Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the ticket
Great stuff for those slightly more intricate soldering jobs. Worked a treat and super price.
Published on 15 Sep 2010 by Nervosa007

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forget tinning your tip or shinny solders
As pointed out in the review on the larger quantity this solder is not flux cored. There is a fin coating over the solder wire that you can rub of with your fingers.

Makes tinning harder and also using it to solder. I got around it using a tub of flux.

Spend an extra £1-2 and get a flux or resin cored solder.
Published 19 months ago by Jason


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forget tinning your tip or shinny solders, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline AS16 Solder 20g (DIY & Tools)
As pointed out in the review on the larger quantity this solder is not flux cored. There is a fin coating over the solder wire that you can rub of with your fingers.

Makes tinning harder and also using it to solder. I got around it using a tub of flux.

Spend an extra £1-2 and get a flux or resin cored solder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the ticket, 15 Sep 2010
This review is from: Silverline AS16 Solder 20g (DIY & Tools)
Great stuff for those slightly more intricate soldering jobs. Worked a treat and super price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PhoneWizz, 31 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline AS16 Solder 20g (DIY & Tools)
Silverline AS16 20 Gram Solder

Top notch stuff, I'd never done any soldering before, and I was tired of taking my gadgets to my father to fix for me, and I think he was too.
So I decided to buy a soldering iron, for under a fiver from amazon, which was also great and came with solder (highly reccommended), and I started to use this particular solder to repair all my stuff.
I mainly wanted it to fix my very dodgy 5.1 PC speakers, as over time, messing with the cables by plugging them in and out over and over, stretching them toooo much, caused them to crackle and pop.
So I unscrewed them, snipped the wire, and re-soldered them using this solder and they work fine now.
It sticks together well, and they are now that strong I doubt very much that even I can make them crackle again!!
I will definitely be buying loads more of this solder immediately after this review, purely as im tight and I want to repair my gadgets rather than bin them and buy new ones, plus I've grown to enjoy soldering, which I never thought I would.
I'm now looking for things around the home just so that I can solder them!!Lol.
A long review for such a small thing I know, but I just wanted to point out...
that you can pretty much repair anything with a soldering iron and solder, this great, cheap, practical wonderstuff is well worth the money.
Buy more than 1 just incase they run out, and with free P&P, why not!
10/10. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 13 July 2011
By 
E. Forster (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline AS16 Solder 20g (DIY & Tools)
Does what it should, I use it for building soldering electrical contacts and it works well, not had any problems so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solder, 21 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. Cr Allen (Herne bay kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline AS16 Solder 20g (DIY & Tools)
What can I say?, delivered really promptly, good , would recommend and is perfect for the job it was bought for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline AS16 Solder 20g (DIY & Tools)
Tried it before and love it. Try it again soon and I will still love it. Simples as the meerkat man says
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right for my purpose, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline AS16 Solder 20g (DIY & Tools)
Every now and then I need to repair items I have.This solder is easy to handle and easy to place safely away once finished. Could not be better. Apart from somebody doing the soldering for me!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sold on solder !, 22 July 2010
By 
Paul Downes "Artisan Paul" (Stoke-on-Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline AS16 Solder 20g (DIY & Tools)
Tiny order but treated as tho' it was a huge one....great price, quality, service and delivery.....faultless !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it`s solder, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Silverline AS16 Solder 20g (DIY & Tools)
this is another item that you cant say much about if you need solder buy it simples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
D Barnes (selby,north yorks.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silverline AS16 Solder 20g (DIY & Tools)
good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silverline AS16 Solder 20g
Silverline AS16 Solder 20g by Silverline Tools
£1.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews