Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something a little bit different
I recently bought this game on the back of a few good reviews. Overall Bladestrom is an enjoyable game that is highly addictive as the time does fly by when your playing it.

In a nut shell you are a mercenary that can pick and choose which side of the battle you are on between the French and English. The game itself does take quite a while to get used to and...
Published on 12 Jan 2008 by Marcus Coates

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas but poor execution
This is one of those games that starts off really good and you can easily get into it, mainly because of the simple controls and game play that is very simple to understand and get to grips with. Also, there are a lot of customizable features for your character and you can choose what type of squad you want to take charge of. However, after not too long, the large battles...
Published on 7 Oct 2008 by A. Allcock


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something a little bit different, 12 Jan 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War (PS3) (Video Game)
I recently bought this game on the back of a few good reviews. Overall Bladestrom is an enjoyable game that is highly addictive as the time does fly by when your playing it.

In a nut shell you are a mercenary that can pick and choose which side of the battle you are on between the French and English. The game itself does take quite a while to get used to and involves using the manual along the way to figure out what you are doing. This is because you can control squads of people be it archers or swordsmen and you need to know what opposition they are good against (for example archers close up are not good against swordsmen!). During the battle you can switch squads but there are a few catches along the way as you must own "books" which allow you to take charge of that squad. You earn books during battles for killing leaders of other squads and capturing bases.

The game essentially comprises of two sections

1 The Tavern: this is where you can upgrade weapons for the squads that you can control and equip them. Also you can upgrade the attacks that squads have using skills points that you earn during the battle.

2 Battle: Now I only have an ordinary tv not HD which might explain why certain parts of this game are flawed. For example you have a map in the top corner of the screen is not very sharp and clear red=english blue=french and you are well green I think! but it is almost imposible to tell and secondly which way you should be running to battle! Often you have to come out of battle and use the main map to see where you are.

Also when you begin fighting there could be fifty people slashing and stabbing infront of you now if you can see where you are then you are doing well because it is often total carnage! attacks are launched by holding R1 thats it! If you want a special move there is square circle of triangle but once you use a special move you must replenish taking time about 10 to 20 seconds depending on your ability before you can use it again. Some of the special moves though are pretty cool. Although these are about all the negatives the game is good fun and requires a bit of thought if you run off to battle with a squad and no other supporting squads from your country then your going to end up dead pretty quick, so you must use different squads in one battle to win. This game though does offer something a bit different to whats out there and it is really good fun not 5 stars but if you have a bit of spare cash then its well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas but poor execution, 7 Oct 2008
By 
A. Allcock "Gamer" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War (PS3) (Video Game)
This is one of those games that starts off really good and you can easily get into it, mainly because of the simple controls and game play that is very simple to understand and get to grips with. Also, there are a lot of customizable features for your character and you can choose what type of squad you want to take charge of. However, after not too long, the large battles get extremely repetitive, and you find yourself repeating yourself over and over with the same troops and same tactics. The storyline is very fragmented as it takes a lot of battles to move from one part to the next and it can get very dull and you begin to lose interest. The idea for the game is very good but i think it has been poorly made compared to the standard of a lot of games out for the next gen consoles. If this had been made to a higher standard, it would be very good, but not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very addictive, 15 April 2010
By 
Mr. M. Cullen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War (PS3) (Video Game)
I got this game a while ago, and subsequently bought other games , but when I just wanted to sit down and play a game that was fun, not overtaxing and sometimes so heavily geared in your favour you simply can't lose. I have no idea the numbers of hours I played this, but in the end I sold it to stop me playing it, I know I will end up buying it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UberStorm, 10 Jan 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War (PS3) (Video Game)
I Heard alot of bad reviews for this game, yet when it came out on Demo its all i ever played just two contracts and i was hooked.
style of play is amazing, multiple weapons for one style like the sword, many types from all over the world.
The difficulty has got too be highlighted here, in many other games you choose the hardest level of playing and it isnt much of a challenge yet with the difficulty star rating is accurate.
When choosing a contract to complete you have multiple choices from hard to easy, or from good money too pocket change but every battle is a new experiance for you.
The other merc's in the game make it so more fun, i personally go out of my way too find the hardest mercs there are and too defeat them just to say HA i beat the best, and there are many types of mercs on horses on foot, the only thing i can think of which i havent come across yet is a female swordswomen ive only found female archers.
This game has too be a major acheivement for Mass Battles and Good Graphics for a unknown company(Koei).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars war .... fun!!!!! pure class!!!, 7 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. C. Reed (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War (PS3) (Video Game)
if you like total war games such as rome and medievil 2 you will love this.... its more ur the commander and you can train and change units however you like... Its very action packed and battlefield action!. Fantastic game on ps3 1 of a kind. you can create a player, and upgrade him using the money you make from doing quests for the factions, english and french. You can also buy new unit and upgrade them... there are specials that can swing the battle in ur favour such as lowing the defence of the enemy, increasing the attack of ur army and even making the enemy turn on themselfs. This game is superb... graphics are really nice aswell, controls are nice and easy and can get to grips quickly.. i rate this game highly !!! 5 stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Repetition, repetition, 14 May 2009
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War (PS3) (Video Game)
Playing the demo this looked promising. However, playing the full version is just endles more of the same. It is easy to master and provide little chalanges. In the end it was just the same over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun but can get boring, 15 Jun 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is so much fun, swords, cavellery, archers or even camels. the action is great. But the problems start when all your stats are so high you can't be killed, or if you play it continuously the game becomes repetitive. Either way it is fun and worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good idea badly delivered., 20 Jan 2008
By 
D. BELL - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War (PS3) (Video Game)
I am a big fan of Koie's games (Dynasty Warriors, Samurai Warriors, Kessen, Dynasty Tactics) and - much as I enjoy the warfare of the far east - was pleased they finally set a game in European history. I love games where you can design your own character, too, so this seemed like it was going to be great fun. Unfortunately the game is spoilt by graphics which don't appear to be an improvement on PS2 graphics - I don't know if the Xbox 360 version looks any better but this is apparently true of many PS3 games that are cross-platform - and really pathetic voice acting (which is the bane of all of Koie's games) which makes you feel like your playing medieval 'Allo, 'Allo. And where is the depth of character & event backgrounds or use of historic (or at least traditional) character armour designs as in Dynasty Warriors or Samurai Warriors? The Black Prince looks like Elric of Melnibone (only with black hair), whereas his armour is famously known! On the plus side, so far there don't seem to be the ridiculous oversized and jazzed up, spikey heavy metal album cover style weapons favoured in the other games. That said, it's a fun game with a nice developmental element and I like the fact the hero is incorporated into the unit play, unlike the other games, and the fact that your taking castles only to lose them again. But the controls are sometimes stone age, and you find yourself standing next to an opponent whilst your character doggedly attacks the air to the side of him, and the castles are very primitive; you don't lay siege to them or anything, which is a great shame. Overall it's not got the feel or look of a Next Gen game - I don't know if this is down to the porting from the Xbox or just because I don't have an HD TV. I think it's down to the cynical porting of a game which should have gone to the PS2 onto the PS3 just to beef up the unbelievably poor catalogue offered to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Go for the polearm class, it's OP!, 17 July 2014
This review is from: Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War (PS3) (Video Game)
This game, takes forever to complete, which is good if you don't get bored of it easily, which I didn't. If they included more customization choices and more available weapons and armor to use the game would be 5 stars. Nonetheless if it does not contain those qualities, it is still a good game and can rival the likes of Kenchi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A paper-thin game with no longevity, 21 Nov 2012
By 
Jonathon Smith (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War (PS3) (Video Game)
I love medieval stuff, I love Koei games and I love unit tactics, so this game should have been my ideal match. I shake my head in disappointment.

The basic gameplay premise is to lead a single unit of soldiers across a massive, sprawling battlefield to capture certain castles within a time limit. There is only one button to attack, which you generally keep held down, and each different sort of unit has a few 1-button-to-execute special attacks you can learn. However, after just a few battles you will discover the only unit worth leading is the heavy cavalry that can get you from one side of the battlefield to the other in less than half an hour and generally stomps on every other unit which gets in the way (even the pikemen, who are easy to catch off-guard). Being a true English patriot, I tried to win battles with the longbow, but this got tedious just sitting still and pressing 'shoot' every 15 seconds at an unresponsive enemy with negligible AI. There is no way to use 'real world' strategies or to combine tactics with an ally (the combat is definitely closer to Dynasty Warriors than Total War, in case you were wondering).

It is fun for an hour or two, but the battles are repetitive, objectives unvarying and storyline negligible. At least with Dynasty Warriors or Legends of Troy you were able to directly control your character's attack combos, but in Bladestorm there is no button bashing to make you feel involved. The greatest challenge is just lining your character up so his attacks actually hit home (seriously, this can be very frustrating). The other niggley thing that irritates me is that despite allegedly setting the game in the Hundred Years War, they have only made the slightest nod towards the historical period....Really Koei? Vikings and camels at Agincourt?

To sum up, play the demo on the PSN network. The full game does not have any more gameplay to offer than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War (PS3)
Bladestorm: The Hundred Years War (PS3) by Tecmo Koei (PlayStation 3)
49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews