Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent acting raises this above the average drug addiction tale.
Abbie Cornish once again proves that she is an incredibly talented young actor, and Heath Ledger is excellent too.

It's a story that's been told many times before, but their portrayal of a young couple in love spiralling deeper and deeper into drug addiction is exemplary. This is a gruelling film that spares us none of the details of the humiliation and...
Published on 10 Jan 2008 by Tonkfan

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but nowhere near the book of the same name
Despite the involvement of its author, Luke Davies, Candy is a film which doesn't really do justice to its source. It isn't a bad film in its own right (in fact it is good, if you like films about junkies), but it's not one that I would have chosen to watch if I wasn't such a big fan of the original book (I've read it a lot of times, and it's fresh every time)...
Published on 26 Jun 2007 by Bill Fraud


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent acting raises this above the average drug addiction tale., 10 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candy [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Abbie Cornish once again proves that she is an incredibly talented young actor, and Heath Ledger is excellent too.

It's a story that's been told many times before, but their portrayal of a young couple in love spiralling deeper and deeper into drug addiction is exemplary. This is a gruelling film that spares us none of the details of the humiliation and indignities addicts will put themselves through to feed their habit, yet it's told with such compassion and complete lack of judgement, that you desperately want these two young people to pull through and live 'happy ever ever'.

Add to this great direction, clever camera work and a moving supporting performance from Geoffrey rush and you've got a film that's well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 16 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Candy [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film that will stay in my mind for a long while. Several times throughout watching it, it suddenly re-hit me that Ledger is no longer with us and it made me ache in a way I hadn't when I first heard he'd died. There's so much to talk about with Candy, but the over-riding aspect of it is the direction.

Some scenes focus on Dan and Candy (Ledger and Abbie Cornish) living in bedsit squalor, strung out, bleak and dark. But other scenes glow with Summer sun-light. From sweeping slow-motion shots of golden corn swaying in the breeze, to the two lovers kissing while the sunlight tickles their faces... it's beautifully languid; it's gorgeous. And all the more bleak for it.

Candy is broken up into 3 parts: Heaven, Earth and Hell. Heaven chronicles their relationship in the beginning, when heroin was a hobby, and when the bulk of their sustenance was sunshine and each other. In any other film, these 2 actors could play the jock and cheer-leader of the high-school so beautiful are they, which makes their inexorable slide into addiction all the more shocking. Earth is where they are bouncing from hit to hit, suffering and in pain, but still able to find themselves again if they tried to look.

When Candy becomes pregnant, they try to go cold turkey, and they are on the very brink of coming out the other side, when she loses the baby. We are shown the still-birth baby when his dad asks to hold him, and the reactions of both Ledger and Cornish will make you curl in on yourself. Tragedy shadows them both from the opening scene, but this event is what makes them really hit rock bottom, at which point we enter the segment entitled Hell. 2 minutes into Hell, I got in my car and went for a drive. I needed to be reminded that the world is beautiful, and that I wasn't alone. Such is this movie's ability to draw you in to the isolated, tiny world of the two protaganists.

Adding to the atmosphere, both beautiful and bleak, is the extraordinary score. With choral music, piano and violin concertos, all of it gentle and moving, Debussy might have scored this film were he still alive. The most poignant violin piece is slightly reminiscent of Adagio for Strings, in some ways. Different melody entirely, but with the same soaring strings that seem to sting your eyes til they inadvertently weep of their own volition.

There are no twists, no turns. No jump out of your skin moments. We are carried along relatively slowly and our intelligence isn't insulted. Candy depicts the cruelties of drug addiction, and it does so exquisitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is this film not better known?, 7 Dec 2009
By 
Holly Ford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Candy [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Candy has to rate as one of my favourite films of all times. I fell in love with it the first time I saw it, after discovering it by complete chance after joining an Abbie Cornish group on Facebook last year, and every time I've seen it since, I've loved it more and more. There's always something new to notice, another scene which for whatever reason will have a different effect on you than it did the last time you saw it.
The title sequence alone, with a tear-jerking version of Song to the Siren, is enough to move the audience in a way that most films never achieve.
An outstanding cast, brilliant script, very well directed and just all round amazing. Be warned though, this film is not for the faint-hearted. Several scenes are quite graphic and upsetting, and even I, who never cries at films, ever, had tears in my eyes twice during this. Seeing this film only after Heath Ledger had died made it all the more moving, and I actually felt incredibly guilty for not recognising him as the amazing talent he was while he was alive. Equally Abbie Cornish shows herself to be incredibly talented, and makes me wonder how the hell she's gone relatively unnoticed, media-wise.
My only question regarding this film is why, when Heath Ledger's film credits are mentioned, does this film never appear in the lists? This stunning film really does deserve a lot more attention than it got.

NB: I've read the book as well, which was equally fantastic, if not slightly disturbing and just plain graphic, both in terms of drug usage and sex. Still, I highly reccommend them both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 24 July 2008
This review is from: Candy [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
"When I first met Candy..."
Heath Ledger gives an astounding performance as Dan, a friendly poet and the lover of painter Candy, played by Abbie Cornish, who is attracted to his bohemian lifestyle. The two are drug abusers and find themselves becoming more and more addicted to heroin, and also each other.

The film makes you want to cry, both actors delivering bewilderingly beautiful performances. Dan's inability to refuse Candy anything making him a weak central charater whom we love, Ledger's calm deep voice makes Dan as real as any boy you'd meet on the street.

People who compare the book to the film, should stop and marval at the film as an entity of its own - the directing is brilliant and the humor is also great.

It's worth a watch by everyone and will stay in your mind for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superbly acted by ledger and cornish - conveying so much emotion without words, 2 Feb 2007
This review is from: Candy [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film exploring the power of addiction, in drugs, in love, this film explores similar material to Aronofsky's Requiem for a Dream, but without the use of the visual tricks. which makes them both worth a watch as this film uses a more poignant story-telling style than RfaD's aggressive clips. Obviously the nature of the material (heroin addiction) means that its not going to be the type of film where you leave the cinema beaming from ear to ear or crying with laughter, but equally the message isn't as dark as it could have been (or indeed as it was in RfaD). The score is good, the acting solid for all the major parts and despite the simple story, it keeps you interested throughout - its well paced to allow for good character development whilst still giving you the impression that you're going somewhere with it. The end is extremely poignant and believable, definitely one of the best films I saw in 2006, along with Volver and Little Miss Sunshine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking film!, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candy [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is breathtaking amazing, incredible acting and a beautiful yet sad storyline. My favorite film of all time it is simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candy [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Expert acting all round and Rush is awesome as ever! Another Heath classic. Love how a film makes me feel with an ending like that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all i can say is WOW, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Candy [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
AMAZING acting deserves a 100 not a 5. real life drug use in australia how it can make you turn crazy make you do thing you'd think you would never do

very inspiring heath ledger is a legend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tough, heartfelt, honest portrayal of addiction, 17 Oct 2012
By 
R. J. Ellory "Word Addict" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Candy [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
The really stand-out aspect of this excellently-scripted and acted film is Abbie Cornish's performance. Ledger is great, but Cornish is searingly brilliant as Candy. This is a tough film, and - as a portrayal of the desperation and futility of drug addiction - it is uncomfortably close-to-the-bone. Divided into three acts, called 'Heaven', 'Earth' and 'Hell' respectively, it is not without its redemptive qualities, but it is a heavy-going film, and not for those who like fairytale depictions of such subject matter. Alongside Ledger and Cornish, Geoffrey Rush adds a certain whimsical humour to his role as a drug-dependent organic chemist and academic, and Abbie's parents are also played superbly. Highly recommended, but not if you're looking for something 'entertaining'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trainspotting 2, 12 Sep 2012
This review is from: Candy [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
not an all time classic like Trainspotting but i would just about recommend this as watchable, largely as the real-life drug angle has plenty of elements to keep the viewer interested. has more of a documentary style than trainspotting, which was mostly comedy thinking back.

because its more of a documentary style it suffers a bit from lack of entertainment value and is quite dull in places. felt like it could have been longer and bits that came out of nowhere such as candy's breakdown could have been expanded.

overall a worthwhile watch for a rainy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Candy [2006] [DVD]
Candy [2006] [DVD] by Neil Armfield (DVD - 2007)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews