Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
well, what can i say its a great adaptation of the first 7 or 8 books of fruits baskets. The series on whole is stunning, but unfortunatley you dnt meet i think its. . . 2 of the zodiac members in the anime, which is slightly disapointing, and other small stories lines which are in the books (and are some of the juiciest) are not there (TwT) *sobs*. well apart from that,...
Published on 5 Nov 2007 by Ms. A. J. Saxon

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm speechless.....
I can't believe it! I adore this manga and was enjoying the anime, but this was an a*p*p*a*l*l*i*n*g ending! It saves itself by having some of the best manga pieces kept.(They also jumbled it around a bit n i haven't watched the pieces that haven't appeared in the manga yet.) I was v. annoyed at how long Tohru took to react in her usual way at one particular piece (dun...
Published on 19 Dec 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 Nov 2007
By 
Ms. A. J. Saxon "mangaprincess" (warrington (-_-)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fruits Basket - Vol.1-4 [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
well, what can i say its a great adaptation of the first 7 or 8 books of fruits baskets. The series on whole is stunning, but unfortunatley you dnt meet i think its. . . 2 of the zodiac members in the anime, which is slightly disapointing, and other small stories lines which are in the books (and are some of the juiciest) are not there (TwT) *sobs*. well apart from that, its brilliant, its a must see for anime fans. Its heart warming, hilarious (Ayame i love you!) *cough* you understand that wen you watch *cough* its meaningful, also it can bring tears to your eyes. everything balances out well in my opinion.

I love it, truely, and the english dub is fantastic, i know this because im sad enough to put the sub titles on while watching the english version! hehe. There are slight variations in whats said but no major changes from whats actually the subject in the scene.

hmmm.... what else, lets see, oh becasue its based on the first 7/8 books, it lacks some of the romance which goes on between tohru, Kyo and Yuki. But thats why im hoping and praying that there will be a second series one day so i can see where the anime is going, because it does leave you on a 'but what about this/that?' kinda thought when its over.

well this is an opinion of a 15year old girl. but hopefully you will find this review helpful, but personally i think you should because i have watched this anime well over 20 times, one of my favourites when going bed (^_^) and also i own the manga aswell, so i can compare the quality of the anime to the fantastic manga it was based on. well im babbling on.

hope you find this helpful.
and please give this anime a chance, you love it from the first episode (i can asure you)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fabulous...but is there gonna be a series two??, 11 Jan 2005
By A Customer
Fruits Basket really has a magic about it that sets it apart from all other anime.
Unfortunately, the final episodes used in this up-til-now wonderful anime were NOT the final episodes of the manga, which naturally means that there was still a lot of the storyline left hanging.
However, that really doesn't make the "curse of the cat" storyline any less riveting or heartbreaking.
As orphaned girl Tohru Honda adjusts to life with the Sohmas, she makes new friends and learns the family's incredible secrets, which are often far worse than the Zodiac Curse they live with.
So when the inevitable happens and she learns of the Sohma Family's darkest secret- Kyo Sohma's vengeful true form, her reaction will determine how much she has really learned about herself, and others. If she can't do what no-one else has done and accept him for what he is, her time with the Sohma's, and all of her wonderful memories, may go up in smoke.
This story was used in volume 6 of the manga, which I'm not ashamed to say had me crying by the end of the chapter!
The final moments are just so tender and sweet that they really put other classics such as Sailor Moon and Cardcaptors to shame.
Will there be a series two? I can only hope so- it seems a real shame to start something so wonderful, and then not finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 12 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Fruits Basket - Vol.1-4 [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I started to read the manga of Fruits Basket, and then found out it was out as an anime. As the manga was so good, i couldn't wait to the watch the anime. So i did, an i loved every episode! It's seriously hilarious and at some points left me in tears. An amazing anime, so buy buy buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wanna be a riceball, 31 Dec 2007
By 
nerfeezah (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fruits Basket - Vol.1-4 [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Fruits Basket is an anime series composing of 26 episodes based on the popular manga series of the same name. The DVD set comprises of 4 discs:

1. A Great Transformation?
2. What Becomes of Snow?
3. Puddles of Memories
4. The Clearing Sky

The extras include interviews with the Japanese voice actors and an interview with the director. There are no plans for a second series as apparently the manga creator didn't like the anime series. However, the anime stands alone as a completed work.

As you probably know, the story consists of Tohru and her life living with the cursed members of the Sohma family including the school `prince' Yuki. The plots are a mixture of comedy, romance and drama.

I first found the series online *ahem* and the story intrigued me enough to rent the series from amazon. I absolutely loved it. At first Tohru seemed like a Mary Sue; perfect in every way and everyone loves her but she wins you over as do all the other characters.

Episode 8 with Hatori really won me over as being really touching and sweet as I did not expect such depth of emotion to come from an anime. I own the DVDs and happily watch them when I need a good laugh or cry.

I recommend this series for anyone wanting to try anime and will appeal to girls especially! This series is a popular classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, 7 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Fruits Basket - Vol.1-4 [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Fruits Basket = Love

An absolutly beautiful anime! I was hooked from start to finish. The characters are all so cute and the story is so strong and meaningful!

Though the series is only 26 episodes it is definatly worth buying! You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Product, 9 Dec 2010
By 
This product is the complete series of Fruits Basket

The Packaging is slimline.

It's a small think card sleeve housing two thin DVD cases. This can make it feel a bit cheap I think but overal it's nice.

The episodes aren't named, I don't know if it's because they never where. But they are listed clearly and overal navigation is easy and simple.

We have a 42" HD TV and you have to adjust the resolution so it ends up playing at 3/4 the screen size. I think this is just because the anime is old though.

Overal I am pleased witht his product and it's worth a buy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Transformation, 19 April 2009
By 
J. Snook "Ichigo_2020 - Anime Buff" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fruits Basket - Vol.1-4 [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
When unsuspecting and naive teenager Tohru Honda stumbled across the Souma family, she had no idea how wierd things were going to get... Until she hugged one of them. As far back as they can remember, the Souma's have beared the curse of the Zodiac. This endless curse transforms each family member into a different animail from the chinese Zodiac if they are hugged by the member of the opposite sex. With an unforgettable cast of characters, Fruits Basket has become true anime classic.
Converted from several parts of the original source manga, the Fruits Basket anime sees the sweet yet ditsy Tohru Honda come to live with the Souma's after her mother's death. Tohru soon makes friends with Yuki Souma (the Rat) who is the prince, and heart-throb of the local high school, Kyo, (the cat) who is an outsider to the group seeing as the cat is not usually accepted as part of the Zodiac and Shigure (the dog) who is just as lovable and loyal as mans best friend should be. The relationships and personalities of the characters makes for some entertaining and very heartwarming viewing. Several more characters are introduced along the way, some of which that are quite sinister and mysterious and others that are really hilarious and just plain crazy.

Being a Shoujo anime, there is very little action in Fruits Basket. This series is more about the characterisation, emotion and friendship. Although shoujo is more often recognised for it's female fanbase, Fruit's basket is series that can be enjoyed by both sexes. While it does encompass the softer, more feminine side of anime, this series can appeal to both sides as it is very, very funny. Pretty much every episode has a scene guaranteed to make you laugh, whether it be the silly chibi slapstick moments, or the tongue and cheek comments and jokes scattered about.
Yet despite that, the series can be very moving to the extent that one minute you'll be laughing and the next, you'll be crying, and then you may be crying with laughter. Thankfully, this comedy mixed with heartfelt storylines works well and is maintained fluently throughout the entire series.
Even thought the fruits basket anime ended while the manga was still being produced, the anime is still very enjoyable. Too often in anime, the endings are unsatisfactory and/or rushed when the anime ends before the manga. This is because the anime has to come up with something to end the series, which will mostly be a quickly concocted, rushed mess.
Thankfully, this didn't apply to Fruits Basket! I have never read the manga myself ( I know, I'm missing out) but I found the ending of the anime fantastic and well suited.
Fruits Basket is a series that I enjoy more every time I watch it. This is because it is easy to miss certain bits, or forget particular parts on the first viewing due to the series' tendency to be very hyperactive, crazy and fastpaced at times.

This DVD boxset of fruits basket contains all 26 episodes on 4 discs. The presentation of the set is superb, with the original the DVDs sat snugly inside a nice artwork box. However, there are very few on-disc special features to speak of; just some trailers and production art and that's about it. Each of the discs contain both the English dub and the Japanese language with subtitles. I personally watched the English dub and I thought it was excellent with a great performance from Laura Bailey as Tohru Honda and a classic and unforgettable performance from Jerry Jewell as the angsty Kyo.
If you are looking for an easy watch that is a bit different from the norm, then Fruits Basket may be your next favourite anime. It's really funny and charming and it totally deserves all the praise it has recieved. Unlike many anime nowadays, Fruits Basket has the ability to be genuinely funny and heartwarming, and it pulls this off with relative ease. These 26 episodes will fly by in no time as you enter the fascinating and beautiful world that is Fruits Basket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, 29 Aug 2009
This review is from: Fruits Basket - Vol.1-4 [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched this series before and fell in love with it straight the way. The characters are so different and they play off of each other in such a comical way. I have not read the manga before so I cannot say if it goes to the original works, but I love what it is none the less. Some would say Tohru was too 'perfect' but I would simply call her sweet and a generally big hearted girl, she is a classic case of 'covering up the past and helping others'. As for the Sohma family, I adore the way they act and think their zodiac signs fit their personalities perfectly. Yuki, the rat, who tries to keep himself to himself and runs when company is too busy through personal fear, Momiji, the cute and loving rabbit who bounds about with a hop in his step and Kyo the cat, a highly strung feline who strikes far too easily at times yet still has the soft moments where I swear he would curl up on Tohru's lap if he could, the list goes on. For those who have watched the series will know how it darkens as it comes to a close and I feel that the characters adjust to it brilliantly.

I love the storyline and feel that it has the right balance of seriousness and comedy.

A truly enjoyable experience to watch, I would advise anyone to buy the box set
I know I can't wait to receive it.

Black-Valentine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fruits Basket DVD Review, 19 Mar 2008
This review is from: Fruits Basket - Vol.1-4 [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD was created during the creation of Fruits basket which is why it only gets so far then stops abrubtly.

Those of you who have read Fruits Basket Mangas already will find that there are many things missing and some of the characters aren't shown but you need to remember that this Anime was made halfway through the creation of the story and so it has a different ending.

On the whole it is a good manga but it leaves you wanting to know the REAL ending

BUY THE BOOKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth-watching Anime, 3 July 2005
By A Customer
Well when i first heard about this anime it was recommended to me because i liked cardcaptors aka card captor sakura. But i had my doubts about it, but if you like cute animes like ccs and sailor moon etc, you`ll definetley see that youll love this one, and i quote from a review ive read before it can put other animes such as ccs and sailor moon to shame, it has only 26 episodes but if your the cute anime kinda fan, dont miss out on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fruits Basket - Vol.1-4 [2003] [DVD]
Fruits Basket - Vol.1-4 [2003] [DVD] by Akitaro Daichi (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: £34.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews