Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Change, change, change...
For this review, the best way to get around this boxset is to review each serial separately:

-'The Keeper of Traken' brings the events in this 'mini saga' to a start. Even though 'Keeper is the weakest story of the three, it still has much to offer. Geoffrey Beaver's brilliant portrayal of the villain is truely spectacular. And, of course, there's also Anthony...
Published on 20 Aug 2007 by Calculus

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars
This is not the greatest Tom Baker Doctor set to own. Firstly, and the main reason is that the 3rd in this loose trilogy, stars Peter Davidson, and its pretty weak.

The two Tom Baker series are better, but not classics. Sure both have their moments. The Tardis within in a Tardis sequence in Logopolis is the best scene in the whole boxed set by some margin, but...
Published on 15 Jan 2011 by S J Buck


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars doctor doctor, 20 Jan 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - New Beginnings (The Keeper of Traken/Logopolis/Castrovalva) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
it was decided after the dalek masterplan that 12 parters were far to long to hold the viewers attention span, hence, frontier in space and planet of daleks were two six parters, and a similar idea must have been used for these stories.

Season 18 was perhaps by far the best season for having an underlying theme, culmanating in the tragic Logopolis, finally being resolved in Castrovalva.

What i liked about the season as a whole was the science based attitude of the production team, which was perhaps more to the fore than previously used.

Traken starts off i think on a slow trend, but that isn't a criticism, as the setting on such a tranquil world, would have meant a naturally slow pace. by episode four and the demise of the unfortunate Tremas, the pace had picked up tremendously.

Logopolis was underlying in a lot of things, who was that spooky white man in the near distance, what did he say to the doctor on the bridge, where was this story eventually going to lead us. Most people knew that Baker was leaving, by the climatic drop at the end was amazing, who would have though that this was the way that baker was going to bow out after 7 years.

Castrovalva, which i beleieve was not Davison's first doctor who story to be recorded was good. i loved the first episode and most of episode two. perhaps then it could have leapt to episode four, but nonetheless, a very enjoyable story, which saw the end of the master, until of course timeflight, which as i already mentioned in another reveiw, could probably have been better if it hadn't been made!!

just for the content of the stories, the box set is well worth a buy, the extra, well they just give the box set a certain 'class'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A low point in Who history, 28 Feb 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - New Beginnings (The Keeper of Traken/Logopolis/Castrovalva) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Three whole Who storylines including a regeneration for around £20? Surely that's great value? Well... let's look at the evidence...

The Keeper of Traken.

Definitely the strongest story on display here. It's one of the rare occasions where John Nathan Turner and Tom Baker seemed to be working off the same page. The story grips you from the first appearance of the Keeper himself, and has all the Who trademarks including an excellent supporting cast coupled with a good amount of mystery and intrigue. Geoffrey Beevers is fantastic as the decomposing Master, Anthony Ainley gives a strong performance as Tremas (marks off for the lack of subtlety in the anagram there Johnny Byrne and JNT), and Tom Baker is back on form. The ending sets everything up nicely for the big revelation that is to come in...

Logopolis.

Oh dear. What sort of thing is happening here? Tom Baker clearly can't wait to get these episodes over with... Logopolis is a real mess. The story doesn't flow at all, the plot is confusing and often disappears completely ie what exactly is the Master's plan and how did the Doctor actually foil it in the end? The script is poor too. Take Tegan's introduction to the TARDIS crew (of which there are way too many, but more on that later), she wanders into the hallowed machine, roams about for an episode and a bit, lands on a bizarre alien planet, but seems totally unmoved by the experience and by the end is acting like she's a seasoned time travel veteran. This is not a criticism of Janet Fielding's acting ability, she just hasn't got the material to work with. Only Anthony Ainley is on form here with his cheeky/ menacing character emerging brilliantly. The climax of the regeneration is a huge letdown, mainly because of some AWFUL special effects work that would have had the team behind the Web Planet wincing.

Castrovalva.

A new Doctor then, but a poor introduction for Peter Davison. Again like Logopolis, the fault lies with Christopher H Bidmead and JNT not the Doctor himself. For the first two episodes NOTHING HAPPENS. The only real interest lies in Davison's performance as the regenerating Doctor having flashbacks to his past incarnations - the man does do a mean Patrick Troughton. Other than that, the story really serves to illustrate what a ridiculous idea it was to have three companions, particularly when Tegan, Nyssa and Adric are frequently less interesting than the beige walls of the TARDIS. Almost makes you want to watch Space 1999 for some excitement. By the final two episodes one of those things called "a plot" has appeared, and the interest level rises slightly as it looks like we may get something of a grand finale. However, when the twist is revealed (spoiler alert! stop reading if you don't want to know the end) and the Master appears, he is reduced to no more than a pantomime villain. Again, a weak entry into the Who cannon.

The extras package on offer is a lot more interesting than some of the stories, with the documentaries highlighting the many tensions and conflicts that surrounded the relationship between Tom Baker and JNT, and admissions that having three companions was stupid. When you've finished enjoying Traken then enduring the rest, just watch Earthshock again to remind yourself that things did get better during the Davison era, and celebrate when Adric is disposed of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Sheila Ruskin, 3 Mar 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - New Beginnings (The Keeper of Traken/Logopolis/Castrovalva) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Keeper of the Traken - well worth it for one of the best TV actresses of the time - Sheila Ruskin. Quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can you find the 5.1??, 13 Feb 2007
By 
A. Holliday (Adelaide Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - New Beginnings (The Keeper of Traken/Logopolis/Castrovalva) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Just to set the scene: for those who can't (or won't) remember, back in the early 1980s Dr Who fans spent their time complaining about the flippant, satirical, well paced and witty Dr Who that the BBC was now producing (i.e. contemporary TV)in contrast to the 'drama' of the early episodes of the 1960s. Then John Nathan-Turner came along. He didn't understand drama (or satire, or humour, or SF, or possibly even television)but he thought he understood the fans. Immediately we returned to the past - three companions, lousy effects (for the 1980s), pacing a snail would envy, and, mysteriously, game show lighting! (I never understood why that happened.)JNT was apparently clueless as to the technical reasons why the early Dr Who's were structured as they were. So instead of doing the best with a low budget that was possible, as the series had been doing since 1963, it suddenly looked old, quaint, amateurish and BORING - when it was NEW! We all tried at the time to like it (after all, if it wasn't funny it must be drama, right? Right? Wrong!)and if you turn the colour off it even looks like Dr Who circa 1963. There were another 6 or 7 years of this wrong footedness before the show started to improve but by then the audience was long gone and the few viewers that were left called themselves Whovians - need I say more...

And this set is really where it all begins to go wrong, where the pattern for the future shows becomes apparent - consistently embarassing dross.

(And I haven't even mentioned Anthony Ainley, Matthew Waterhouse, or Sarah Sutton - a Gerry Anderson retiree - watch the limited movement and the head wobble!)

Having said that I still bought it!!

P.S. One of the extras is a 5.1 mix of the Peter Howell arrangement of the theme music. Except my copy only has the stereo track. Be warned.

P.P.S. The Beginnings Set has a 5.1 mix of the original theme - wouldn't that make a good addition to the 'new' series?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The past is a foreign world, 1 Feb 2007
By 
Charles "mrfreedom" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - New Beginnings (The Keeper of Traken/Logopolis/Castrovalva) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Having watched these stories again after several years I must say I was deeply disappointed with all of them. I remembered them as being great adventures full of intelligence and atmosphere. While there's some intelligence at work (too much you could say - Bidmead's background in science comes across loud and clear, but he sure ain't no script editor) the atmosphere is zilch, largely due to the profileration of studio work and awful special effects. Several times my nine-year-old shrieked, 'That looks so fake!'. Perhaps young 'uns been spoiled by the terrific new series.

The stories feature Anthony Ainley's dreadful portrayal of the Master in which he plays him as a sniggering pantomime villain, and there are no decent monsters. The Logopolians look terrible, the re-use of the same sets of the Tardis on Castrovalva is mind-numbing and I haven't even got round to the execrable Adric.

Not good. Some things are better left in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very dissappointing, 30 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. Charles J. Wincote "silverarrow" (Telford, Shrops) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - New Beginnings (The Keeper of Traken/Logopolis/Castrovalva) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I was too young to see these stories when they came out so i bought them with no real knowledge about them. And what a mistake it was.

Every story is poor, and the only good thing about them is the DVD extras. But even they don't justify the purpose of buying the DVD.

The main reason i bought this was because the Master was in it. But what a dissappointment he was. I expected a head-to-head battle with the Doctor in each story - but you barely saw the master in any story. I expected a battle of wits like we saw in the brilliant Roger Delgado stories, but it just never happened. There was nothing wrong with Anthony Ainley, but all he seemed to do was give an evil laugh and then disappear again. It's a case of Roger Delgado 1, Anthony Ainley 0.

I would not recommend buying this DVD at all. Very poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete delivery/Automated responses, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Jeremy V. Fox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - New Beginnings (The Keeper of Traken/Logopolis/Castrovalva) [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I purchased Doctor Who - New Beginnings (The Keeper of Traken/Logopolis/Castrovalva), but only one disc was delivered. I send e-mails, but keep getting automated responses. All I want is the other two discs, but the latest automated e-mail assumed that I have a damaged product rather than an incomplete one. I'd like to get a response from a human being and to receive the items for which I paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews