Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With Bonus Features, This Exciting, Upside Down Adventure on the Capsized, Sinking Wreck of an Ocean Liner Is All the More Fun!
I love movies about the sea, i.e. especially about power-driven ships, big or small. (The sailing ships are less interesting to me, unless, of course, any of them should happen to have a pirate crew aboard! Errol Flynn still "rocks"!) Nonetheless, ultimately I guess that I have to go to the 1972 movie, "The Poseidon Adventure", or to this 2006 remake, titled simply...
Published on 14 Mar. 2013 by Gerald Parker

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This film has it's moments and is clearly far from the remake
The movie itself is pretty much an empty vessel, though it is certainly a product of its time. Trivial concerns such as story and character are jettisoned in favor of elaborate and expensive sets and CGI special effects. Like so many CGI blockbusters, human interaction is merely a bothersome detail; the real focus being on the violent extermination of masses of nameless,...
Published on 3 July 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This film has it's moments and is clearly far from the remake, 3 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Poseidon [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The movie itself is pretty much an empty vessel, though it is certainly a product of its time. Trivial concerns such as story and character are jettisoned in favor of elaborate and expensive sets and CGI special effects. Like so many CGI blockbusters, human interaction is merely a bothersome detail; the real focus being on the violent extermination of masses of nameless, faceless victims. And once again, Hollywood has mistaken technological gimmickry for storytelling skill. When the film does try to escape from tired predictability it bites off for more than it can chew.

The capsizing sequence was stunning, but so many areas of the ship were highlighted in such a short time that I never really felt I was part of the action. We witness the galley bursting into flames and everybody being burnt to a crispy critter. Elevators come crashing down, people are falling and dying all over the place, dead bodies float all throughout the ship and outside the ship, and it's one big mess. There was no Christmas tree!?! The Christmas tree played a pivotal role in the original film ... from passengers falling into it during the capsizing ... to it unexpectedly crashing down ... to the survivors climbing it (and Mrs. Rosen getting stuck in the spokes) ... to it falling back into the flooding Dining Room when panic ensues! Why leave it out entirely when there are so many cinematic possibilities? Instead the characters in the new film "sneak out" of the Ballroom using some stacked chairs. There is absolutely no plea for others to join them even though they know that anyone left behind may die. I suppose it says something about today's society ... "I'm getting out of here -- to hell with everyone else!" But these guys are supposed to be the heroes in the film? The film has no sense of humanity, let alone a sense of humor about the absurdity of the entire premise.

I suppose that the filmmakers wanted this to be like the remake of KING KONG, an eye-popping, special effects reinvention of a well-worn story. But, instead, POSEIDON ends up being like the woefully unnecessary remake of PSYCHO: there was no need, demand or purpose for this film to exist and the filmmakers reveal they have no apparent clue as to why the original is loved in the first place. That's what happens when you set sail without a compass; you just get lost at sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With Bonus Features, This Exciting, Upside Down Adventure on the Capsized, Sinking Wreck of an Ocean Liner Is All the More Fun!, 14 Mar. 2013
By 
Gerald Parker "Gerald Parker" (Rouyn-Noranda, QC., Dominion of Canada) - See all my reviews
I love movies about the sea, i.e. especially about power-driven ships, big or small. (The sailing ships are less interesting to me, unless, of course, any of them should happen to have a pirate crew aboard! Errol Flynn still "rocks"!) Nonetheless, ultimately I guess that I have to go to the 1972 movie, "The Poseidon Adventure", or to this 2006 remake, titled simply "Poseidon", for some real ship-kicking fun, the extra features of the latter film's two-DVD special widescreen edition adding to the fun as well as being informative. My experience on ships as a young sailor was with those of Second World War vintage, and these modern vessels, like the Poseidon sort or any such cruise ship now, are mystifying, with all of that advanced technology. Then, atop that, things are mostly upside down, of course, once the ship has capsized completely! Those factors bewilder, as well as the fact that cruise ships have come to look, and to operate for the passengers, more along the lines of floating hotels (with or without casinos) than more recognisably like "real" sea-going vessels!

Still, it's fun going through the guts of any ship as the actors do in this film, so I was happy that most of the film takes place not in the ballroom and passenger cabins, but deep within the ship, right to the bottom of its overturned hull. For those who like the "innards" of ships most of all, this is fun to watch, as, for the same reason, so much of "Ghost Ship" was, too. The actors mostly are okay, and it is nice to have a talented little boy passenger among them, instead of adults entirely. I'll be watching this again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Shelly Winters, Pamela Sue Martin or Ernest Borgnine in this one!, 24 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Poseidon [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Director Wolfgang Peterson seems to be in such a terrible hurry with Poseidon - everything moves at such a fast pace that the characters - and the viewers - rarely have enough time to stop for a mouthful of air. And while the movie campy fun and as suspenseful as the original 1972 Poseidon Adventure, the film is certainly short and most definitely to the point. However, you really have to suspend disbelief at much of what you see transpiring.

In this remake you see lots of extras die as their world is turned upside down one New Year's Eve, with little warning once the "rogue wave" is sighted and heads towards the doomed luxury liner. Overcome by flooding, shorting electricity and baked by flash fires, the expendable masses yield with barely more than a shocked glimpse, hands clapped over mouths and last-minute hugs with total strangers.

As the Disco and swimming pool, galleys and grand suites and of course the grand ballroom go belly-up, there's the bunch of heroic characters that defy the Captain and decide to head-onward and upward through the waterlogged, overturned ship in feats that call for a deep-sea suspension of disbelief, but no matter, because the delectable Josh Lucas leads this eclectic, mismatched gang, and wouldn't you follow him!

Alas, there's no Shelly Winters-like character in this version. The protagonists all come across, as rather nameless and faceless, blandness is the order of the day here. Kurt Russell plays a devoted father, and the ex-Mayor of New York Richard Dreyfuss is lamenting being dumped by his boyfriend, Josh Lucas is a gambler and I think a fireman - which is why of course he knows the workings of the luxury liner backwards.

Emmy Rossum, Jacinda Barrett, Mia Maestro, Mike Vogel and Kevin Dillon round at the crowd. And they all have remarkably strong lung capacity, considering how long they have to spend underwater! But it doesn't really matter who's who, or who will sink or swim because once the ship flips, character development isn't high on the list of this movie's agenda.

Obviously the special effects are what it's all about and there's tons and tons of rushing water, exploding electrical circuits, people caught in air-conditioning shafts and being burnt to death by sudden fires - it's all big and loud and contains some expert stunt work and superb integration of digital technology.

The direction is mostly crisp and although it all gets a bit repetitious towards the end - it also becomes hard to figure out what is going on - the film mostly works because it steps up its dramatic speed early on, and its pacing never falters. Mike Leonard August 06.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With Extra Features Included, All the More Reason To Acquire and View This Sea Thriller!, 14 Mar. 2013
By 
Gerald Parker "Gerald Parker" (Rouyn-Noranda, QC., Dominion of Canada) - See all my reviews
I love movies about the sea, i.e. especially about power-driven ships, big or small. (The sailing ships are less interesting to me, unless, of course, any of them should happen to have a pirate crew aboard! Errol Flynn still "rocks"!) Nonetheless, ultimately I guess that I have to go to the 1972 movie, "The Poseidon Adventure", or to this 2006 remake, titled simply "Poseidon", for some real ship-kicking fun, the bonus features on the special widescreen two-DVD edition of the latter film adding to the fun and being informative too. My experience on ships as a young sailor was with those of Second World War vintage, and these modern vessels, like the Poseidon sort or any such cruise ship now, are mystifying, with all of that advanced technology. Then, atop that, things are mostly upside down, of course, once the ship has capsized completely! Those factors bewilder, as well as the fact that cruise ships have come to look, and to operate for the passengers, more along the lines of floating hotels (with or without casinos) than more recognisably like "real" sea-going vessels!

Still, it's fun going through the guts of any ship as the actors do in this film, so I was happy that most of the film takes place not in the ballroom and passenger cabins, but deep within the ship, right to the bottom of its overturned hull. For those who like the "innards" of ships most of all, this is fun to watch, as, for the same reason, so much of "Ghost Ship" was, too. The actors mostly are okay, and it is nice to have a talented little boy passenger among them, instead of adults entirely. I'll be watching this again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a disaster..., 28 Nov. 2008
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The most predictable of 2006's box-office bombs, Poseidon was always on a hiding to nothing: a remake of the much-loved but frankly not that good blockbuster that kickstarted the 70s disaster movie trend, arriving a year after a reviled TV miniseries version, showing all the signs of burning cash as it was rushed through production to meet a summer release date (it looks like it cost $80m but cost nearer twice as much despite the less than stellar cast) and coming in at a very slim 98-minutes (twelve of them credits) was always going to be facing too many negative waves. Perhaps someone at Warners should have remembered what happened the last time they boarded the Poseidon with Irwin Allen's disastrous sequel to the original, Beyond the Poseidon Adventure, which sank with all hands. Naturally, this isn't anywhere near as bad.

Always having been disappointed with the 1972 version, I must admit I didn't find this nearly as bad as others did and probably enjoyed it more despite its many obvious failings. To be fair the much-criticized lack of characterization isn't a major issue here since the wave hits at roughly the same point in the running time as the original, which relied on the audience identifying with recognisable stars in clichéd roles rather than quality writing, although it's a film that's in too much of a hurry to work as well as it could. The pacing definitely is a problem, with some scenes not allowed long enough to establish any real tension before amping up: it's definitely a film in a hurry, whether due to re-editing (not particularly readily apparent, to be fair) or a desire to give the film a sense of urgency. It's not one of Petersen's better jobs of direction - better than The Perfect Storm or Air Force One, not as good as Troy or Das Boot - and the CGI is variable - many of the most criticized shots are pretty decent, while it's often the explosions that convince the least - but it throws in a couple of surprises (including one surprisingly brutal moment in an elevator shaft), has a much better than expected supporting turn from Richard Dreyfuss who steals what few acting honors are going and is much more enjoyable than I was expecting.

The extras are pretty light even on the 2-disc NTSC release (a 22-minute featurette and trailer that feature on the UK sinle-disc release, and a second disc with barely an hour's extra featurettes, with the half-hour documentary on Rogue Waves the clear winner), so you're not missing much going for the single disc edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a disaster..., 9 Nov. 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The most predictable of last year's box-office bombs, Poseidon was always on a hiding to nothing: a remake of the much-loved but frankly not that good blockbuster that kickstarted the 70s disaster movie trend, arriving a year after a reviled TV miniseries version, showing all the signs of burning cash as it was rushed through production to meet a summer release date (it looks like it cost $80m but cost nearer twice as much despite the less than stellar cast) and coming in at a very slim 98-minutes (twelve of them credits) was always going to be facing too many negative waves. Perhaps someone at Warners should have remembered what happened the last time they boarded the Poseidon with Irwin Allen's disastrous sequel to the original, Beyond the Poseidon Adventure, which sank with all hands. Naturally, this isn't anywhere near as bad.

Always having been disappointed with the 1972 version, I must admit I didn't find this nearly as bad as others did and probably enjoyed it more despite its many obvious failings. To be fair the much-criticized lack of characterization isn't a major issue here since the wave hits at roughly the same point in the running time as the original, which relied on the audience identifying with recognisable stars in clichéd roles rather than quality writing, although it's a film that's in too much of a hurry to work as well as it could. The pacing definitely is a problem, with some scenes not allowed long enough to establish any real tension before amping up: it's definitely a film in a hurry, whether due to re-editing (not particularly readily apparent, to be fair) or a desire to give the film a sense of urgency. It's not one of Petersen's better jobs of direction - better than The Perfect Storm or Air Force One, not as good as Troy or Das Boot - and the CGI is variable - many of the most criticized shots are pretty decent, while it's often the explosions that convince the least - but it throws in a couple of surprises (including one surprisingly brutal moment in an elevator shaft), has a much better than expected supporting turn from Richard Dreyfuss who steals what few acting honors are going and is much more enjoyable than I was expecting.

The extras are pretty light even on this 2-disc NTSC release: a 22-minute featurette and trailer that feature on the UK sinle-disc release, and a second disc with barely an hour's extra featurettes, with the half-hour documentary on Rogue Waves the clear winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not much story, but as for pointless explosions ........, 19 Nov. 2007
By 
T'Sergeant (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Poseidon [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Now if it's a technically accurate film with a strong characters your after I'm afraid your going to be disappointed, but in spite of this I really enjoyed it. It's a refreshing modern remake of a classic, Petersen hasn't just copied the old film, he used the same idea and made something completely different. The special effects in this film are amazing and will certainly keep you on the edge of your seat!
Although I've got to be honest I dread to think what the makers must have been thinking not introducing the characters, just before the credits I was still wondering who the hell these people were there's certainly no depth to them!
Now there's probably not many people who would be bothered by this but I noticed loads of technical errors to do with the ship such as the bow thrusters spinning in opposite directions to each other and that all the cat walks etc. seem to line up perfectly with hatches when the ships the wrong way up!

Despite all this I still found it entertaining and would advice people to take time to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice effects, shame about the real tension, 12 Jan. 2008
By 
DP "dp" (Wokingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poseidon [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is a disaster movie. Plain and simple, you expect the ship to sink and so you are looking for stories, characters and events to keep you enthralled. What you get in this film, is great effects. They are really good, you really do think they are in a ship thats sinking - a testament to the fx guys. Unfortunately, you can pretty much guess who survives the ship.

Yes, this is an american film, so some survive but where usually you have to work it out, in this film its evident from about 20 minutes in.

The film is not really something to rent or buy, more something to watch on tv when you have absolutely nothing else to do. In that scenario, its an ok waste of an hour and half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lifejacket for Fergie....., 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poseidon [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
It is New Year's Eve, and over 2,000 passengers & crew are ringing in the New Year aboard the huge cruise ship 'Poseidon' when it capsizes on the open sea in the middle of the North Atlantic Ocean.

A small group of survivors find themselves unlikely allies in a battle for their lives.

Determined to fight their way to the surface, the group sets off through the disorienting maze of twisted steel in the upside-down wreckage.

As the unstable vessel rapidly fills with water each must draw on skills and strengths they didn't even know they possessed, fighting against time for their own survival and for each other....

So another year and another remake, but this was doomed from the word go, as it stars Josh 'whenever I'm in a blockbuster it flops' Lucas. I think he's a good actor, and some of his more independent films are great, but this, Stealth, and on many levels Hulk, we're failures, and he was one of the big stars of those films.

This has all the elements of the original, the old rag tag team who survive have all their own problems, and they come to terms with them throughout the film.

Dreyfuss and Russell are the main draw here, and they are great in their roles, Lucas is good, but next to stars of this calibre, he just fades into the background.

The effects are the best thing about the whole movie, and once we get to the end of the adventure, you realise that the version with Hackman is still one of the best disaster movies ever made.

So in the end, it's not as bad as many state on here, it's just pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Where is the director's cut?, 21 Mar. 2011
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Poseidon runs a surprisingly brisk 99 minutes, with 10 minutes reserved for credits. It cost Warner $160 million dollars to produce, which means that the film cost $900, 000 for every thirty seconds of footage. Wolfgang Petersen's original cut was 125 minutes before someone, somewhere ordered him to cut it down. Don't get me wrong, it's constantly going and the short running time matches the no-seconds-to-spare realism of a gradually sinking capsized ship. The set pieces the film has to offer are all nail-biting and intense, but I just felt that there wasn't enough of them.

I'm not such a big fan of the original. I liked it as a kid but viewing it as an adult I'm turned-off by the soap opera drama and dated effects. Back in the early 70s this may well have been fine but perhaps such advances in movie effects is why remakes of these kind of movies are not so unnecessary. Though I don't really consider this a 'remake' as it is just another version of Paul Gallico's novel.

The characters are all likable and even though the set-up and introductions are pretty quick, we get to know enough and grow attached to them before the big wave hits (no longer a tsunami) and what a set-piece that turns out to be! The initial capsizing of the ship is a brilliantly edited destruction derby in which many, many human lives meet violent deaths. If there would be just one thing the film has to offer it is plenty of dead bodies. But why not go one step further and show some really heavy gruesomeness? I would have liked that!

The idiots (there are usually loads in disaster films) stay behind in the ballroom while a bunch of more sensible survivors decide to escape by going up (down) to the engine room and out through the propeller tubes. Only because everything is inverted, there are loads of obstacles, including a race-against-time in a very small and very cramped air vent. Not all of them make it!

It's a shame that Poseidon didn't do better at the box office but it faced stiff competition in summer 2006. The worldwide grosses maxed out at $181 million, so it only just barely broke even. For some reason Poseidon has had a bad reputation, which is doesn't deserve. The theatrical cut, available here on this Blu Ray, is stripped-down and on the nose. A fleshed-out extended version might win over the doubters.

The Blu Ray features a great 2.35:1 1080p picture and a DTS HD-MA soundtrack with plenty of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poseidon [HD DVD]
Poseidon [HD DVD] by Wolfgang Petersen (HD DVD - 2007)
£10.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews