Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How wrong can you be?
I always thought that a certain Beatrix Potter was a lady who wrote some childrens stories about a hundred years ago full stop.In fact she was a very talented artist and writer whose name and works have become legendary with the passing of time.The book THE TALE OF BEATRIX POTTER by Margaret Lane covers the life and times of this quite amazing lady in a very...
Published on 18 April 2008 by Anthony B. Whittle

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
This book was categorised as in Used - Very good condition, however the pages are very yellowed with age. It's a 1986 edition with a different cover to the one advertised.
Published 5 months ago by bignellie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How wrong can you be?, 18 April 2008
By 
I always thought that a certain Beatrix Potter was a lady who wrote some childrens stories about a hundred years ago full stop.In fact she was a very talented artist and writer whose name and works have become legendary with the passing of time.The book THE TALE OF BEATRIX POTTER by Margaret Lane covers the life and times of this quite amazing lady in a very factual,precise and interesting way.Adequate photographs and some early sketches add to the feel of that golden age and oh yes ,it is beautifully written, a real little gem of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiration, 10 Sep 2008
By 
Caroline Lennox "booksmakemehappy" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a wonderful unfolding of a creative, intelligent woman with an attention to the most special quality Beatrix possessed...the ability to see beauty in simplicity. I loved this read and its sensitivity; a must if you loved the recent film but are eager to know more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatrix Potter, 16 Nov 2010
This book is definitely the best Beatrix Potter biography I've read. Full of personal detail, it contains material that was accessible to Lane exclusively. The book fills in the gaps, revealing the secret life of a woman, whom everyone feels they already know intimately. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 11 Sep 2010
Really well written, felt her pain and happiness all the way through the book. A must read for Beatrix Potter fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating insight, 9 Feb 2012
By 
libby_black (derbyshire, united kingdom) - See all my reviews
i loved this book, i knew nothing whatsoever about her before reading this. what an eyeopener indeed. she really was a pioneer in many ways. i found parts of the book very sad, but i guess growing up in a different era left her with a lot of challenges in life. what a remarkable woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatrix Potter, 15 Feb 2011
By 
J. Staniford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is very moving. It portrays her life and how hard it was for her. A must have for all her fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting to Know Her!, 23 Feb 2011
By 
Rachel OK (Hampshire, Eng) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a fan of the Miss Potter film, I was interested to see how much was truth or fiction. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Not a long read but still well written and kept my interest throughout. A good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a Beatrix Potter fan since childhood and my curiosity was piqued again on a recent holiday to the the Lake District and I discovered this book....it's a must read for any fans out there! A very talented, resourceful lady who has left an ever lasting mark on the beautiful North Country. So glad I read it as the film is not a true reflection and this gives you a more factual insight to her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was categorised as in Used - Very good condition, however the pages are very yellowed with age. It's a 1986 edition with a different cover to the one advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Tale of Beatrix Potter: A Biography, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful story of Beatrix Potter from her childhood to her death, with lots in between. Extremely well written and drwas you in to the life she had to endure as a child and as mature women. It gives a descriptive account of her maturer years as a farmer and wife. I loved it and didn't want it to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THE TALE OF BEATRIX POTTER: A BIOGRAPHY.
THE TALE OF BEATRIX POTTER: A BIOGRAPHY. by Margaret Lane (Hardcover - 1946)
Used & New from: 4.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews