Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one and only.
This is the penultimate Wind in the Willows animation. This and the stop-motion animation of the same name made by Cosgrove Hall are the two definitive animations for this book bar none.
I have to warn you, DO NOT BUY the recent film or the American film, they are total codswollop and a complete and utter waste of money, as they are cheap and tacky productions...
Published on 24 Sep 2005 by iridis_vi

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars memories
I found this DVD fascinating, as it took me right back to my childhood. For a couple of hours, me and the dog were cuddled up on the sofa, and lost in another world.
Published 18 months ago by georgiegirl


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one and only., 24 Sep 2005
This is the penultimate Wind in the Willows animation. This and the stop-motion animation of the same name made by Cosgrove Hall are the two definitive animations for this book bar none.
I have to warn you, DO NOT BUY the recent film or the American film, they are total codswollop and a complete and utter waste of money, as they are cheap and tacky productions.
These are the only two animations of this classic you will ever need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful dvd, 9 Aug 2009
By 
Lindsey Lawrence "Gamegirlatheart" (Neath, south wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wind In The Willows [DVD] (DVD)
I love the wind in the willows and was very happy to get this for christmas as i haven't seen this version for years. The voice acting is perfect and the story is excellent. Not only that but it includes a fab making of which looks at the animation and the people behind the voices. At the current price, it's a steal. So well done itv for a fab version- get one now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One and only, 22 Dec 2006
By 
T. Oladosu "petitfue" (LDN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To date, this is the best film version of the Wind in the Willows that I have ever seen. The animation simply brings the story to life, its so rich and subtle yet some scenes are so vivid, in particular the scenes with the river flowing.

Due to the loyalty to the book the characters are beliveable, and not one dimentional, the expresion of the figures are so subtle and realistic, I must thank the genius who put this together, they did Kenneth Grahame work some justice.

Thankfully it lacks the predictability of disney and it doesn't behave like a musical. The little tunes such as; "when the toad came home" are witty and distinct, the emotions carried in the tones of the voices are brilliantly contagious and just one of the films carries you through a spectrum of these.

This is a unique and very beautiful animation and it is the only animated movie that I sincerly hope in future I will be able to enjoy with my own children as all minds deserve to be enriched by this and admittedly I as an adult repeatedly enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wind in the Willows, 3 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wind In The Willows [DVD] (DVD)
This is fantastic!
This stays very close to the book, it's all hand drawn and it's just a lovely, beautiful story to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource!, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Wind In The Willows [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this DVD for my Year 5 children to watch as an introduction to Wind in the Willows, as it is our topic this term. The children thoroughly enjoyed the film. It was not too long and the characters were funny and engaging. Toad was hillarious, and by far their favourite character. I expect some excellent writing as a result. My own children loved it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 17 Dec 2003
By A Customer
What does one say? A wonderful version of the Kenneth Grahame novel with the unmatchable addition of Alan Bennett's voice. Makes me all warm and happy inside... A must buy for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic!!, 6 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Wind In The Willows [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant and captivating story of youth... of life, sunshine, running water, woodlands, dusty roads, winter firesides and not forgetting the four delightful characters: Toad, Mole, Ratty, and Badger.

I bought this DVD when my daughter was two and now that she is five, we still enjoy snuggling up and watching the adventures of the characters. You too will enjoy the thrill of the chase as a maniac Mr Toad escapes from the police in a stolen car. Cheer on Badger and Rat as they lead the battle to reclaim Toad hall from a band of evil weasels. The DVD is packed with comedy, fun and high drama.

If you have children, then this is a must!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lot's of fun!, 27 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wind In The Willows [DVD] (DVD)
A familiar tale endearingly told. the animation is first class and suitably old fashioned. The characters come alive with the voices of well known actors. If you are an adult and want an alibi for watching it, you can claim that the book is a satire on vanity and consumerism. If you just want to enjoy it with a pizza, that's ok too :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wind in the Willows, 19 Mar 2012
By 
Jayne L. Shirtcliffe (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wind In The Willows [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is enchanting, beautifully animated and the voice overs are excellent. Just the thing to curl up with on a cold wet afternoon. My grand kids love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned entertainment for kids, 4 Dec 2010
This DVD has been enjoyed so much by my five year old he has watched it over and over again. He seems really taken by the old fashioned style animation and not bothered that the characters dont appear to move and talk like modern cartoons. He gives it a 10/10+ rating and so do I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wind In The Willows [DVD]
The Wind In The Willows [DVD] by Rik Mayall (DVD - 2007)
3.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews