. All in all, "Poseidon" is a tight and cleverly scripted movie.

Director Wolfgang Petersen does what can almost be described as a flawless job. With "Poseidon", the veteran director has accomplished a motion picture of sheer power and tensity, exciting in every scene. Getting the best out of his actors and finding a perfect partner in cinematographer John Seale, bringing a shine and smoothness to the picture that massively compliments the immaculate special effects. That Petersen makes sure to keep things going without pausing for observation or monologue speeches only helps the end project, which rockets along so fast that the viewer barely has time to analyse and criticise what they've last seen, being that another spectacular set-piece is never far away.

"Poseidon" deserves to be watched and posesses entertainment value unlike most other modern day action pictures. If you're searching for a picture with any depth or visible character development, look elsewhere. As a pure action flick that keeps the audience gripped from beginning to end, "Poseidon" succeeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh i am Sorry..., 13 Dec 2006
By 
Andrew Kyle "Fangg" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poseidon [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I'm sorry but on reading the reviews this thing is getting i feel the need to stand up and say something. Was anybody expecting it to be any more than a daft action film?? This movie is a silly explosive shouty sinky claustrophobic action masterpiece. For claustrophobic, just check the vent shaft bit...Josh Lucas, who previously showed his prowess in similarly stupid yet masterpiece-like Stealth, leads the way through a network of (upside down) pyrotechnic set pieces, accompanied by the excellent Kurt Russel. I just can't see the flaws in this film...but as you may have guessed i just adore my daft actioners. Simply don't think about the acting, or the character; switch off and enjoy the rollercoaster. Klaus Badelt batters out and insanely good orchestral score... So good...i think i'll go watch it again, right now, and yep, i'm still going to punch the air when Kurt shouts "You stay here you drown!" and still going to feel a tear in my eye at the end...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poseidon, 24 Oct 2006
By 
J. Shipton "Jenniflower" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poseidon [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
What a film! Predictable (obviously), corney (obviously) and totally unbelievable, but what can one expect??? Much better than the original, excellent special effects and an all out good action film with your typical feel good ending!!

Definately worth a watch!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable and unbelievably cheesy, 9 Oct 2007
By 
Dave (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Poseidon [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
I watched this film on my new Toshiba HD-E1 HD DVD player through a Toshiba 37X3030DB 1080p HD TV last night and couldn't believe how stupid the film is. I received the film at no cost along with another HD title of my choice thanks to Toshiba's offer with the aforementioned HD DVD player.

First of all, it's just a tacky remake of The Perfect Storm (good film) which is a remake of Titanic (excellent film in my view). The plot is so lame it makes one treat it like a comedy - i was laughing most of the way through because there were flaws just about everywhere. For example, how can a drowning passenger (who's practically dead) manage to understand the engine controls of a gigantic cruise ship and then press a myriad of buttons within 5 seconds of arriving there?! It was a miracle in itself that he knew where the engine room was.

In terms of acting, it was shocking...and not in a good way. So bad it's not worth delving into.

The sole reason i gave this film two stars and not one was due to the reasonably impressive partnership of HD and the visual effects. From previous reviews of HD films i was expecting amazingly life-like images but it really didn't impress me that much. Don't get me wrong there is a considerable improvement over Standard Definition but nothing special. Maybe the hype elevated my expectations just too high.

I received this movie free of charge so can't complain about wasting money. My advice, save your hard-earned for better HD titles such as the Bourne Supremacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poseidon, 13 Mar 2007
By 
B. Herbert (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poseidon [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
I enjoyed seeing this new version of Poseidon. Please note that the Amazon picture shows of this title is HD DVD And DVD Combi this is not the case as the item that I recieved was only the HD DVD not the hybrid disc as picture. I would have given this 4 Stars had it been as shown on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars it is fake, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
[...]
Doesn't have a hologram like my other Warner brothers blur-ay discs I want a refund or a genuine blu-ray disc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MAKE SURE TO WATCH HOW THE FILM WAS MADE, 11 Jun 2014
This review is from: Poseidon (DVD)
It is an accepted fact remakes ever match up to the standards of the original, however this is an exception to the rule. To begin the storyline is vastly different and as the movie advances the tension builds up to the extent of making one nervous of even considering having a "holiday" on a cruise ship. A GOOD WATCH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poseidon [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Love this film so much I have watched it eight times. Action packed. Love the stars in it. Kept me on the edge of my seat even though you I have seen original. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lifejacket for Fergie....., 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poseidon [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
It is New Year's Eve, and over 2,000 passengers & crew are ringing in the New Year aboard the huge cruise ship 'Poseidon' when it capsizes on the open sea in the middle of the North Atlantic Ocean.

A small group of survivors find themselves unlikely allies in a battle for their lives.

Determined to fight their way to the surface, the group sets off through the disorienting maze of twisted steel in the upside-down wreckage.

As the unstable vessel rapidly fills with water each must draw on skills and strengths they didn't even know they possessed, fighting against time for their own survival and for each other....

So another year and another remake, but this was doomed from the word go, as it stars Josh 'whenever I'm in a blockbuster it flops' Lucas. I think he's a good actor, and some of his more independent films are great, but this, Stealth, and on many levels Hulk, we're failures, and he was one of the big stars of those films.

This has all the elements of the original, the old rag tag team who survive have all their own problems, and they come to terms with them throughout the film.

Dreyfuss and Russell are the main draw here, and they are great in their roles, Lucas is good, but next to stars of this calibre, he just fades into the background.

The effects are the best thing about the whole movie, and once we get to the end of the adventure, you realise that the version with Hackman is still one of the best disaster movies ever made.

So in the end, it's not as bad as many state on here, it's just pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poseidon [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Would have to say that this remake is probably the best out of a bad bunch. For me the original Poseidon is still the best film ever and loved the original cast. This film I would say is OK for the money but one I have bought and passed onto a colleague to keep as she loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poseidon [HD DVD]
Poseidon [HD DVD] by Stacy Ferguson (HD DVD - 2007)
12.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews