Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a great World Music album - a great album - full stop., 23 May 2007
This review is from: Watina (Audio CD)
It is hard to imagine anyone in 2007 producing anything so pure, so moving, so touching, so uplifting as Watina by Andy Palacio and the Garifuna Collective. If you can't fall in love with this music, then go to the doctor immediately and ask him to check if your heart is still beating.

The growing number of people who listen to World Music will instantly recognise this as a classic. But it deserves to be heard much more widely than the World Music circuit. Songs like Weyu Lariga Weyu should be being played on the radio and in the shops.

I knew nothing of Garifuna and had never heard of Andy Palacio until a week or so ago. Now I can't get the music out of my head and I've fallen in love with a place I have never been to (and probably never will) and a people whom I have never met. That's how good this album is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A miracle work, 22 July 2007
By 
David Johnson "El Burrito" (Buenos Aires) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watina (Audio CD)
The gentle, swaying title track that speaks about the simple occurance of being stranded on a road opens this truly remarkable record.
A melting point of African percussion and a myriad of sacred rhythms make up the music of Andy Palacio and The Garifuna collective.
I was left in tears by the incredibly moving,"Baba," a sacred prayer sung by The Garifuna people at church in Belize, the haunting voice of Adrian Martinez standing out. Other personal favourites are the driving,"Miami," and the bluesy,"In times to come," both wistful, expressing confusion and doubt over their people's future.
These songs speak of longing and loss, a people dislodged from their African home but the soul running through this music leaves a message twinged with light and hope.
This is not just a record, more a social document of The Garifuna people and as with so many world music releases these days the liner notes are excellent, offering a short summary that puts each song in context with a translation of the lyrics into English.
Please make this absolutely stunning record an immediate purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 18 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watina (Audio CD)
Simple lyrics written in a complicated language - so just listen. You are left with a most beautiful, enchanting collection of music. And listening to it for the 20th time this week...it just gets better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent album, 20 Jun 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Leeds West yorks U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Watina (Audio CD)
Music full of soul and life. If you want to find peace in music this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watina, 30 Oct 2007
By 
Caroline Popovic "Palacio fan" (Martinique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Watina (Audio CD)
Excellent, first class. I came back from Belize at the beginning of September with the album and I still can't get it out of my head. Sweet from top to bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop playing it, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watina (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of world music anyway, but this ii special. I didn't know about this artist, until someone recommended him.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping the Garifuna language alive, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: Watina (Audio CD)
Watina was IMHO the best album to come out of Belize ever, the beat and rhythms are mesmerizing and I could listen to Andy over and over again.
The title track Watina is my favorite, but there isn't a single track I don't like. If you like world music you will love this album.
There is a Garifuna womans Album also released about a year later than this The Garifuna Women's Project Which is worth looking at if you like this one.
Sofia Blanco has a fantastic voice and gives me goose bumps when she sings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just want to agree!, 4 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Watina (Audio CD)
Little to add to the excellent reviews on this amazing and moving collection except to say - buy it! Andy has the most extraordinary voice and the music is immediately accessible but continues to reveal extra layers of meaning on repeated listenings. Anyone coming to so-called "World Music" or exploring the Garifuna culture could not have a better introduction. Sadly Andy is no longer with us but Aurelio Martinez carries on the tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music in the key of life itself, 13 Jun 2010
By 
H. C. Christensen (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Watina (Audio CD)
I heard one of the songs on the BBC some time ago, and made a note of the name of the artist, Andy Palacio, but forgot all about it. I found the note again recently, remembered the lovely song and bought the CD, thinking that at least one song was going to be good, and if that was all I could sell it again. NEVER!!!
Oh, brother, this is such a good CD!! All songs are absolute gems!!!
The Garifuna music is influenced by Cuban, South-american, and African music tradition, which is clear to the ear. But it is also unique. It is soo full of LIFE! If you want music to get you into a good mood about yourself and your fellow man this is it!
Sadly, Andy Palacio has passed away, but his music lives on!
Don't waste time thanking me for this review, just buy it. You will not regret it.
Peace and love to you all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa0071b0)

This product

Watina
Watina by Andy Palacio (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews