Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Alarm, Good Instructions, Free Email Service
This comes with well written and comprehensive instructions. The alarm is quite loud enough, but I thought that the light could perhaps be a bit brighter. I suppose however that there is the obvious balance between performance and longevity on a battery powered device - they say this should last for 15 minutes in case of a fire, which seems reasonable. Apart from that it...
Published 14 months ago by Charlie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars They work well but the annoying beep, beep sounds after a year so you ...
We had 3 of these. They work well but the annoying beep, beep sounds after a year so you need to have batteries handy. Also they go off at the slightest thing, such as grilling bacon or anything really so you have to flap a tea towel under it or take the battery out. Maybe I'm just a bad cook, but I'm upgrading to a 10 year battery life one that I'm told only goes off in...
Published 5 days ago by Costar


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Alarm, Good Instructions, Free Email Service, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ei Electronics Battery Smoke Alarm with Automatic Ultra Bright Escape Light (DIY & Tools)
This comes with well written and comprehensive instructions. The alarm is quite loud enough, but I thought that the light could perhaps be a bit brighter. I suppose however that there is the obvious balance between performance and longevity on a battery powered device - they say this should last for 15 minutes in case of a fire, which seems reasonable. Apart from that it seems to tick all the boxes for an alarm with a light, and at a very good price point too. The manufactures also provide a free email reminder service which is quite a useful thing. You can get an annual reminder to change your batteries, as well as reminders to test the alarm itself. Whilst there is a reminder on the case itself for when the whole unit should be replaced you can get this emailed to you as well. I think this is quite inovative and well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect., 19 April 2014
This review is from: Ei Electronics Battery Smoke Alarm with Automatic Ultra Bright Escape Light (DIY & Tools)
First a bit aboit the delivery. I chose standard delivery for this (its free- i'm tight) and expected it in a couple of days. It arrived 12 hours later. Awesome service there.

The unit itself is excellent. Easy to put up, works brilliantly and is bloody loud! The light seems to be bright enough to escape by. All in all I am very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DFAJ, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ei Electronics Battery Smoke Alarm with Automatic Ultra Bright Escape Light (DIY & Tools)
Item purchased to replace a defunct alarm, this alarm is of good quality lights up the complete stair well. Heaven forbid it will ever be needed but I am confident that in an emergancy it will provide the Alarm and light needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smoke alarms, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ei Electronics Battery Smoke Alarm with Automatic Ultra Bright Escape Light (DIY & Tools)
These were to replace some rather old smoke alarms which did not have the benefit of the additional light. They do the job
they are designed to do, although I HOPE IT WILL NOT BE NECESSARY TO FIND OUT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to install, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ei Electronics Battery Smoke Alarm with Automatic Ultra Bright Escape Light (DIY & Tools)
Was up on the ceiling within minutes of getting it out of the box. Easy push button to test the alarm and the the thing I like is that you can register your email address with the company and they send you emails reminding you to test the alarm every so often. The light on the device is really bright and would hopefully show the way in a fire but hopefully this is something I will never have to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ei Electronics Battery Smoke Alarm with Automatic Ultra Bright Escape Light (DIY & Tools)
This is a great product and not as sensitive to go off with steam... burning bacon will do it! Light the light fitting and it is quite loud which is a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellet, 11 Nov 2013
By 
K. Ward (Worcester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ei Electronics Battery Smoke Alarm with Automatic Ultra Bright Escape Light (DIY & Tools)
Very pleased with in and it arrived quickly. Easy to put up, loud and the light is bright. Would recommend to friends and family and a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. R. M. Wood (Rothesay, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ei Electronics Battery Smoke Alarm with Automatic Ultra Bright Escape Light (DIY & Tools)
Battery operated, does what it says on the tin, I hope I never have to find out if the light is bright enough, but its there anyway. If you have not got smoke alamrs installed in your home you are a real mug. Don't take a chance with your family, GET SMOKE ALARMS FITTED, AND DO IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ei Electronics Battery Smoke Alarm with Automatic Ultra Bright Escape Light (DIY & Tools)
Great for stairways as the light is nice and bright so you can see your way in smoke and the alarm is very loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good unit, loud unit, bright unit!, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ei Electronics Battery Smoke Alarm with Automatic Ultra Bright Escape Light (DIY & Tools)
This smoke alarm will get 10 stars if it helps save our lives in the future, but for now it will have to live with 4. The detector is an easy unit to mount and also comes ready to go with the batteries to power it - most unusual but a pleasant surprise. The emergency light that comes with the unit is bright enough to be useful, unlike some, and would definitely be of great assistance in an emergency. When you push the test button for the alarm sound it also tests the light which gives extra peace of mind. The actual alarm sound made my cat leap off 'his' chair and disappear at flight level 4 feet without touching the ground for a further 10 feet! The drop by one star is because it looks like a smoke detector, and there is no disguising the fact. Could be a little less in your face in design. That said, its still one of the best stand alone detectors i have seen or used. Well done Ei for producing a LOUD and useful item. Oh yes, when you test it masy i suggest you buy and wear eazr plugs because it is loud, LOud, LOUD! One last thing. Since fitting the detector we haven't had one nuisance false alarm from it. I even tested it with a piece of burning Daily Telegraph to make sure it worked - and it did :-}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews