Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple good chain hoist
This is a straight forward chain hoist suitable for a myriad of DIY tasks. Lifting heavy weights is done with ease, as the mechanical advantage it provides is significant.

I've used it to lift a classic motorcycle (220kg) to allow it to be stripped down for refurbishment. It also proved very useful in lifting the engine out single-handed (as it weighs 75kg)...
Published on 26 Aug. 2010 by Rock Ape

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rusty chain as received new
The unit arrived with a film of rust on the smaller operating chain. Clearly old stock which had not been stored in dry place. The red pressed steel casing was also stained with old grease which had dried and picked up some of the chain rust - though the casing was rust free. In short it needed a good clean and lubricating before use; this with a product which was bought...
Published on 9 Nov. 2012 by Derek M Allen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple good chain hoist, 26 Aug. 2010
By 
Rock Ape (St James SE, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633705 Chain Block 1 Tonne / 2.5m Lift Height (Tools & Hardware)
This is a straight forward chain hoist suitable for a myriad of DIY tasks. Lifting heavy weights is done with ease, as the mechanical advantage it provides is significant.

I've used it to lift a classic motorcycle (220kg) to allow it to be stripped down for refurbishment. It also proved very useful in lifting the engine out single-handed (as it weighs 75kg). It's best to keep the chain as clean as possible by using a bucket or similar to hold the excess chain if your lifting point is fairly low (it is in my garage). As this chain hoist is rated at 1 tonne, it is likely that your suspension point will be the weakest link - so be careful not to bring down the house/garage around your ears! Use strong rope to provide a lifting point for awkward objects (this also protects surface & paint finishes from direct metal contact with the hook).

For general lifting, this is a good piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what is says on the tin, 18 Jun. 2011
By 
Geoff - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633705 Chain Block 1 Tonne / 2.5m Lift Height (Tools & Hardware)
It claims to have a lifting height of 3m, yet the maximum distance between the hooks is only 2.77m and the maximum distance over which it can lift is only 2.46m. So how much can one trust the claim that it can lift a ton.

The chains are not plated or painted and are covered with a thin layer of grease, which can pick up dirt and grit, so you accept that, or clean the chains and they may go a little rusty.

The unit was delivered and returned twice because the cover of the hand-chain sprocket had been bent in so much it stopped the chain running properly. So it may pay to check for this before accepting delivery. When then ordered directly from Amazon the cover was still slightly bent, but not enough to be of concern.

All that aside, for what it cost this is a very usefull and effective piece of equipment for lifting and supporting heavy objects. It could cost as much just to buy the chain it uses.

The main problem is having something to hang the chain-block on that is strong enought to take the load. No longer having a convenient strong tree branch available I am having to design and construct a tripod, which is costing far more than the chain block. Three spare scafold poles might be suitable, depending on their length, if rather heavy, providing they are straight, and you have a way of joining them at the apex.

This unit has a separate hand-chain and lifting-chain, which makes it easier to use than some simpler chain-blocks, which only have a single chain.

The mechanism is very controllable, if a little notchy and slow, and occasionaly the hand-chain forms a knot and jams, but this is a minor issue.

It can work with quite a limited headroom, with a minimum distance between the hooks of 310mm. So allowing for the length of the slings, one may only need about a metre, or less, of headroom above the maximum height of the object being lifted. If the support is strong enough it should be possible to use it in a typical garage, such as for lifting out an engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rusty chain as received new, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633705 Chain Block 1 Tonne / 2.5m Lift Height (Tools & Hardware)
The unit arrived with a film of rust on the smaller operating chain. Clearly old stock which had not been stored in dry place. The red pressed steel casing was also stained with old grease which had dried and picked up some of the chain rust - though the casing was rust free. In short it needed a good clean and lubricating before use; this with a product which was bought as new. I've not had a chance to use it yet but not impressed with appearance as delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chain Block, 27 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Silverline 633705 Chain Block 1 Tonne / 2.5m Lift Height (Tools & Hardware)
This did the job OK. The lift hight is only 2.5 mtrs. I had to do the job in two lifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bit of kit!, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633705 Chain Block 1 Tonne / 2.5m Lift Height (Tools & Hardware)
Used this to move and install heavy steel beams. It achieved the job with ease and little effort. Great product for the price and thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Job Done!, 10 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633705 Chain Block 1 Tonne / 2.5m Lift Height (Tools & Hardware)
I have a modest collection of vintage amusement machines and some of these these things are rather heavy. I have a small workshop in my loft and I needed a simple low-end chain block to hoist them up there.

Trying to buy one of these in the High Street turned out to be more or less impossible and it would have cost even more to hire!

I ordered the Silverline 1 Ton Chain Block at 6pm and by 11am the following day it was being handed to me on my doorstep. That's good service by any standard.

The cute 8kg unit was soon in place and it works delightfully well.

It's rated at 1 ton which is amazing for such a small unit. Personally I think I would not be inclined to lift anything more than say, 250kg with it, however used sensibly and within its limits it is a very good machine and really excellent value for money.

My only disappointment was the chain guard was bent (probably by dropping whilst in transit). Given that it is a working tool and not an ornament I was more than happy to spend a minute or two straightening the guard and all is now very well.

Great little product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 April 2012
This review is from: Silverline 633705 Chain Block 1 Tonne / 2.5m Lift Height (Tools & Hardware)
Chain block arrived very quickly,helpful company. Strong and well made. Just what was needed for the job, lifted very heavy metal beam. Very good quality for the money, would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633705 Chain Block 1 Tonne / 2.5m Lift Height (Tools & Hardware)
Have wanted/needed a decent hoist in the garage for ages now, but have invariably found myself struggling with assorted ropes and lengths of chain...not recommended. Anyway, decided to splash out and purchase this item as it seemed a very good price, and it had some decent reviews. So, arrived promptly, and I really couldn't be more pleased. It's pretty substantial and heavy, but very easy to operate, and works a treat. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1 Ton Chain Block, 1 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Silverline 633705 Chain Block 1 Tonne / 2.5m Lift Height (Tools & Hardware)
Bought this to lift my ride on mower for cleaning, so it's not overly stretched - so far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kit Car Mate, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633705 Chain Block 1 Tonne / 2.5m Lift Height (Tools & Hardware)
I am trying to build a kit car in my shed, shifting the chassis about requires more and more strength. This gadget I found worked perfectly and a good price and delivered very quickly a nice controlled rate of lift and lower. Loads of chain on it all very greasy which has worn off on my hands and gloves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silverline 633705 Chain Block 1 Tonne / 2.5m Lift Height
£31.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews