Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars20
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2001
This dvd shows alot of the essence of skateboarding. The acting, although slightly dodgy in places is done very well for a group of teenage skateboarders and the storyline is well plotted. If you are interested in the history of skateboarding or are and old school skater from way-back-when, you'll love this Film. Contents from some amazing skaters, and Christian Slater's part is amazing. On top of the skating the acting of berreavement by Slater is truly outstanding. He plays a Rebellious Teenager trying to come to terms with the loss of his brother whilst at the same time trying to prove his brother's death was not suicide or an accident, that it was, in fact, murder...
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2009
I purchased this film as a piece of nostalgia really, as I remember watching this film when I was 14 or 15 with a schoolfriend. We were both skateboarding fans and this film embodies everything that skateboarding is about hence the title Gleaming The Cube. Those of you who know skateboarding will know what gleaming the cube means for those of you that don't it means being the best that you can be in skateboarding terms.

Essentially the film follows disillusioned young skateboarder Bryan played by Christian Slater. Bryan lives with his family and adopted vietnamese brother, Bryans brother stumbles on something illegal and is murdered because of this, then we follow Bryan on his quest to find the killers wih help from his skateboarding friends. Lots of great skateboarding stunts abound and the action is fairly good, there is also an appearance by a young Tony Hawk which adds some prestige to the film.

This is a fantastic film made in the 80's which you can clearly see, which makes it look quite dated sometimes. This film will appeal to skateboarding fans but will appeal to fans of the 80's and fans of good thrillers as well.

All in all a fantastically entertaining film that should appeal to most people.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2000
Back in a time before mega stardom, Christian Slater made Gleaming the Cube. In main stream terms it was an underground hit, but within the Skateboarding community it was a Box Office Smash. Everybody who has ever stood on a piece of wood with wheels knows about this movie. As well as the real actors it also features the Godfathers of skating Tony Hawk and Rodney Mullen. Slaters portrial of a skater is convincing and with Steven Bauer as the cop you love too hate, they make a great team. Along with a cracking storyline and some amazing skating, you get to see why Slater is the man he is today.....
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
Watched this on the box at ripe old age of about 10yrs and from opening scenes of the boys gate crashing an empty swimming pool I was hooked. Fell in love with C Slater and spent the last 16 years searching for the film to re-watch.

Excited to find it on Amazon clicked complete order without a second thought. Have since realised that Christian's skating was probably all done by Hawks (*nice surprise seeing him, and that all the skating was directed by Stacy Peralta) and that there wasn't quite enough of it featured in the film. Other acting a little hammy and plot / script not as gripping as I remembered (but thats probably age perception talking).
However, if like me you are all up for the 80's revival with a little boarding sprinkled in: give it a whirl.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2006
Get your Converse Chuck Taylors on and wipe the dust off your skateboard because after you've watched Christian Slater in action all you'll want to do is find an empty swimming pool and grind your board. Brian Kelly (Slater) sets out to find the killer of his adopted brother after uncovering some sinister goings-on at the factory owned by the father of his late brothers' girlfriend. Eager to uncover the truth, there are no lengths he won't go to seek justice. A great story with some amazing skateboarding, look out for the legendary Tony Hawks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
Very enjoyable if you grew up skateboarding in the 80s, if only for the skating, but some of the acting is pretty ropey and the plot's equally dodgy. Interesting to see Slater before he did Heathers, Pump up the Volume etc.

Note that this Carlton release is dubbed for swearing, as though it's a version shown on ITV in the 90s, simply transferred to DVD - annoying!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2001
If you like skating and a little action here and there then this is the movies for you. Slater portrays a young skateboarder who lost his adopted brother to a murder. The skating aspect takes you back to the "old school" days where boards only had one tail and all skaters will know what i mean by this. This movie showed THE creators of almost every modern day trick known to the new generation. Rodney Mullen plays the actual skater for Slater alot of the time and he gives the really meaning to "gleaming the cube". Rodney Mullen is known for most of his freestyle skating in the 80's and for those of you who have seen "Thrasher"(another skating movie for Mullen) know what i mean when i say this is the best skating that can be found. So, looking for some awesome skating and some good action then check this out!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2007
This film is a classic, Tony Hawk does stunts, Christine Slater is still cute and all in all a brilliant film for kids of the 80's like me!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2004
Christian Slater looks the part in this film that tried to cash in on the very last years of hardcore skate culture (before the crash in '90). Not as good as Thrashin', but still a must-have movie if only to see Tony Hawk act (oddly enough, he plays a skater in this film). Watch as Rodney Mullen struts his stuff as Slater's stunt double. The movie is actually a lot of fun with a group of people who remember that time and THOSE clothes. Watching this made me miss long bangs and fat decks. For the price, it cannot be beat!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
I had this on vhs as was really pleased that i found it on dvd as it is a little known film but has a great story, plenty of action and for those that enjoy skateboarding, some neat tricks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.