Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ballad of Cable Hogue
I first saw this western on the TV several years ago and since then I have been trying to find a copy. It's a slighty off beat western with both humour and pathos. The song "Butterfly Morning" sung by Stella Stevens and Jason Robards togeter with the film images that accompany it can only be described as beautiful.

Jason Robards performace is outstanding...
Published on 20 Feb 2007 by Mr. C. Plail

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, sometimes ramshackle Western
It is very hard to categorise this film. The first thing to make clear is that it is unlike any other Peckinpah film that I am aware of - so do not expect Wild Bunch Mk2! It follows the story of Cable Hogue who is betrayed over some water by two scoundrels and apparently doomed but by luck he stumbles upon a previously unknown waterhole and sets himself up in business. He...
Published on 26 April 2011 by J. Bloss


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ballad of Cable Hogue, 20 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. C. Plail (North Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first saw this western on the TV several years ago and since then I have been trying to find a copy. It's a slighty off beat western with both humour and pathos. The song "Butterfly Morning" sung by Stella Stevens and Jason Robards togeter with the film images that accompany it can only be described as beautiful.

Jason Robards performace is outstanding portraying the character with both charm and honesty, Stella Stevens is bewitching as the whore with a heart, David Hemmings as the randy preacher is superb. In fact all the casting is outstanding.

Buy it and I'm sure like me you'll watch it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this boxset...., 28 Sep 2006
By 
D. Sablic (Rijeka, Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...it's great; best western movies ever, from director Sam Peckinpah in one box. Includes: 2 Disc Special Editions of "The Wild Bunch" and "Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid"( which has two versions) and single disc editions of "The Ballad of Cable Hogue" and "Ride the High Country." Box set is filled with good extras ( such as documentaries, featurettes, trailers and audio commentaries for each movie); there is something on each disc to explore. Buy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Boxset Of One Of The Best Directors Ever!, 28 July 2006
By 
S. Riley "Sam" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow this is a great price for some of the best Westerns made, Sam Peckinpah was a geat Director & this Boxset is Proof of that, Ride The High Country is 1 of the best Old Westerns with 2 great turns form Scott & McCrea. The Wild Bunch, so much as been said about film dont know what to say, just the BEST Western ever! The Ballard Of Cable Hogue is lovely little unseen {shame} film with a nice little turn from Jason Robards and a change of mood for Peckinpah. Pat Garrett And Billy The Kid is James Coburns best film & a real Gem for fans, with the 2 versions of the film, the new 1 with the missing Garrett/wife home scene & a few cuts here & there, Im still very glad that you have the Turner Preview as well, i think its just a little better. All in all NO Western fan should be without this Set

Sam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An oddball classic., 27 Oct 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was pleased when The Ballad of Cable Hogue was reissued, having only read about in it in If They Move Kill 'Em & John Cale's song Cable Hogue. As with some Peckinpah films (most notably Bring Me the Head of Alfredo Garcia) it has been rarely shown on TV and had been impossible to locate on VHS.
It is quite odd and comic compared to Pecknipah's more famous The Wild Bunch and certainly has an oddball, abusurd element that featured to a lesser degree in Pat Garrett & Billy the Kid. Jason Robards is excellent in the lead role, his grizzled Cable Hogue not unrelated to the character he portrayed in Sergio Leone's Once Upon a Time in the West (something to do with death?). It is quite odd and almost Beckettian in parts, while there are homoerotic elements unusual to the Western genre. It does feel of it's time, largely to the split-screen shots- which are very of its time and place it next to films like The Thomas Crown Affair, Head, Valley of the Dolls & The Boston Strangler.
Great that this is available again, and at budget price- this film is well placed in Peckinpah's genre and has a lot more emotional feeling than later films (such as the over-rated Straw Dogs or the messy Osterman Weekend). A curio maybe, but a film that aids the critical reassessment of Peckinpah's oeuvre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peckinpah Western genius, 14 Jan 2009
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Although Cross of Iron is my favourite Peckinpah movie none of these disappoint. From Ride the High Country through to Pat Garrett and Bily the Kid Peckinpah stamps his own distinctive mark on the western genre.

The themes that runs through Ride the High Country are present in The Wild Bunch and for that matter in Bring me the head of Alfredo Garcia as well. Take the classic wedding sequence in RTHC. Elsa has runaway to spite her father and commits to marrying Billy Hammond. Hammond it turns out is one five brothers who are borderline nutcases, reminding me vaguely of a 'Hills have Eyes' like group. So a squalid group of brothers whose attitude to women is, well, backward. Elsa is torn between backing out of the wedding, because she realises the nature of the men, but she is either too scared or still wants to spite her father. This theme of squalidness is ever an present theme in Peckinpahs movies. Fortunately for Elsa there is another way out.

The Wild Bunch takes another theme used in RTHK; that of aging cowboys who want to make one last stand for what they believe to be right in the dying west. There are some marvellous set pieces in this film, noteably two epic gunfights. The boxed set has two editions of the film, both of which attempt to restore the film to Peckinpah's original vision. This is a film which improves with every viewing.

Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid and The Ballad of Cable Hogue are both quality films as well. Only time prevents me from writing another couple of paragraphs on these as well.

Overall a great boxed set, with many interesting extras as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars splendiferous entertainment, 19 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Ballad of Cable Hogue (DVD)
Directed by Sam Peckinpah, The Ballad of Cable Hogue is a brilliant little gem of a movie that somehow never made it onto the national radar screen when it was released. A major departure for Peckinpah, whose forte back then was the ultra violent epic-movies like The Wild Bunch and the highly acclaimed Straw Dogs-The Ballad of Cable Hoague tells the tail of a fellow abandoned for dead out in the western desert who is lucky enough to find the equivalent of an oasis and converts the spot into a way station for the pony express and the stage coach runs of the time. Wonderfully acted by Robards as Hoague and Stella Stevens as the nearby town's "working girl" as his romantic interest, the story is in essence a depiction of western life and the characters of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Peckinpah Primer, 21 Dec 2010
By 
C. Gwilliam (Saone et Loire, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bargain set to help you fill out your Peckinpah collection, which reveals the director's unsurpassed handling of the western genre, but also, in the case of "Pat Garrett..." reveals the studio's mistrust of his wayward talent. This box-within-a-box containing both the 1980's Turner restoration of the film, which was butchered by the studio when it was first released, and also a slightly longer anniversary reconstruction, is worth watching back to back so you can appreciate the differences in the 2 versions. The Turner version makes a complete shambles of the sequence at the lakeside where a shot Slim Pickens sits in the dusk with his wife Katy Jurado - the "Knocking on Heaven's Door" song on Bob Dylan's soundtrack is missing. But the anniversary version also omits material. What we still await is a definitive cut incorporating what Peckinpah shot. Others of course may argue that he was undisciplined and not the best judge of how to handle his own material.
"The Wild Bunch" special edition is a clean restoration in full wide screen, the less well known "Ride the Wild Country" is perhaps the weakest of the set though with some splendid moments, and "Cable Hogue" is glorious, a career high for Jason Robards Jr. Recommended.
Chris Gwilliam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality box set, 29 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a very nice sam peckinham collection here starting with the lighthearted "the ballad of cable hogue" , then the gritty "pat garret and billy the kid" {best version made} then we get the savage "the wild bunch" and finally the jewel in the crown "ride the high country" that was to be a fitting swansong for randolph scott and joel mcrea {although one of them did end up making another film} but a beautiful film just the same.great investment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peckinpah's lyrical vision of the West provides humour and comfort to director and viewer alike., 15 July 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ballad of Cable Hogue (DVD)
The Ballad Of Cable Hogue sees Sam Peckinpah in jolly form. There is nothing here to trouble the censors, a bit of violence here and there-and some nasty human traits seam thru the story, but this is purely a funny and touching movie that again deals with a Peckinpah fave theme of the Old West passing. Only difference is here he has his tongue firmly in cheek as he observes the thirst for finance sweeping across the country.

Cable Hogue is a prospector left for dead in the desert by his two double-crossing partners Bowen & Taggart. Wandering across the desert talking to god, Hogue collapses during a sandstorm and finds mud on his boot, after digging down for a while he finds the miracle of water (tho Hogue badly misspells this on his advertisement). An encounter with preacher Joshua convinces Hogue to go patent his spring and make a killing selling water to the passing stagecoach trail that runs by his newly found oasis. After striking a deal in the town of Dead Dog, Hogue is set up nicely while into the bargain he falls for gorgeous prostitute Hildy. The film cheekily (just like Hogue) has established itself as a fine piece by the time it takes it's dark turn. It seems that revenge is the new found recipe on the Cable Springs Menu.

This was Sam Peckinpah's favourite film from his own CV, it's his most personal, he apparently saw a lot of himself in Cable Hogue, and with that in mind the film does gain a bit more emotional heart. But strikingly, it's the humour in there that shouldn't be understated, this was the director at one with himself, and the result is lyrical deftness. The cast are great, Jason Robards is wonderful in the title role, Stella Stevens as Hildy shows a fine actress at work. So much so it only makes me lament that she didn't have a great and industrious career post Cable Hogue. Peckinpah faves Strother Martin, L.Q. Jones & Slim Pickens reward their loyal director with impacting shows, while David Warner as the confused preacher Joshua practically steals the film with his hedonistic leanings.

Don't go into this film expecting a blood and thunder Western and you will be pleasantly surprised at it's heartbeat. Different sort of Peckinpah, but it's also essential Peckinpah. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a very pleasant surprise!, 23 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally wanted "The Ballad of Cable Hogue", which I knew was a very good film, in spite of being directed by Peckinpah - a man who traded on violence to sell his pictures - didn't he? However, the only version of Hogue available cost more than the price of this set, so I went for the set, anticipating giving most of it away. After all, "Ride the High Country" was just a vehicle for those ageing '50s diehards Scott and McCrae to retire on, "Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid" I'd seen on telly and it was a mess, and "The Wild Bunch" was just gratuitous violence - everyone knew that - moreover, I'd seen that on telly too and it was also a disjointed mess. Still, before giving them away, I thought I'd watch the DVD versions of these films - after all, I'd paid for them.

I'll start with "The Wild Bunch" - what a revelation! This is a great movie! The TV version had obviously been cut mercilessly and the Director's Cut on DVD is simply completely different. An excellent cast makes light work of an intelligent, exciting, and interesting plot set mostly in the Mexico of 1911 during the early days of Pancho Villa's revolt. Fair enough, it's violent, but then so were the times! However, the main things you come away with in this movie are an empathy with the main characters, developed with great skill by the director, and an understanding that the ending is absolutely right and inevitable. "Ride the High Country" has all the strengths of "The Wild Bunch" but is less dramatic, less violent, and more of a complex morality tale. The veteran actors are handled securely by the young director, producing a movie which most will remember with great fondness and want to see again. "Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid" was butchered by the producer for release, and if shows on the TV version. On this DVD set, the first attempt at a reconstruction is provided, together with a much later version that is claimed to be more complete. Believe me, it makes a world of difference, I don't think I will ever watch a movie on TV again! Again, this is a great film, treating a difficult subject with great understanding and compassion. And I've still got "The Ballad of Cable Hogue" to look forward to!

In summary, this set is worth it for the Director's cut of "The Wild Bunch" alone! When you consider you are getting three other fine movies, lots of excellent documentary material, plus an extra version of one of the movies, it's a steal! What are you waiting for, order it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ballad of Cable Hogue
The Ballad of Cable Hogue by Sam Peckinpah (DVD)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews