Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accuracy Tested Using a Torque Wrench Calibrator, Excellent Value and a Lifetime Guarantee + Adapter & Extension
I bought this item based on the excellent reviews, but wasn't expecting too much wow.

First of all it comes well packaged in a sturdy case. Included is a 1/2" to 3/8" adaptor and a 100mm 1/2"-1/2" extension. The finish of the chrome vanadium is excellent and it operates with a smooth and sturdy quality.

Despite all the good news upon inspection I...
Published 9 months ago by Devan Panchal

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silverline torque wrench
Good value for money but the price means that it is less easy to set than more expensive tools. Still it gets the job done and is only needed a few times a year
Published on 31 May 2011 by oldenuff


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accuracy Tested Using a Torque Wrench Calibrator, Excellent Value and a Lifetime Guarantee + Adapter & Extension, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633567 Torque Wrench 1/2-inch Drive 28 - 210Nm (Tools & Hardware)
I bought this item based on the excellent reviews, but wasn't expecting too much wow.

First of all it comes well packaged in a sturdy case. Included is a 1/2" to 3/8" adaptor and a 100mm 1/2"-1/2" extension. The finish of the chrome vanadium is excellent and it operates with a smooth and sturdy quality.

Despite all the good news upon inspection I still wasn't convinced, I needed objective results. Working for Delphi, a large automotive parts design/manufacturing company I popped over to one of the labs and pulled out the torque wrench calibrator, a Norbar Pro-Test Series 2 [...] costing approx £2000.

And these are the results, the first number is the indicated reading and the second number the measured value.
28 Nm - 28.8 Nm
42 Nm - 41.8 Nm
56 Nm - 57.2 Nm
70 Nm - 70.3 Nm
84 Nm - 85.1 Nm
98 Nm - 97.6 Nm
112 Nm - 114 Nm
126 Nm - 127.2 Nm
140 Nm - 142.1 Nm
154 Nm - 155.9 Nm
168 Nm - 168.3 Nm
182 Nm - 184.8 Nm
196 Nm - 196.3 Nm
210 Nm - 209.7Nm

Now I must admit, every time I tested it at a different setting the figures would vary slightly. The above values are a average of three tests at each setting.

Most torque values given in a Haynes book for have a range of plus or minus 10%. This tells you there's a safety factor designed into to most fasteners. Torque is a method of tensioning a bolt to give an axial load (basically the tension it creates to hold two or more parts together). Now there are a few variables that can affect the axial load of a screw threaded fastener for any given torque value. Namely variations in friction between the male and female thread and the underside of the bolt head and fixing face. If you're after a high level of axial load accuracy then you should be using a torque and angle method. This is where an initial torque is applied to fix the mating parts together and a rotation through a set angle of say 80 degrees gives the required axial load. This greatly reduces variations resulting from changes in the coefficient of friction between the threads, caused by lubrication or lack of and even rust. These methods are often used on an assembly line for torque critical items such as pressure diesel injection system fuel piping.

In summary the home/garage user really doesn't need to invest in overly expensive torque equipment. Assuming it lasts and continues to give relatively accurate results, this device is more than capable. It's best to store the item at the lowest torque setting as this prevents the spring from 'creeping' and stretching. DO NOT be tempted to set it more than half a turn below its minimum setting as this may just disengage it from its thread causing damage.

So an excellent purchase and if you register it at [...] using the product code 633567 (which is not obvious to find on the box) it is guaranteed forever.

Well done Silverline, you really have market/manufacture an excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent equipment!, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633567 Torque Wrench 1/2-inch Drive 28 - 210Nm (Tools & Hardware)
I ordered this item after normal working hours on Thursday the 17th of May 2012 and it arrived by courier on the morning of Monday the 21st of May 2012. The wrench was perfectly packaged and arrived undamaged and wrapped neatly and securely. Inside its handy, plastic storage box, it came complete with a 125mm 1/2" chrome vanadium extension bar and a 1/2"-3/8" converter as described on amazon.co.uk's website. Excellent service provided by amazon.co.uk. The quality of this wrench seems to be very high. It has a 1/2" drive. The chrome vanadium finish is flawless. The wrench is robustly made. The torque adjustments are made using the hand grip of the wrench, which has a locking mechanism at its base in the form of a locking nut with a 4mm hole drilled through it so that a piece of metal (I use an allen key) can be passed through it so that it can be tightened well enough to lock the torque setting in place. The torque settings are engraved on the shaft of the wrench. The settings are easily understood and adjustments can be made easily by rotating the hand grip clockwise to increase torque and anticlockwise to decrease torque. There are further finer torque increments engraved on the hand grip. How to use these increments is described in the instruction leaflet. The ratchet mechanism can be reversed. Personally, I would not use a torque wrench of any brand to undo nuts and bolts of any kind.

I have used the wrench only at one setting so far to tighten the wheel nuts of my car, and not only am I very impressed with the functioning of the device, but I am also extremely impressed with the look of it and how well it seems to have been made and put together. Although the inside mechanisms cannot be seen, the outside of the wrench looks fantastic. If it continues to work as well as it has so far and provides continued accurate functionality, and remains as good looking after being cleaned with a soft cloth and smeared with a little coating of clean oil after each use, I shall recommend this torque wrench to all would-be D.I.Y enthusiasts. The added bonus to purchasing this wrench at the very reasonable cost that it was is that it comes with a free forever guarantee, which is stated on the box. All you need to do to activate it, is go on line to Silverline Tool's website, enter some details about the purchase and part number of the wrench. You will then click on the download tab to download a PDF file to print off your lifetime guarantee. I keep the printed copy folded up inside the storage box that comes with the wrench along with the instructions... it is that simple. Brilliant, well done Silverline! So far, I am very happy with my new torque wrench.

Expert tip: Remember to store your torque wrench on or below its lowest torque setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silverline Torque wrench, 10 Nov 2010
By 
R. Farnworth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633567 Torque Wrench 1/2-inch Drive 28 - 210Nm (Tools & Hardware)
I purchased this item to use when I remove and replace my caravan wheels to make sure they are not over tightened and stay put. I was very pleased with the wrench for the price and after my neighbour checked its settings against his torque wrench that cost several hundred pounds and recently calibrated he confirmed it to be extremely accurate, enough said. Well done Silverline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silverline Torque Wrench, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633567 Torque Wrench 1/2-inch Drive 28 - 210Nm (Tools & Hardware)
I bought this wrench to check my caravan wheel stud torques.I have bought Silverline products before and they are not products for proffesional use but they are ideal in price and quality for DIY.This wrench arrived and was as expected a good DIY tool at a reasonable price,the settings/ graduations may not be ideal and foot lbs need to be converted Nm (use on line conversion site). The operation of the wrench is straight forward and positive when the correct torque is reached.
IT IS IMPORTANT AFTER USE TO UNSCREW THE TORQUE SETTING TO ZERO TO PROTECT THE SPRING AS IT MAY BE WEAKEND IF LEFT LOADED AND THIS WILL AFFECT TORQUE VALUES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Torqueing about, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Mark (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633567 Torque Wrench 1/2-inch Drive 28 - 210Nm (Tools & Hardware)
This is something of a bargain. I needed a fairly basic torque wrench to check the wheel bolts on my caravan - and this fits the bill nicely. It comes with a case and extention bar, is pretty easy to use and actually, very accurate for a 'cheap and cheerful' tool.

I looked at others in a proprietory motoring store before I bought this, and they were much more expensive. So I thought I'd take a punt on this and give it a try. Having looked at these others, I'm hard pressed to tell the difference, other than some are perhaps simpler to adjust the torque setting, but for this price, I can live with this minor niggle.

Good piece of kit, good price, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633567 Torque Wrench 1/2-inch Drive 28 - 210Nm (Tools & Hardware)
i bought this because i need something with precision when working on my motorbike. it is good quality and well worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silverline torque wrench, 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633567 Torque Wrench 1/2-inch Drive 28 - 210Nm (Tools & Hardware)
Good value for money but the price means that it is less easy to set than more expensive tools. Still it gets the job done and is only needed a few times a year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torque it up?, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633567 Torque Wrench 1/2-inch Drive 28 - 210Nm (Tools & Hardware)
Very good tool, much cheaper than others I've come across and accurate too. I calibrated it and its much better than a more exensie item I have. Nice sturdy box. All as you'd want it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good wrench but not easy to adjust, 10 Jun 2012
By 
luke997 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633567 Torque Wrench 1/2-inch Drive 28 - 210Nm (Tools & Hardware)
This is a good wrench but not easy to adjust and not sure if it's perfectly accurate.

Had eventually buy better and more expensive wrench, mostly due to the adjusting issue, but if you use it mostly with one setting, should work well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargin!, 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 633567 Torque Wrench 1/2-inch Drive 28 - 210Nm (Tools & Hardware)
Very well made - literally identical to the Clarke version! It might be worth noting that Silverline has two versions of this torque wrench - the older one (no longer sold) has the 42-120nm range, the current one has the 28-210nm range! They just haven't updated the packing information..or probably aren't aware of this! Nethertheless - it's a good wrench and an excellent bargin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silverline 633567 Torque Wrench 1/2-inch Drive 28 - 210Nm
£15.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews