Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Structural Necessity
I broke me left foot earlier this year doing nothing exciting or physically challenging and given the fact that I'm no spring chicken anymore, I decided that giving my bones a boost might not be such a bad idea. It is, of course, impossible to review the actual product as one can't "see" results, but I'm working on a "trust it helps" basis. Purchased this item because it...
Published on 3 Dec 2011 by K A Byrne

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse form of calcium that you could possibly take
This is a supplement of very poor quality. Its calcium, calcium carbonate, is cheap but more difficult form to absorb than other forms of calcium. Its magnesium, magnesium hydroxide, is also a poor form of magnesium. It is more difficult to absorb than other forms of magnesium. Incidentally, it is the form of magnesium used in those antacids such as milk of magnesia...
Published 7 months ago by lucas


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse form of calcium that you could possibly take, 13 Feb 2014
This review is from: Vitabiotics Osteocare Original 90 Tablets (Personal Care)
This is a supplement of very poor quality. Its calcium, calcium carbonate, is cheap but more difficult form to absorb than other forms of calcium. Its magnesium, magnesium hydroxide, is also a poor form of magnesium. It is more difficult to absorb than other forms of magnesium. Incidentally, it is the form of magnesium used in those antacids such as milk of magnesia and the likes. Here you get what you pay for.

Considering that most people taking calcium supplements are likely to be over 50, when your body starts to have more difficulty to absorb nutrients, I really think this supplement is not only a complete waste of money but it might be a little dangerous as you might end up taking too much of this less absorbable form of calcium in order to "make ends meet". Moreover, the hard tablet form makes this supplement a risk of choking and I know of more than one person who had choked on hard tablets.

Unfortunately, this is not the only poor calcium supplement around. Literally all calcium/magnesium supplements in the high street are poor and use the cheapest calcium carbonate, which needs more stomach acid to digest and is likely to cause more side effects such as bloating or constipation ( what is less likely with calcium citrate, for example ).

There are plenty of far better calcium supplements in the market. They are easier to absorb, much easier to take and you will have the flexibility to choose exactly how much calcium you want to take at once, instead of being forced to take at least 400 mg of calcium per tablet ( it is known that your body can't absorb more than about 500 mg or less of calcium at once ).

Besides being far better supplements, you will not pay much more ( apart from the PE one). Isn't your health worth a few extra pounds? Which one do you think it is better: To take a couple of big tablets difficult to swallow and not so easy to absorb or to take a big spoon of liquid calcium very easy to swallow ( most of them taste quite good ) and easier to absorb? Actually, I was appalled by some reviews praising the price of Osteocare and associating its price with the quality of the product. The matter here is your health or the health of people you care about.

One big advantage of liquid calcium supplements is that you can choose exactly how much calcium to take. You can, for example, take 250mg of calcium three times a day. All you need is to get one of those sets of measuring spoons that you can find on Amazon for about £5.

All that said, I would suggest that you check the following supplements :

Pure Encapsulations Cal/Mag/D liquid ( probably the best lab but also the only one considerably more expensive than "Osteocare Original" )
Natures Answer Calcium and Magnesium liquid ( the best mineral forms but doesn't taste so good...Then again, this is a matter of personal taste)
Solgar Calcium · Magnesium Citrate, with Vitamin D3, Liquid, Natural Blueberry Flavour ( or Vanilla or Strawberry)
Now Liquid Cal-Mag, Blueberry Flavour ( I never took this one but the lab is good)
Nature's Plus Bone Power with Boron ( this is the most complete one but it might upset the stomach of more sensitive
people. )

Those listed liquid calcium/magnesium supplements, besides being in a more absorbable form of calcium (citrate and so on) than Osteocare's, will likely to be easier to absorb anyway simply because they are in the liquid form or, as it says on the website live strong: liquid calcium... "It's already broken down when it enters your stomach, making its transition to your bloodstream somewhat easier than pills and powder forms that have to dissolve first." Considering that it is just common sense to realise that if you go for liquid calcium it is better to take less than you would with pills or powder.

I am not in the age when one needs extra calcium so I take very little, on and off. But a very dear friend is in the "age of calcium" so I tested all of those listed supplements and more before choosing the best ones to suggest to my friend. She takes either Pure Encapsulations or Solgar Calcium/Magnesium formulations and also vitamin K2 that works together with vitamin D3 and, consequently, with calcium.

Pure Encapsulations is a difficult product to buy in the UK but you can order online their liquid calcium/magnesium from a British company called purebio. They have a dreadful website but their prices are very good ( about half the price of the ridiculously overpriced Pure Encapsulations products you will find on Amazon UK . We probably have those imbeciles in Brussels to thank for that).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Structural Necessity, 3 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitabiotics Osteocare Original 90 Tablets (Personal Care)
I broke me left foot earlier this year doing nothing exciting or physically challenging and given the fact that I'm no spring chicken anymore, I decided that giving my bones a boost might not be such a bad idea. It is, of course, impossible to review the actual product as one can't "see" results, but I'm working on a "trust it helps" basis. Purchased this item because it contained magnesium and D3 to aid absorption. Item arrived very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vitabiotics, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitabiotics Osteocare Original 90 Tablets (Personal Care)
I recently fell and broke my wrist as I have brittle bones and these tablets have really helped me .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitabiotics Osteocare Original 90 Tablets (Personal Care)
I think the added magnesium is an added extra over and above some of the other calcium tablets. This is a very good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitabiotics Osteocare Original 90 Tablets (Personal Care)
Have to take these now after discovering I have osteopenia. These seemed to be the cheapest on the web. They arrived quickly. A bit difficult to get down though-have to cut them up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars vitamin replacement tabs, 16 April 2013
By 
Mrs. Sara Beverley Piggott (Maidstone, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitabiotics Osteocare Original 90 Tablets (Personal Care)
These are good in that they replace what I need ie calcium and vit D, it got only 4 stars because they are very difficult to swallow! They need a smoother outer coarting to make them easier to swallow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitabiotics Osteocare Original 90 Tablets (Personal Care)
Good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Vitabiotics Osteocare Original 90 Tablets (Personal Care)
Came on time well impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitabiotics Osteocare Original 90 Tablets (Personal Care)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tabs, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitabiotics Osteocare Original 90 Tablets (Personal Care)
These are so good for you notice a great change in me when taking theses for a month wouldnt be without them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vitabiotics Osteocare Original 90 Tablets
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews