Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars110
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£4.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 May 2014
In spite of having some truly awful experiences with Silverline products, in particular their execrable sanding discs for Random Orbit devices (see my apoplectic review on all the appropriate pages) I live in hope and continue to buy the occasional product trusting that this time, surely, it might - MUST?? - work.

This time it does. Their on-the-roll sanding paper, while not being the absolute best, is good enough for real-world use and also represents outstanding value for money. It needs a bit of care not to rip it, (see below) particularly when wrapping it round a badly-designed palm sander but otherwise it's a good GP product that I will continue to buy.

A tip for anyone not knowing it:
When you've taken a piece of the roll, hold an end in each hand, grit side UP, and drag it across the edge of your bench a few times to "break its back"
This way, when its wrapped around a sanding block or a palm sander, it is far less likely to crack and tear than if you don't do it.

tip 2
Hanging a roll in a badly-lit bathroom is NOT funny.

Donations accepted at the usual P.O. box.
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
A really excellent product for sanding down almost anything - I have used it on plaster and plaster repairs (filler), and also wood (swollen gate). I have used it hand-held, wrapped around a sanding block, and also mounted in a sanding holder. I have also used different grades - 80 Grit and 120 Grit - depending on the situation and required finishing.
To date, all applications have proved very successful and relatively easily accomplished - all DIY-ers should keep a roll in stock!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
I was not expecting much from a silverline product but this roll of sandpaper is alright. Maybe not as thick as dearer brands but thick enough. I have used it on my orbital sander and also cut to shape and glued onto my worn sanding pads for both my detail mouse sander and my oscillating multi tool as this isva cheaper options than buying new sanding pads. So I give this product 5 stars.
Did you know that in Oklahoma USA. Anyone arrested for soliciting a hooker must have their name and picture shown on television.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Another fantastic cheap product from silverline! I bought this keep my honing stone - used to sharpen knives and razors - nice and flat by cutting on a short piece, sticking it to a flat glass chopping board by spraying a little water underneath, and running the stone over it. It does just as good of a job as any other wet and dry paper. It generates a nice slurry when used which is important for sharpening metals/"taking the egde off a blade".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Very tightly wound roll of sandpaper, decent price for the amount you get, ultra strong so will last a lot of use before needing to change to a new sheet, tap the sanding block on a flat surface, good to go again, takes a long time before it actually tears.
Will definitely buy again, but will be a while before I need to!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
avoid. The abrasiveness is poor for the grade and it gets clogged very quickly. I am also not sure if the grade on this paper is correct - it looks to me like something over 240. Get Axus Décor instead
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
An excellent product.
Can be used loose or on a sanding block.
Very versatile and no work shop should be without one..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Rips easily. Poorest quality. Cheap. Not worth the money - no matter how cheap it is
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Bit annoyed as the sand seems to come off the paper leaving a red residue all over the work piece. Sanded down the piece well enough but like i say there is fine red powder all over it from the paper which can get stuck in the pores of the wood. The backing is also very brittle which means the paper falls apart very quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
i bought these three rolls thinking ah just the useshall stuff well is was totally wrong this is by far the best i have ever bought and had and i have used a lot of sandpaper iam 47 years old so take it from me this is top grade stuff and for a small price to pay
so thank you ever so much for being a top seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)